We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kairaba Beach Hotel,PMB 390, Serekunda, Gambia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Serekunda
CHENNAI
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Kairaba Beach Hotel,PMB 390, Serekunda, Gambia”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

" A" class beach resort hotel fully loaded with best services, silver sand beach, very good dining, nice ambience, a clean swimming pool, green walk ways..........staying here is a plesant experience wether solo or twin or as a group..............

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KRK64IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    346
    81
    30
    14
See reviews for
93
496
29
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

am just ending 4 weeks at kairaba beach. it was quite pleasant even in low season. was warned off another hotel in central banjul and although it was 800 dalasis each day to travel to and from work it was money well spent as went to the other hotel in banjul itself and it looked a dump.

hotel is ok - probably good western 3* but definitely the price you pay in the west although here in low season so wonder how much it goes up by in high season.

staff are very laid back - everything is island time although gambia is not an island. breakfast is ok but don't believe they open at 7. 7 is when the staff start putting things out and rarely is it ever fully ready before 7.30

dinner options are good outside the hotel at good prices.

not many bumsters to worry about and they were easily fobbed off. one tip on the beach - walk in the water - they will keep their distance

pool area and gardens very well kept

long beach for walking - very high tide but you can always get through - beach is very wide

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GregMcT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend last year. We booked it from a deal we saw on travelzoo. It was really cheap for the week. £450 each for bed and breakfast plus flights and suitcases. The hotel is really clean and the staff are really friendly. The breakfast was yummy. You got free wifi at the main house (not in your room or round the pool). The gym and spa are a bit poor but we didn't mind.

The pool are is really clean and you get towels to use round the pool. The bar food is reasonably priced. We ate in the main resturant on the first night. My boyfriend was ill the next day but I was fine so I don't think it was the food. We got a bit lazy and had room service two nights. It was ok but I feel I have missed out as there was a few restutants just outside the hotel with we're brill. There is a peanut curry called Domoda a Gambian speciality and it is beautiful. We had it at a little resturant round the corner from the hotel called Darbos. Darbo is a brilliant cook.
We did not book an excursion through The Gambia Experiance. We got a taxi with a guy called Peace Maker and Fams they took us all round Gambia and to his home where we met his family and ate with them. It was fantastic to see the real Africa. He was such a nice guy and completely looked after us. We went with another couple just to be safe. What I like about going with taxi drivers is that all the money goes straight to them and their families. Do not be put off by warnings about it being dangerous it's a lie. I live to tell the tale! These people are really nice and are very poor so give your money to The Gambian people not the big wigs or the Chinese etc.

All in all we had a fab holiday it was a great Experiance and I would recommend this hotel to my family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Humber-Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

In The Gambia for work, our days were a sensory overload - from the pulsating Gambian music, to the endless supply of amazing smells, noise, and visual feasts, coming back to the Kairaba each evening was soul-giving. The peacefulness and abundance of amenities was the perfect antidote to our hectic but wonderful days. The room was always very clean, supplies were replenished and we had more than we needed. The breakfast was fabulous and the food at the hotel was excellent. I will give a shout out to the tomato basil soup with garlic cheese croutons! The pool area was beautiful and the staff and service exceeded our expectations. The water pressure was awesome, which was great after being in the incredible heat all day. I would recommend this hotel without a doubt!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, England
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This is the second time we have stayed in this hotel. It is in a great loction with plenty of places to eat on the "Strip" which is only down the road. The choice at braekfast was excellent. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The gardens and swimming pool area are outstandingly beautiful with lots of interseting wildlife. The rooms were excellent and cleaned every day.
It is easy to change money at reception or you can get a slighty better rate if you are prepared to hassle on the "Strip". There is also an "ATM" down the road.
Outside the hotel there are lots of "Bumsters" who will hassle you. Just walk quickly and say no thank-you. Don't be fooled when they say "I'm Lamin from the Hotel", "I need money for drugs for my child in hospital", "I need rice or milk powder to feed my extended family" etc.
We prefer going to The Gambia in the summer when it is not very busy. It only rain a few times usually at night. We visited Cape Verde before christmas which was alot more expensive and had fewer restaurants. We feel that The Gabia is alot better value for money with far more things to do.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank garryblower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

Rooms I stayed in was the delux range very very nice think they could update their tv for a flat but hey will it ruin your stay ....... no ..... balcony tv bar which I used to store my lotions staff fantastic breakfast very nice and fresh pool area very convenient gardens beautiful only down part was the beach which is high up and u have to OMB down a ladder great location right on the Senegambian strip but at the far end were its quieter so u don't hear the hustle and bustle of Gambian life

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lashmeperfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We have returned to this resort - the first time ever. Both the staff and the location make this a hotel to feel happy to return to. Just a few steps out of the hotel and you find yourself in a busy local resort. A wealth of restaurants to choose from.
Would return anytime we needed guaranteed sunshine and smiling faces!

Room Tip: Pay the extra and stay in the grounds. The rooms near the reception can be noisy and have very littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sallylonglegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serekunda
0.1 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
1,221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kololi Beach Club
Kololi Beach Club
#2 of 9 in Kololi
152 reviews
4.1 mi away
Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort
1.8 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
2.0 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kairaba Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kairaba Beach Hotel

Property: Kairaba Beach Hotel
Address: 390 PMB, Serekunda, Gambia
Phone Number:
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Serekunda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Serekunda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kairaba Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This premier 5-star hotel in The Gambia is not one to sit on its laurels but has continued to build on its reputation over the years. Located on the idyllic, sprawling golden sandy coastline of the magnificent Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kairaba Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kairaba Beach
Kairaba Beach Serekunda
Kairaba Beach Hotel Gambia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing