We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Serekunda
Colne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 1 week and loved it, in the heart of the strip where it all happens and its very quiet at night apart from the economy rooms that faces a lively bar so upgrade to standard or luxury or wear ear plugs as you will not sleep.

A brief - friendly staff, clean, gorgeous setting, relaxing, cheap, great weather, BUT - everybody expects tips...!!!
The old poor tale of how poor they are, last thing I want to hear.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CapoeiraKing111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    346
    81
    30
    14
See reviews for
93
496
29
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Our usual place was booked up so we choose the kairaba nice choice .ate out every night the Glastonbury had a great choice on the menu very friendly staff recommend you try this place
The beach is being eroded because the president is selling the sand to whoever will pay for it such sadness

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Beautiful place, beautiful people. Had a first floor de luxe room and couldn't fault it. Bath & shower cubicle, balcony on two sides with table & chairs and two steamer chairs. Advised hotel it was my husband's 60th birthday and we arrived to find a cake, basket of fruit and a bottle of wine. Another cake arrived on his actual birthday and the resteaurant staff all came out to sing to him. Not a lot to do in resort, but plenty of bars and resteaurants. Went with Thomas Cook and agree that planes are two small for a 6 hour flight (and I'm only 5'3'). Also their trips are extremely expensive (£40-£60pp) Locals give better value for money and extremely safe

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrmrsmoyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

We weren't sure what to expect from The Gambia but were pleasantly surprised. The hotel was very nice, the grounds lovely with monkeys and 60 different species of birds over our one week holiday. We had upgraded before we arrived to a Garden Suite which I am glad we did because the standard or economy rooms are in the car park and close to the nightlife. Our room was okay, not brilliant, a little tired, in need of refurbishing but it was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The man who cleaned our room did a really good job every day and came in the morning and then again with clean towels in the evening. We even forgot to lock our safe one day, stupidly, and security came and found us by the pool to tell us. All the staff at the hotel were fantastic, very very friendly. Every single member of staff greeted you, even the gardeners asking if you had had a nice day which was lovely. Breakfast was really good, so much choice that even the fussiest eater would find something to eat. Lots of restaurants in The Strip to try. We didn't have a bad meal. Food and drinks are cheaper outside the hotel. Unfortunately I did get 'Banjul belly' for a day but that was my fault because I ate ice cream in the hotel when you read everywhere not to eat that or ice in drinks. If by any chance you do suffer drink the Boaboa juice in breakfast it works a treat. We did two excursions and used Bushwacker Tours for both. They are located on The Strip, on the left hand side walking from the hotel. Zak who booked our trips was very informative, JJ took us on the river cruise in the mangroves. It was a spot of fishing and bird watching but not enough to do for a whole day in our opinion, I was getting a little bored with all the fishing, but all the tour operators do this same trip from Denton Bridge. JJ was very knowledgable regarding the birds and fish that were caught and really took care of us the whole day. The fish we caught were cooked for us by the ladies and lunch was fantastic. The second trip was with Solomon, again a great guide. This was a trip to crocodile pool, visit to a school where the children sing for you (you will be expected to make a donation), visit to a very large and extremely busy locals market which was very enjoyable, Paradise Beach for a few hours (nicer than the beach at the hotel) through villages to allotments where the ladies tending their gardens did a dance for us, then to the fish market to see the boats unloading and fish being preserved or smoked. It was a full day but we did feel on this trip we really got to see the real Gambia. Please use Bushwacker Tours, the boys are great, genuinely friendly and helpful and it is owned by a Gambian so even better reason to support them. Prices are very much the same as other tour operators. In our opinion the Gambian people are some of the nicest, friendliest and most genuine people we have ever met. They will thank you for thanking them, just you wait and see. Enjoy your holiday.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Gambia is very nice it takes time to get used to the locals
Hotel is clean we had a great welcome pack as on anniversary flowers wine and fruit and petals on the bed etc
Thomas Cook - we won't go with them again as the plaines boing 757 are not fit for a 6 hour flight I'm 5-10 and my knees were against the seat in front for 6 hour flight but as they are the only ones flying there unless they upgrade there fleet I would recommend not going it's not worth the agony

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank godrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

1st time in Gambia and what a surprise as wasn't sure about going there. we booked a standard room and upgraded when we arrived and got ground floor room on south side which cost £300.00 for our 3 week stay. The hotel is faultless breakfast superb from porridge to smoked salmon nothing you couldn't have and spotlessly clean. Tea and coffee served to you in pots by excellent waiters always ready to help. Our room was large with 2 double beds put together and table chairs and sofa which I think could be used as bed and bathroom with bath and shower. Our patio had table and comfortable chairs and if you ask pool boys they will bring sunbeds to your room for sunbathing in garden. The gardens are immaculate and beautiful with peacocks and some of the most stunning birds we have ever seen a twitchers paradise.The monkeys are great fun to watch but look after your bags as they will take what ever they find.Do not visit the monkey park total waste of time and money you see much more going on in hotel.We did not eat in any of the hotel restaurants as there so many outside on the strip and in our opinion "Scala" is the best by far but you have to book other good restaurants are "Love 2" The "Mamba" the "lebonese" does best pizzas. "Jewel of India" to name but a few. We had a fabulous time and thanks to all the wonderful staff at Kairaba hotel. Thankyou for a great holiday we will return. Please tip if you can. This is a true and honest report of this Hotel.
Geraldine Cheesman.

Room Tip: Ground floor room southside
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kentginny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanchardstown, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed on B&B basis in one of the standard rooms (not the economy room). Requested 1st floor for better views which was accommodated. Nicely kept and secure grounds. The beach area at the hotel is a work in progress due to erosion, but a short walk either direction brings you to nice beaches. Breakfast was a standard buffet with everything you would expect in a 4*+ hotel. Each day FREE afternoon tea and cakes were served at the terrace. Very colonial indeed! Can not comment on the restaurants as we did not eat there but they looked nice (bit expensive). Took a 2 day tour to Janjanjgbureh with Arch Tours who were excellent (please read our review here on Tripadvisor).

Room Tip: 1st floor for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serekunda
0.1 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
1,223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kololi Beach Club
Kololi Beach Club
#2 of 9 in Kololi
153 reviews
4.1 mi away
Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort
2.0 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
1.8 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kairaba Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kairaba Beach Hotel

Property: Kairaba Beach Hotel
Address: 390 PMB, Serekunda, Gambia
Phone Number:
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Serekunda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Serekunda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kairaba Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This premier 5-star hotel in The Gambia is not one to sit on its laurels but has continued to build on its reputation over the years. Located on the idyllic, sprawling golden sandy coastline of the magnificent Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kairaba Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kairaba Beach
Kairaba Beach Serekunda
Kairaba Beach Hotel Gambia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing