We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Here is a load of fun and interest”
Review of Seven Olives Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lalibela
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seven Olives Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Lalibela
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Here is a load of fun and interest”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This is an oldish building and it is on the edge of the village but near to things of interest. It is a different standard to modern European hotels but is exciting and African. I loved it and in the evenings there was tribal dancing laid on outside. The rooms are secure and each with its own attached shower room. The plumbing and wiring are a bit dip-dap and my loo didn't flush as there were components missing but I got by with a bucket of water for flushing and my shower ran nice and hot. The owner when I was there was a wonderful flamboyant character called Messfin but he may have gone to a new venture in the mountains. The food and service were exemplary and the double bed comfy. Lovely wild life. I got my shoes cleaned at the gates sitting on a chair as one used to do at Waterloo station - don't miss this.

Room Tip: All rooms are fairly similar on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Worriedteenager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    36
    29
    10
    14
See reviews for
9
31
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

The standout feature of the Seven Olives is the food! While it wasn't the only place I found without hot water during my visit to Ethiopia, bathing here was particularly difficult... Lalilbela gets cold at night!
The bed is comfortable and the staff are pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmack_8819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenton, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

This is a lovely, quiet oasis with jacaranda and other trees hosting a delightful variety of bird species. If you enjoy nature, this is a wonderful place to eat. The food was mixed; my son had the toughest chicken ever, but the setting was marvelous and a restful place to rest and watch the bird life. We ate here but did not sleep here.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank NellieN57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Watch out for the ammount of food you order, the hotel restaurant serves the biggest portions I've seen in Ethiopia (eg: Tte fasting food set is good for 3 people!). Everything was delicious, it was worth the 40 minute walk from the place we were staying :)

Room Tip: I was only at the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MariaCNeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Szczecin, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We didn't stay overnight at this hotel, but visited one evening to have a traditional Ethiopian coffee on the tarrace and watch the sunset... This was the best coffee I have drunk and the view was astonishing. No we regret spending so little time there. Service and landscapes seen from this hotel was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barry_O999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I just got back from my second trip to Ethiopia and I wish to God I'd read the reviews on here before i returned to the Seven Olives, which is now an utter mess -- last year, however, it was terrific. The new management are total thugs -- all of the sweet charms and the people I met there last year (which is why I went back in the first place) is gone. When I got back my friend sent me a list from an article on Glittersnipe that mentioned where the old manager is working and though I couldn't have afforded his new place I so wish I knew where he was -- his name was Mesflin (or something similar) -- just to say hi -- the new people pretended like they'd never heard of them - and Daniel who organized my trips last year wasn't there either. To be honest, the water was no better than it was last year but it's their nasty response to my querries about when the hot water would come back only told me that I'll certainly never be back. Oh, and the touts are crawling all over the place and when I complained at the front desk one of them showed up -- and pulled up a chair -- behind the desk! They're all in cohoots now. If you have the money go read that article about Lalibela on Glittersnipe and stay at Mesfin's place -- there's a newer and cooler tej bet that's not mentioned in the article but I can't remember the -- just ask your hotel about the one that's not Torpedo (even though that place is fine)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lalibela hotels

Addis Ababa
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

The Seven Olives is at the top of the hill on the main road in Lalibela. It is surrounded by established trees and there is plenty of bird life to enjoy. Hot water works intermittently at best. The food is nothing special and the drinks were expensive from memory, compared with everywhere else in Lalibela. The waiter was friendly enough but not exactly attentive.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aababa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lalibela hotels
0.6 mi away
Panoramic View Hotel
Panoramic View Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lalibela
269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tukul Village
Tukul Village
#2 of 9 in Lalibela
411 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lal Hotel Lalibela
Lal Hotel Lalibela
#5 of 9 in Lalibela
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sora Lodge Lalibela
Sora Lodge Lalibela
#1 of 11 in Lalibela
172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Top Twelve Hotel - Lalibela
0.6 mi away
Lalibela Hotel
Lalibela Hotel
#5 of 11 in Lalibela
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Olives Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Olives Hotel

Property: Seven Olives Hotel
Address: City Center | P.O.Box 37, Lalibela, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Lalibela
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Lalibela
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Seven Olives Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Also Known As:
7 Olives Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing