We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb grounds, friendly staff, lovely locals was worth every penny!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Serekunda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Went with my boyfriend in Jan to avoid the winter blues, we both had a lovely time lazying about in the sun. Going on sight seeing, and the usual hols stuff. Plenty of fresh sea food, pizza and we had the most amazing full english breakfast in Flame Grill!! The grounds in senegambia are immaculate, lost of birds for cheeky monkeys around. I wouldn't advise you have a meal at the hotel as it quite pricey come out and there's loads of local restaurants for the same quality food but for less. Loads of sport bars/pool tables, live bands, and HOT sun!! Overall we had an amazing experience and will happily go back there. Ensure you have a massage, not pricey @ all, I WILL ADVISE YOU SECURE A PLACE @ THE POOL FIRST THING IN THE MORNING AS THE GERMANS TEND TO GRAB THE BEST SPOTS AND love sun bathing with their bikini tops off eeeewwww!! The apartments are great, and the AC works efficiently, FUN EXPERIENCE WELL WORTH IT

Room Tip: Get chatty with the locals, they more than happy to show you around as long as you willing to chater...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,227)
There are newer reviews for Senegambia Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

602 - 608 of 1,227 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2012

Stayed here in March 12. for one week Probably the best hotel in the strip. Hotel grounds well maintained and beautiful birds and the monkeys wandering around was a high-light.
The rooms are in need of decorating and generally in need of updating but were satisfactory and the bed was so comfy and the air con is welcomed. For how long you stay in the room it was adequate ! The breakfasts were delicious everything you could possibly need.
We ate out in the the evenings lovely restaurants and so cheap.
Do get out on a trip and book with Arch Tours the were superb and our guides were fabulous what an experience we will never forget Such wonderful lovely people The gambians are a delight and so friendly . Also vulture feeding spectacle within the hotel grounds was very good.
You will not be disappointed with this wonderful hotel in a friendly country.

Room Tip: Our room was near the pool and beach which was perfect and quite peaceful.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BEACH.G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Stayed at the Senegambia for two week in April. The hotel is basic but very clean, The ground were supurb and very tidy credit to the staff. Down by the beach bar nice food staff again very helpfull, Dont get put of by the local bumpster they are not that bad just a firm NO THANKS and they will not bother you. Do try the local bars etc they are great. Eating out on the strip is less than half the price of the hotel. The only thing that spoilt our holiday was the bucket plane Thoms Cook used why do they use a short haul aircraft on a long haul holiday?. Come on Thomas Cook get it right and this will become a very good value for money destination. We enjoyed the hotel so much we have rebooked again for next year. Sorry to say but with Thomas Cook again. Mike from Aberdare Wales.

Room Tip: Take sterling you will get a much better rate.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Stayed here 2 weeks for work and was placed in a room in the main building. Live bands every night made it impossible to sleep properly. When I asked to be moved to a quieter spot so I could get some rest before a days work, management showed no understanding even if there were tons of available rooms. Clearly trying to save costs during the low season. They had 2 huge concerts at the premisses hosting 4000 guests or something. No notification at the time of booking, just a slip of paper under the door a few days prior. The noise was unbearable and it lasted until 0500 - no compensation or apologies from the hotel. Breakfast was very basic with no variation - again saving costs during low season. My roof leaked several places, cracks on the walls letting mosquitoes in, shower broke down as well as the air conditioner. On the positive side: great location, beautiful premises and gardens. Very friendly staff and excellent house keeping. If you can get a room in the garden area, away from the lobby and main building - this would probably lead to a completely different experience than the one I had. Shame on the management for so very obviously cutting down on costs on the expense of the guests. The other hotels in the area were not.

Room Tip: Get away from the main building.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Pete_Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I have been to The Gambia 7 times and The Senegambia Beach hotel is one of the best i have stayed in...more of a 4* than a 3* in my opinion!
The high light of my holiday was the monkeys around the hotel grounds..they even came and sat on our balcony for a photo shoot for a bag of nuts..:o)
Kololi is a great resort that has everything with in easy walking distance of The Senegambia..nice restaurants..especially the Chinese "Jade" food is gorgeous..we ate there twice during our week stay..the hotel has its own sandy beach and the beds/shades are free..the man in charge of the beds is very friendly and helpful..it was unusualy windy for the time of year so the sea was abit chilly and we needed a fleece on at night but the sun was still hot in the day time!
Make sure you treat yourself to a foot/head massage with the ladies on the beach..about £4 for a half hour massage..we had alot of laughs as well as lovely massages!
Not too much hastle this time..just say you'v been a few times and the bumsters tend to leave you alone knowing that you have heard it all before..just be polite but firm and keep walking!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank snugz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

my husband and I have just returned from a 2 week holiday at the Senagambia, Prior to the stay I emailed to request a room with a good patio as we enjoy relaxing and having a drink in the late afternoon and this request was met. The room had a nice big patio area and we could watch the monkeys and vultures in the late afternoon. The room was clean and spacious and the bathroom was very clean. We thought the beds were comfy and very big, the towels and sheets were changed every 3 days and when we asked for additional pillows this was no trouble. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed B&B and the breakfast was plentyful and there was a good choice. we took our own kettle which was a good idea and with a small fridge in the room we were able to store milk and drinks. there are 2 pools we preferred the quiet one near to reception and had regular visits from monkeys so dont leave anything hanging around. we ate a few lunches these were adequate and cheap, but we ate out every night, SCARLAS was our favorite we both recommend the chateau briane it was one of the best we had ever eaten. We will be returning and have recommended the hotel to friends. Some residents had trouble with hot water but the hotel soon remeded this. I can honestly say in my opinion this is a good Gambian hotel and the grounds were lovely, so go you will not be disapointed.

Room Tip: best blocks and rooms were I, J and K.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 504202Sunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Gambia is a great short break holiday destination with a perfect sunny climate and a relaxing atmosphere just six hours away from the UK. My wife and I have stayed at The Senegambia Beach Hotel three times now and I first reviewed it in March 2010. At the time I made comments about the lack of hot water in some rooms and that is still the case as on all three occasions we have changed rooms for this reason. This is not an uncommon story. The rooms are in blocks of 16 and are a bit basic. The blocks where we had trouble were I, J & K.

However, this hotel is in a great location and has large well-kept grounds. Things are changing and a lot of building work is going on in the area but not near enough to the hotel to be a problem. If you get a room with hot water or you can put up with having to hassle of arguing to change rooms, as we have done, then the good aspects outweigh the bad.

Breakfasts and lunch time snacks by the pool are really good. We have never eaten an evening meal at the hotel because there are so many restaurants outside on “the strip”.

Avoid eating at the Voodoo bar on the beach by the entrance to the monkey park. I thought the fish I had for lunch on our last day was a bit “off” but I still eat it, a silly thing to do. I paid the price and was ill for 7 days.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serekunda
0.1 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in Serekunda
842 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kololi Beach Club
Kololi Beach Club
#2 of 9 in Kololi
155 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
4.2 mi away
Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa
4.8 mi away
Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senegambia Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senegambia Beach Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 2373, Serekunda, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Serekunda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Serekunda
Price Range: £44 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Senegambia Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Jovago.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Senegambia Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Senegambia Beach
Senegambia Beach Kololi
Senegambia Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel Gambia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing