We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The restaurant and location are great, the rooms ... not so much”
Review of Seven Olives Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lalibela
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seven Olives Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Lalibela
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The restaurant and location are great, the rooms ... not so much”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We spent one night at Seven Olives in a whirlwind trip. The location is terrific as it is a short walking distance to the churches. The outdoor terrace is wonderful and the restaurant is great. That said, the room could use some improvement. The room was uncomfortable and was fairly neglected and there was no hot water. It had been highly recommended by friends who noted that it had declined significantly since the last time they were there. A good place to have lunch but if there's a better place to sleep I would opt for it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    36
    29
    10
    14
See reviews for
9
31
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed in Lalibela for three days and enjoyed the Seven Olives with its garden and its great view over mountains and village, the nice and clean rooms, the good restaurant and the superfriendly staff. It is a place which is quiet but still lively with the village center as nearby as possible.
If you want the perfect guide ask for Mesfin Sebsibe at the reception! There are bad reports about another guide called Mesfin - it´s not him. Just trust Mesfin Sebsibe :).

Room Tip: Make sure, that you get one of the rooms with a view over garden and mountains - the other ones may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanilla_Cinnamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This is an oldish building and it is on the edge of the village but near to things of interest. It is a different standard to modern European hotels but is exciting and African. I loved it and in the evenings there was tribal dancing laid on outside. The rooms are secure and each with its own attached shower room. The plumbing and wiring are a bit dip-dap and my loo didn't flush as there were components missing but I got by with a bucket of water for flushing and my shower ran nice and hot. The owner when I was there was a wonderful flamboyant character called Messfin but he may have gone to a new venture in the mountains. The food and service were exemplary and the double bed comfy. Lovely wild life. I got my shoes cleaned at the gates sitting on a chair as one used to do at Waterloo station - don't miss this.

Room Tip: All rooms are fairly similar on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Worriedteenager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

The standout feature of the Seven Olives is the food! While it wasn't the only place I found without hot water during my visit to Ethiopia, bathing here was particularly difficult... Lalilbela gets cold at night!
The bed is comfortable and the staff are pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmack_8819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

This is a lovely, quiet oasis with jacaranda and other trees hosting a delightful variety of bird species. If you enjoy nature, this is a wonderful place to eat. The food was mixed; my son had the toughest chicken ever, but the setting was marvelous and a restful place to rest and watch the bird life. We ate here but did not sleep here.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank NellieN57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Watch out for the ammount of food you order, the hotel restaurant serves the biggest portions I've seen in Ethiopia (eg: Tte fasting food set is good for 3 people!). Everything was delicious, it was worth the 40 minute walk from the place we were staying :)

Room Tip: I was only at the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MariaCNeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Szczecin, Poland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We didn't stay overnight at this hotel, but visited one evening to have a traditional Ethiopian coffee on the tarrace and watch the sunset... This was the best coffee I have drunk and the view was astonishing. No we regret spending so little time there. Service and landscapes seen from this hotel was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barry_O999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lalibela hotels
0.6 mi away
Panoramic View Hotel
Panoramic View Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lalibela
266 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lal Hotel Lalibela
Lal Hotel Lalibela
#5 of 9 in Lalibela
170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mountain View Hotel
Mountain View Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lalibela
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Roha Hotel
Roha Hotel
#6 of 9 in Lalibela
96 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sora Lodge Lalibela
Sora Lodge Lalibela
#1 of 10 in Lalibela
169 reviews
0.7 mi away
Red Rock Lalibela Hotel
Red Rock Lalibela Hotel
#5 of 18 in Lalibela
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Olives Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Olives Hotel

Property: Seven Olives Hotel
Address: City Center | P.O.Box 37, Lalibela, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Lalibela
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Lalibela
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Seven Olives Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Also Known As:
7 Olives Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing