We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Africa beach hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Serekunda
Certificate of Excellence
Heemstede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Africa beach hotel”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

First visit to Gambia and we were pleasantly surprised. This is Africa so don't expect these 4 stars mean the same luxury as in other more developed parts of the world. The good; The hotel is simple, but has a nice feel to it, rooms are spacious, with AC, breakfast buffet was a treat, staff is friendly. The bad; The beach is small and often all beds are 'taken' early in the morning with towels from senior residents...The ugly; couldn't connect to 3G and that WIFI connection is extremely slow, but then again there is WIFI and it's free. Tip; walk outside and arrange your own green taxi with a driver who can take you around all day for a fair price and it skips about four or five of those middle men.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new building when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarkdeH19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    594
    172
    53
    20
See reviews for
212
610
80
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Visited The Gambia in July 2013. Spacious room, clean sheets, warm welcome, beautiful gardens- great level of hospitality. Breakfast buffet was sumptuous and always looked forward to. Folklore singing at nights made for interesting viewership.
WIFI connection was superb.
The only shortcoming was lack of variety of TV channels to view. I guess the idea was to get guests to go out to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donny I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This was my second visit to banjul July 2013 this time with cousin and mum. Very lovely hotel, good value, very nice staff, nice beach side and pool. Good variety and delicoius buffet breakfast. Will definitely visit again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nkechii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Myself and my partner went to the Senegambia between the 21st-27th April, flying into Banjul.

Firstly - ensure you take your own bags to the coach! The bumsters will try to do it for you and then expect payment to walk 100 yards!

First impressions of the hotel are very impressive, very clean and cool in the foyer / lobby and a quick check in. We had a room in 'O' block on the first floor, probably (for us) the best of both worlds. It was equidistant from the beach/pool and the reception and no persons were walking past our room at all. The rooms are basic but very clean and tidy. shower is great and the air-con is fierce!

The pool area is superb however be warned! The edges of the pool are tiled and sharp. Both of us suffered with little cuts on our fingertips and toes - nothing more serious than papercuts but annoying nonetheless. Food at the beach bar is good and the banana smoothie is fantastic!

You can allow everything to be charged to the room and then clear your balance at reception every so often. This does work, but you can suddenly owe quite a bit. However if you pay cash at the bar, don't expect the full change... the staff will take a portion of your change as their tip - it only works out to 20-30pence but naughty!

The food at breakfast is pretty ok although for tea and coffee the milk is provided hot!

Don't bother eating at the hotel for the evening meal, go out onto the strip. It will be cheaper and much nicer! Best restaurants we found were the African Queen and the one next to it on the right. Oasis was also very nice! The one to avoid however is the Lebanese restaurant which is opposite the hotel restaurant. The food was just not good and everything came with chips.......
Definitely try the local dishes; domuda and benchin. Both are gorgeous!

We did do a couple of trips and they were well worth doing. The 'lazy day' on the boat on the Gambian river was fantastic and the off-roading was good fun - be warned again however that the staff will want tipping and will try to overcharge you drinks etc to get your money. Just ensure you know what you have spent in order to keep your pennies with you!

The staff at the hotel were absolutely superb and could not do enough to help, the gardens at the hotel are amazing and the wildlife incredible. You must see the vulture feeding - it is nuts to see 40+ vultures vying for scraps of chicken.

The only thing that is poor is Senegambia's own beach. It has suffered with severe erosion and as a result is just plain ugly. Walk 20 minutes left from Senegambia's beach however and the beach is fantastic, open, empty and easy to go for a lovely swim in a very warm North Atlantic!

All in all a wonderful hotel and we would recommend it to anyone want to go for a memorable holiday! Just avoid the bumsters (they are all friendly just a little annoying)

Would we go again? Yes.

Room Tip: 'O' block was good and first floor was superb! no traffic and an equal distant between the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lister9995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

This was my first visit to The Gambia and really had no idea what to expect. Have backpacked in Kenya & Tanzania & assumed this would've been a typical package holiday resort! Was pleasantly surprised.
To start with the hotel was amazing value for money. Clean, large room with everything you could need~not luxurious but perfect for what we needed. Fantastic grounds, 2 excellent pools, nice bars and a great breakfast choice. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Situation of hotel was perfect, walking distance from all bars and a vast array of restaurants. Def try Scala for Sunday buffet, Green Mamba and Lebanese by the hotel.
It's definitely worth getting out & about but I'd advise you use a local driver, we used David just at the car park across the strip. It's much cheaper you are bound to have more of an adventure! We did James Island, a school, orphanage, Serekunda Market, local village and monkey park by the hotel. All were worth doing.
This was my first visit to The Gambia but I won't hesitate to return and will definitely stay at Senegambia again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HDS78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The Senegambia Beach Hotel has become our second hom whilst here in The Gambia. As we live in a rural community we sometimes need a bit of "western" style life to keep us sane. This wouldn't be to everyone's taste but we need it every now and again. The hotel is set at the end of the Senegambia strip, which is like "strips" anywhere, full of bars, restaurants, and exchange offices. That said, the Gambian version is only a few hundred meters long and not half as rowdy as most "strips" in Europe. Again this is not for everyone but take it with a pinch of salt and you can enjoy the Senegambia Beach Hotel.
The hotel is set in extensive grounds that are alive with fascinating wildlife, especially a wide variety of birds, including vultures, and a small troop of monkeys. Despite being on the strip, the hotel is quiet and peaceful, all the partying takes place well away from the hotel. Rooms are clean and functional with AC. Pay a little more and you can get one of the new rooms which are more comfortable and better furnished. We like the fact that there are two large pools some distance from each other, one by the beach for those wanting a lively time, and a much quieter one closer to reception for those after some peace - this is the one we like.
Staff are friendly and responsive to the needs of their guests. The only downside, and hence the 4 rather than 5 stars, is because it is such a large hotel, organisation can be somewhat erratic. We have found on several occasions that we have been allocated the wrong room, or a room that was not yet ready for us. To be fair staff have usually been quick to sort these problems out. The other minor downside is the breakfast, which is buffet style with plenty of choice, but the quality reflects the nature of mass catering. Adequate but nothing special.
The Senegambia Beach Hotel is a good option for a holiday base as it has good quality facilities and is reasonably priced. However, I would recommend combining a stay here with somewhere else in a more rural setting. Simply staying "on strip" will not give you a true flavour of this wonderful country.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_MYork_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
153 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

First time in The Ganbia I went to this hotel, together with my wife, I must say, they really do their utmost to make your vacation memorable.
We stayed at the hotel with only bed & breakfast which was more than OK.
It's rooms are stretched out in the big green garden devided over several building blocks.
Whe where all the way at the top of the hill, near the main building/enterance of the hotel.
For lunch, you have snacks etc in the hotel and some venues around the hotel.
For dinner I can recommend African Queen on the Senegambia road not to far from the hotel.(walking distance)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_Hadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serekunda
0.1 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in Serekunda
839 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kololi Beach Club
Kololi Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Kololi
151 reviews
4.2 mi away
Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
1.7 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
4.8 mi away
Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senegambia Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senegambia Beach Hotel

Property: Senegambia Beach Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 2373, Serekunda, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Serekunda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Serekunda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Senegambia Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Senegambia Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Senegambia Beach
Senegambia Beach Kololi
Senegambia Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel Gambia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing