We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure you get a newer room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Serekunda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel in 2 different rooms at the beginning and end of a tour around Gambia. I have rated this on the second room which was newer and far superior to the first room. The second room had hot water which was plentiful and the air con worked really well. At the beginning of ouir stay the first room had a poor air con, dodgy locking door, and a cold shower. The hotel is in blocks and these are lettered. The newer rooms are further from the reception and main restaurant and are worth having. The problem is if a room has a problem getting it sorted out is difficult. The rooms were clean and perfectly adequate. The food was good and varied. The staff were generally helpful and chatty except for the reception staff who were pretty unhelpful! Make sure you sign for all your drinks at the time of having them. We ended up paying for drinks that we didn't have but as it's quite cheap it's not that much of an issue. The grounds are well kept and the staff looking after them very friendly. This hotel is well situated for bars, restaurants and shops nearby.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in a newer block and go for an upstairs room. There are only two levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birdman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 1,231 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

This was our first trip to The Gambia and after reading some of the reviews here I went with an open mind. Wow, was I surprised. Such a lovely country with even better people. Everyone, and I mean everyone has a happy face on them despite the fact this is one of the poorest countries in the world.
The Senegambia Beach Hotel is set in 20 acres of lovely gardens and with a quiet pool at the top and another beach pool. The latter has a very nice cafe/restaurant attached and you can walk straight on to your own private beach. The beach with the sunbeds is lovely as it is set back from the main beach and there are ample sun loungers. Okay everyone goes down early to put towels down. I spoke to one of the attendants and he said this is the norm. There is no hassle with this whatsoever and if you don't want to sit on the beach there are plenty of sun loungers around the pools. Okay so the beach was hit by a bad storm about 6 years ago but there are a few steps only down to the main beach which again is lovely. We went jogging along this in the morning and met many fellow runners. The sea was very warm for swimming and many holidaymakers walked the beach every day.
The hotel rooms are pretty basic (this is Africa, so don't expect marble staircases and room service) but they have a bathroom, shower, twin beds and a balcony and they are cleaned daily with fresh linen and towels supplied. The aircon and ceiling fans provide ample relief if the weather is too hot. We had an upstairs room in the gardens and it was lovely and quiet except from the welcome interruptions from the noisy birds and monkeys!
The restaurant for breakfast had a wide range of food and drink to set you up for the day and as we are both vegetarians we found there was enough choice. As we were booked on bed and breakfast we ate some nights in the hotel and ventured up the "strip" on others. There is also a pizza restaurant beside the main one which was lush.
The general ambience of the hotel from the lobby, to the Safari bar, the seating areas and the lovely shops and art gallery upstairs surprised me. This is a lovely hotel with wonderful staff and the animation team do a great job with activities like aqua aerobics, football on the beach, tennis and volleyball. Also there is a different act every night performing in the outdoor area and these are mainly local acts specialising in cultural dancing and singing.
We went on two trips with local guides to the monkey forest and the Masakutu cultural forest which were superb.
All in all I would say this was one of the best holiday experiences I've been on and I definitely will return to the Senegambia Beach Hotel. However I don't think I'll quite break the record of the couple we met on the first day who were returning for the 27th year in a row! What a better testimonial for a lovely hotel and staff.

Room Tip: It's a matter of personal choice but the upstairs rooms in the grounds are more private and quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank irishbluebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Plus - great location. Literally yards away from the Senegambia Strip, reputedly the liveliest restaurant/bar scene in West Africa. Our first time in gambia and the food was surprisingly good. The local dishes are a bit limited but the fresh fish (we had butterfish, barracuda and ladyfish) was excellent. The hotel resort is quite large, in fact the reception was closer to the bars/restaurants than we were to reception. Although I'm not even close to being described as a birdwatcher it was great spotting the huge variety they have that we don't normally see in the UK. If we actually get them at all, as I wouldn't know. I did recognise the storks that frequented the beach bar and breakfast area . They were smaller than I expected - not big enough to carry a baby at all . The vultures, on the other hand were a lot bigger than I thought. Negative- the beach is basically buggered . the erosion is a serious problem for them.it varies from 2-4 sunbeds wide. Half of it only gets the sun in the afternoon due to the tall trees. This means you have to engage in handtohand fighting with the Germans to get your towels on your sunbed. The beachbar is very good with local dancers on Sundays . The evening entertainment isn't bad but we never saw that much . The large patio doors on every room are a pain . The cashfree system at the bars is a great idea . all in all a good stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RedMacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

we have been to this hotel twice but was very disappointed this year,as we had no hot water every day we went to reception to complain,but nothing they done did us any good we still had no hot water.apart from that the rooms definatly need to be upgraded as they are in poor state.the staff and the grounds are absolutely perfect,the staff except for the receptionists, cant do enough for you,they all have a very friendly approach and cant do enough for you.we always leave our clothes behind for them as they don't have much and appreciate everything,we will be going back again just hope there will be some improvements made

Room Tip: all the rooms are very much the same ,the double beds are like queen size beds and very comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clifford d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The Senegambia has a faded seventies charm and is beginning to wear in a few places, but nonetheless it is very comfortable and pleasant. The staff are extremely helpful and the facilities are good. Free wi-fi in the beach bar and at reception is well used by a lot of people and the bars and restaurants are pretty good. The Senegambia is also a useful introduction to the Gambian wildlife with two species of monkeys, monitor lizards and lots of exotic birds, all easy to see on the site. Just outside the hotel you can engage bird guides - I used one, Ebrima Sidibeh who was excellent and I went on three trips with him, seeing difficult bird species which he worked hard to help me see - I cannot recommend him highly enough.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam-Dare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

we had a great time. The plus points of this hotel are; great location (next to beach & strip), great pool bar (swim up bar and beach bar), great food (breakfast & lunch), good entertainment (pool games and local bands in the evening), great people (we made some really good friends with guests and staff), nice grounds (plenty of wildlife), clean rooms. Down side; rooms quite small and a bit dark and dingy as the trees and foliage block the light, which also attracts bugs but you can get rid of these easily with a spray of bop (bug spray) once a day. I felt a bit unwell on my return (cold and chest infection), which could be down to overusing the air con or picked up from the local kids we visited. Anyway, all in all a great place with plenty of nice restaurants in the area and nice people. You have to go to experience it!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank mikeyg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Another fantastic stay at this fantastic place its a wonder they don't get fed up of us ,but no new friends and old greet you with the warmest of hello. the beach has a bit of erosion but still plenty of room, they are building a couple of new blocks therefore adding a few more rooms.breakfasts still as good with a few new items ie fruit smoothies and pancakes more often.water in rooms was always hot as in some previous stays it could be a bit hit and miss could be because of the new solar panels that they have had fitted . all in all fantastic holiday cant wait to return

Room Tip: for solitary peace and no pedestrian traffic top floor in d block or e block
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stevieLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serekunda
0.1 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in Serekunda
843 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kololi Beach Club
Kololi Beach Club
#2 of 9 in Kololi
155 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
4.2 mi away
Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa
4.8 mi away
Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senegambia Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senegambia Beach Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 2373, Serekunda, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Serekunda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Serekunda
Price Range: £45 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Senegambia Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Senegambia Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Senegambia Beach
Senegambia Beach Kololi
Senegambia Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel Gambia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing