We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with character--perfect for what Lalibela is about”
Review of Seven Olives Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lalibela
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seven Olives Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Lalibela
toronto
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A hotel with character--perfect for what Lalibela is about”
Reviewed 21 November 2009

I run bike tours to Lalibela and have used 7 Olives the last 4 years for me and my clients as although old, this means it also has character and also the best patio of all the hotels. Rooms are fine for what you need as Lalibela is not about 5 star hotels. The rooms and beds are fine and staff very nice and one of best retaurants in the village.
It is the most accesible location of all hotels to the vilage and churches and has old tree growth and lots of birds that the others do not have.
Many of the other hotels like Juresalem are in the village where goats and roosters etc will wake you up early. Seven Olives does not have this issue. Peaceful.
scotty/off beat roads

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank offbeatroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    36
    29
    10
    14
See reviews for
9
31
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2009

I stayed in Lailbela for a little over two weeks because of the
stunning scenery, access to quality day hikes, and, of course, to make
repeated visits to the stone churches. The Seven Olives Hotel served
me well, and I stayed there throughout my visit. The rooms were a tad
small, but were clean and comfortable, with reliable water and hot
showers (except for during several power outages.) What made the
hotel work for me was the balance of creature comforts and security
(good food, both Ethiopian and "western" dishes, overly accomadading
staff, daily room cleanings) and a rather seamless conection to the
town (located in the middle of local businesses and residences,
dinning patio overlooking the town, access to several short or long
hikes into the countryside.) The hotel compound is secure, but without
the sense of being cloistered. It was fairly easy to begin feeling,
after a few days, as if I was actually a part of the town, not just an
incidental visitor. Additionally, the local guides we hired through
the hotel's front desk were top quality and well worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zytherzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

Very very aged and it was no fun to use the molded shower. We checked the other rooms, which possibly were not as molded as ours, but had other shortcomings. Some rooms had armchairs, some had a lamp near the bed, others didn't. The LP recommended rooms 10-16, but only odd numbers have a "view". Actually it's just that the door is located on the side where the view is (behind trees). The best asset of these rooms is that they have new wall paint and new bed covers, but the bathrooms were the worst we had on the trip. No water one evening. For 26$ too expensive.
Anyway: staff is very friendly at reception and especially at the restaurant. Food is very good. I guess the recommended dining al fresco is not a good idea, as it gets quite cold in the evening and the terrace is not illuminated.
The view from the terrace is ok, but there are quite a few trees between the terrace and the view. You cannot see the churches from the terrace.
I wouldn't recommend the "receptionist" Mesfin Ali. He might pick you up at the airport and wants you to book him as a guide for far too much. He also tried to get an extra 100birr for photo permissions in the churches (you need permission only for video cameras!). He was the worst guide we had. Lazy, sleepy, not interested, not enthusiastic at all, shortened the visits....

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JinxiBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lalibela hotels

LONDON
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2009

We came to this once proud hotel, the oldest in Lalibela. The setting is undeniably beautiful and a haven for many Ethiopian birds. But there the pleasure stopped. The first room we were given has a broken tap and a bucket under the sink. The next we were shown had mould on the walls. The final one we settled on had rubbish all over the bathroom floor. We were handed loo paper and soap as we went in - like prisoners. The rooms were grubby and uncomfortable. All this was for 30 US dollars per night. My partner and I have roughed it before and at $5 a night you would see the funny side but not at this price. Staff on the gormless side of amicable. No on sight manager - it is remotely managed from Addis. All in all it felt rudderless, uncared for and in terminal decline.

I slept in my jeans and moved out after 1 night.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMISHMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2009

My young son and I stayed here for three nights. Our room was very comfortable, with one large double bed and one twin. The bathroom was a decent sized, if a bit rough (the water never fully drained from the floor). The garden and terrace area are fantastic, with lots of flowers, birds, and views. We ate at the restaurant frequently, and enjoyed it. This was a great place for us, especially for the price.

  • Liked — lovely terrace, good value
  • Disliked — water on the bathroom floor
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inner
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2008

more than you would expect to get in a village, great garden (need it to avoid heat), cool restaurant, clean room, hot water all the way, no bugs, money exchange and all in all helpful staff. a short climb to the hill behind the hotel for sunsets is a bonus. for $25 a night it's a fair deal.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kalmyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2008

A safe comfortable budget option in Lalibela. The tour groups usually stay at the much more expensive Roha Ghion Hotel but this has more character and is just fine for 1/3 the cost. The upsides? Very nice restaurant to eat breakfast, lunch, or dinner at, and a great patio outside to watch the sunset. Always felt safe. Walking distance to the churches. I was in Room 16, nice view across the mountains. Because it is cheaper, the guides are also a little cheaper than can be had from the expensive hotels, and you really don't want to do Lalibela without a guide. Friendly staff. Downsides? Toilets/Bathrooms were fairly grubby but no more grubby than I saw the toilet at the Ghion restaurant was. If I went back, I'd stay here.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ipaytostay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lalibela hotels
0.6 mi away
Tukul Village
Tukul Village
#2 of 9 in Lalibela
412 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lal Hotel & Spa Lalibela
0.6 mi away
Panoramic View Hotel
Panoramic View Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lalibela
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sora Lodge Lalibela
Sora Lodge Lalibela
#1 of 11 in Lalibela
172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Top Twelve Hotel - Lalibela
0.5 mi away
Cliff Edge Hotel - Lalibela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Olives Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Olives Hotel

Property: Seven Olives Hotel
Address: City Center | P.O.Box 37, Lalibela, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Lalibela
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Lalibela
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Seven Olives Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Also Known As:
7 Olives Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing