We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Seven Olives Hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Lalibela
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Aman Hotel(Lalibela)
View Hotel
Maribella Hotel(Lalibela)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tukul Village(Lalibela)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Maribela Hotel(Lalibela)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roha Hotel(Lalibela)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
18
38
30
11
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
38
30
11
16
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2009

We came to this once proud hotel, the oldest in Lalibela. The setting is undeniably beautiful and a haven for many Ethiopian birds. But there the pleasure stopped. The first room we were given has a broken tap and a bucket under the sink. The next we were shown had mould on the walls. The final one we settled on had rubbish all over the bathroom floor. We were handed loo paper and soap as we went in - like prisoners. The rooms were grubby and uncomfortable. All this was for 30 US dollars per night. My partner and I have roughed it before and at $5 a night you would see the funny side but not at this price. Staff on the gormless side of amicable. No on sight manager - it is remotely managed from Addis. All in all it felt rudderless, uncared for and in terminal decline.

I slept in my jeans and moved out after 1 night.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMISHMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2009

My young son and I stayed here for three nights. Our room was very comfortable, with one large double bed and one twin. The bathroom was a decent sized, if a bit rough (the water never fully drained from the floor). The garden and terrace area are fantastic, with lots of flowers, birds, and views. We ate at the restaurant frequently, and enjoyed it. This was a great place for us, especially for the price.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2008

more than you would expect to get in a village, great garden (need it to avoid heat), cool restaurant, clean room, hot water all the way, no bugs, money exchange and all in all helpful staff. a short climb to the hill behind the hotel for sunsets is a bonus. for $25 a night it's a fair deal.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kalmyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2008

A safe comfortable budget option in Lalibela. The tour groups usually stay at the much more expensive Roha Ghion Hotel but this has more character and is just fine for 1/3 the cost. The upsides? Very nice restaurant to eat breakfast, lunch, or dinner at, and a great patio outside to watch the sunset. Always felt safe. Walking distance to the churches. I was in Room 16, nice view across the mountains. Because it is cheaper, the guides are also a little cheaper than can be had from the expensive hotels, and you really don't want to do Lalibela without a guide. Friendly staff. Downsides? Toilets/Bathrooms were fairly grubby but no more grubby than I saw the toilet at the Ghion restaurant was. If I went back, I'd stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ipaytostay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2008

Perched on a hill overlooking beautiful trees, Seven Olives is a very friendly place in Lalibela. Guests should not expect something called luxury: Front desk almost inexistent, Spartan rooms with an equipment limited to beds (clean enough to sleep in) and an poor lamp, archaic bathrooms with regular water cuts. Seven Olives remains an excellent option for the moment being as the garden with a view offer one of the best places to be in Ethiopia. Many travelers lodging elsewhere come here to chill, have a drink or a meal. By the night, the fire gives even more magic. Meals can be taken there or in the neighboring hall. Omelettes, Garlic Pasta and rice with vegetables are recommended, meat is to be avoided. Reservations should be made and reconfirmed in peak times as the place is very popular. Beware of the telephone, very highly fared.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaronBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews