We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderfull”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Serekunda
Reviewed 15 March 2010

just returned from a brill chill out holiday in the kairaba hotel it was wonderfull cannot find anything negitive about the place,all the staff were great,could not do enough for us,we stayed in a superior deluxe room with sea view it was great wakeing up to the sound of the see,last year the red flag was up all the time the yellow and sometimes white flag was up so we went in the sea,the pool was loverly,ate there at lunch time and the food was great,there are also some loverly places to eat on the strip,a new one opened when we were there called love2 really nice food,jo jo and scalas as good as ever,we went on a trip with a taxi driver he gave us a brill day out right out in the art of the gambia,were we went to a fantastic beach,we seen the true gambia magic,cannot wait to book for next year,we would not stay anywere else the kairaba is just the best for a chill out holiday and for some winter sun.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (881)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

633 - 639 of 881 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2010

We have just returned from our first visit to The Gambia and must say that it was one of the best holidays we have ever had. The hotel was fantastic, the rooms very spacious and clean, and the staff couldn't do enough for you. The drinks in the hotel were expensive, but outside the hotel were very cheap. We also had a fridge in our room and we bought the drinks outside the hotel. The hotel is in a fantastic position, right on the beach, and just outside the hotel there are at least 30 different places to eat, we tried about 10 of them and all were really good. The weather was hot, but on the beach there was always a lovely breeze. The sea was too rough most days to swim in, but the hotel had a lovely pool.You do get a lot of hassle outside the hotel, but the people are very friendly and good natured and we had a good laugh with them, they ended up calling us Mr & Mrs 'maybe tomorrow'. I would recommend the Kiaraba Hotel to anyone, so much so that we will be returning next February for another two weeks in the sun.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Can't believe the last reviewer stayed at the same hotel! The staff were fantastic - nothing was too much trouble. The food was good (we ate in the hotel each night and not on the strip). Shikra restaurant is superb. The grounds were beautiful, the rooms were clean and comfortable, the weather was perfect and we had the best chill-out week ever. Yes - for some reason there seemed to be a mentality of reserving beds by pool or on beach but the staff would always find you one and put it wherever you wanted it.

We found the airport to be totally chaotic and we did get a bit fed up with the bumsters. However, if you are happy just to chill there is really no need to venture too far.

I cannot recommend the Kairaba highly enough.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank readingwillers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2010

We stayed at The Kairaba for a week in February. When we got there even though we booked a deluxe room we were put in a standard room - it was awful and we refused to sleep there, it was dark and dingy and small. We were eventually transferred to a deluxe room which was slightly better but still not to our standards, this took over an hour and after a 5 1/2 hour flight this is the last thing you need, apparently there were government officials staying at thr hotel therefore all the good rooms were booked. I asked the manager to give us a free evening dinner as a gesture of goodwill due to the inconvenience caused and he was having none of it!! The next day we enquired about any availability and we paid extra to be upgraded to a suite, this was much better and alot more comfortable. Bathroom was a bit dated and not that great.
Grounds are lovely, pool was nice and clean although we had to get up pretty early to reserve a decent sunbed.
Food is excellent at the hotel, we ate at Shikra and Casa Fernando at least 3 times each and the buffet once - I wouldn't really recommend it though. Would highly recommend Shikra. We went to the strip once and we got hassled alot by the "bumsters", even though we trying saying no many times they wouldn't leave us alone, maybe because we're Indian we really found that we got hassled alot. That really put us off and we didn't go back there, the food prices are pretty much the same as the hotel.
Personally we wouldn't go back but we met people at the hotel who'd been back 15 times!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Like so many other reviewers here, I was really impressed by Kairaba. On a previous visit (October 2009) I stayed in a suite and then a superior room, but this time only a standard was available. No problem: it still combined comfort with elegance, including a view of the garden and a sense of rural tranquility. The only problem was that my booking was made late, and so the room was only available for one night. After that I had to move to the Senegambia next door, which is far less satisfactory. But that is not the fault of this hotel, and so will be a separate review.

One surprise: there is no wi-fi internet. The computers in the business centre are fine, but cost a lot more than the nearby cyber-cafes.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David_R_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

My wife and I have just returned from the Kairaba Beach Hotel. What a good choice we made in picking this hotel. Everybody from management to the chamber boys and girls were all so friendly and genuinely welcomed us to their country, this may or may not be due to fact that The Gambia depends on tourism, but we felt it to be genuine The food in the Shikra Restaurant was really good and not tooexpensive. Admittedly it was more expensive than outside of the hotel but the 'extras' made up for this. The food in the hotel in general was very good and the hotel groungs and gardens were really well kept and clean,as were all the hotel buildings, the security was low key. We were amazed by the number of return guests all of whom were welcomed by the staff as friends having visited so many times which speaks for itself. We upgraded our room to a Superior Deluxe and we both felt it was worth the upgrade giving us more light and room. I would definitely recommend the hotel to more mature holidaymaker and couples it not really being a 'young persons' hotel. The atmosphere was very laid back and quiet and on the whole very enjoyable and relaxed . The hotel has its own private beach and security make sure guests are not pestered by bumsters and beach sellers. I soon realised that to be assured of a sunbed in a particular position money does have to change hands, but then again what the heck it's mutually beneficial I think The Gambia is a hidden gem and long may it remain so.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keaeverton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

just returned back from the kairaba hotel, will be going back next year,the hotel was lovely ,and the staff very polite and helpful, we stayed b/b plenty of choice to eat at breakfast,and the food at the hotel was nice,we mainly ate at the havana restaurant within the hotel. we also ate out on the strip we had a meal at ali babas, but would not reccomend it , husband was poorly after we ate there, there is plenty of restarants to pick from.there is also lots of wildife within the hotel,monkeys monitor lizards and an array of birdlife the only thing which was annoying was that people would put towels on the sun beds to reserve them,you have to get up very early to get one. we booked a half day trip with the tour guides outside the hotel, we really enjoyed it .we went to the croc pool/gambian school/village/market. ...

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catDerbyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serekunda
0.1 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#2 of 17 in Serekunda
1,319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kololi Beach Resort
Kololi Beach Resort
#2 of 10 in Kololi
165 reviews
2 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa
4.9 mi away
Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort
3.9 mi away
Hibiscus House
Hibiscus House
#2 of 4 in Brufut
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kairaba Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kairaba Beach Hotel

Address: 390 PMB, Serekunda, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Serekunda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Serekunda
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Serekunda
Price Range: £111 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kairaba Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This premier 5-star hotel in The Gambia is not one to sit on its laurels but has continued to build on its reputation over the years. Located on the idyllic, sprawling golden sandy coastline of the magnificent Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kairaba Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kairaba Beach
Kairaba Beach Serekunda
Kairaba Beach Hotel Gambia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing