We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but safe and clean.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sarges Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sarges Hotel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Serekunda
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Basic but safe and clean.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

I have to say that this is basic accomodation and the food is not for me, but it is clean and safe and Terry the manager is extremely helpful and trust worthy.
The beach is just a few metres away and the local restaurants are less then 5 minutes away.
It was a cheap and diffrent holiday, i enjoyed it but we will probably not return.
There are some issues with exploitation of the locals by Western tourist but me and and my partner were not aproached or solicited in any way and we saw no signs of it in the premises.
When you go out side to the bars or restaurants you see old women and their toy boys or fat old men with pretty young local girls and it is sad to see.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haitchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    42
    45
    20
    24
See reviews for
17
46
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lostwithiel, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

friendly staff. ideal location. Ive stayed at sarges twice and would stay again happily. The rooms in A block where I stayed were c lean and quiet and quite cool. Despite it being 37 degrees I didnt need air-con.
Bar staff are fun and friendly and security front and back are trained and diligent. ive read some bad revues of Sarges but on the 2 times Ive been (over a month in total) Ive had no problems and have enjoyed it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riz27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

I stayed here a couple of times over the years, but most recently in November 2012. The area is really lively and interesting, so the peaceful tranquillity of this lovely little hotel is an absolute find.

Most of the guests that I spoke to were returning customers, which I always find reassuring. The place has apparently been under new management in the past few months. I don't really remember what it was like the first time I stayed, but its very clean and the staff were excellent.

It's recently been added to the Thomas cook brochure, so hopefully that won't mean the prices start going up.

It's a five minute walk to the beach, 2 minutes to a Monkey park - the monkey's come in the hotel from time to time, which is quite amusing.

Seriously thinking about going back for a week before the season is over!

Room Tip: I couldn't run to one of the up market rooms, but I took a look inside one. If I wasn't on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal-Globe-com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

The hotel was clean but is a knocking shop full of old men & young prostitutes - a steady stream of them. One group of men even brought their 14 year old son along for the action! There were a few females too with their local 'boyfirends' but generally it was old men with young prostutes, procured for approximately £1. A lovely place to sit & relax - not.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Serekunda hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

This was my second visit to this Hotel and I still stand by my original 2012 review. This Hotel is ideally situated being close to the “strip” and a quick exit out the back gate neatly takes through either the Kairaba or Senegambia Hotels to the beach.

Sarges has a basic problem with hot water because it uses electric boilers to heat the water and relies on some member of staff to “flick” the switches and this does not always happen but as it says on the card in your room “if you have no hot water then please ring reception” So please don’t “ moan” to other tourists that you don’t have hot water……….just ask and eventually your problem will be sorted out, yes it may take time as this is Africa but the staff do go out of their way to oblige all requests.

On the subject of staff I find Sarges to one of the most friendly hotels I have stayed in with the staff being warm and friendly and honest which for me makes my holiday just that little bit more personal.

What’s new for 2013? Well the breakfast certainly has been upgraded and more of an experience with scrambled eggs,beans,small sausages along with toast,cheese,ham and orange juice and the usual tea and coffee so trust me you will survive :-)

WiFi has been added but is “flaky” to say the least. To be fair all the places I tried had the same problem and it is down to the Internet provider, even the Senegambia proved to be the most unreliable. A tip for all you people with “smart phones” who must check out their gold prices/stock and shares/Facebook /Twitter or just simple emals the then the Kairaba reception area proved rock solid on all occasions I tried it.

The swimming pool has also had a makeover for this year and it is kept spotlessly clean by the staff who pool clean every morning to a high standard. To compare Sarges pool I suggest you look at the Kairaba hotel pool which as last year still has a 6 inch wide film of scum around its edges.

I stayed in E Block and had good quality of sleep and the room was kept clean to a good standard and whilst being close to reception no noise was heard from the “Strip” albeit I was on the ground floor so I am unable to say what it might be like one or two floors up?

To sum up. Sarges is a very good 2 star African hotel with a warm and friendly atmosphere in a location that is suitable for people with walking difficulties who wish to be near to everything. Will I go back? Yes in a flash :-) From the owner down to the most junior of staff you get that family feeling. They really do care about you holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Katzzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

a good base in centre of kololi room cleaned to a good standard every day ,plenty of hot water all staff helpful and pleasant a good value hotel.i used a local taxi driver named prince charles he is polite reliable his fares are cheap anything you need he will organise for you ask for charles at the taxis opposite ali baba tell him alan sent you ive known him for 7 years never had any problems or complaints .a tip for any first time travellers dont tell anyone you havent been before the bumsters will try to con you working locals earn about £1 aday so a 10dalasi tip is ok a good tip 25dalasi <50 pence> hope you find this helpful

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sandysid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whittlesey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

Just got back from another trip and I ve stopped at Sarges 5 times now, it is getting better with time. The rooms- I was in B block have had the boilers taken out and new showers with hidden pipework so it is better and seems to be more likely to be hot when you need it, the breakfast is also better but it is all still Africa and "entry level" , the rooms are cleaned daily,towels and linen every 2-3 days and it is a cheap and cheerful place with friendly staff,good security and a great location.
It frustrates me that people write stuff on here about how shoddy it is when they HAD to be put somewhere after a flight cancellation as it was nt as good as what they paid for, well if you want plusher, pay up and go to the Senegambia or Karaiba, the breakfasts there are a running buffet of warm stuff and fresh fruit (Sarges has not fruit or juices in its offering,but it is fresh and clean and re stocked regularly).
As regards it being a knocking shop full of Jimmy Savilles, I m 49 and was probably the youngest there...I spoke to a lot of regular visitors who go out 2-3x a year and prefer Sarges for its location over all else, it is mostly couples and older ladies getting some winter sun
One downgrade was I slipped on the tiles near the pool, the ramp is of the same tiles rather than non slip ones and I bloodied and bruised 2 toes as a result but could have easily cracked my head open as i went head over apex, I mentioned it to the staff and 4 days later nothing was done, they d mentioned it to the handyman.. and if you know Gambia it will still be there next year.
A tip- don t use the exchange place that is 2 doors down from the front of Sarges, you see it as it has a 6'8'' guy promoting it, they are robbers,they used classic distraction technique on me to short change me by 200d, they were all in on it, asking if i d ever been to USA etc and then when I started counting the money back in front f them the cashier said, 'Its gambian money ,maan', like a plank, I took it at face value, walked off then, thought about it, counted it fully,foound I d been done, went back thinking I ve messed up here,thought that the best way is to front them up so I did, i told him he d done me, he said "how much do you want", I told him, he counted out a new lot in front of me and just asked for the other lot back!
Meals- La Scala was excellent, the Danish lady who runs it is out front in her whites and checks everyone and the staff and it is a good standard from the linens,service and of course the food,I paid £16 for a lovely salad starter,steak and 2 beers, Al Basha is as good as ever if you like Meze,but my favourite was the Jewel of India, under new management and the chef is great,I ate there twice and both meals were lovely
Overall, it s nice to be nice maaan, never had a bad holiday and I never will!

Room Tip: B block faces the pool and you get less npoise from the Mosque!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 321964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serekunda
0.2 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in Serekunda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kololi Beach Club
Kololi Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Kololi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Beach Club Hotel
2.0 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
Kombo Beach Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kotu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
1.5 mi away
Seaview Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarges Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarges Hotel

Property: Sarges Hotel
Address: | P. O. Box 2679, Serekunda, Gambia (Formerly Tafbel Maisonettes)
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Serekunda
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Serekunda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sarges Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sarges Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarges Hotel Tafbel Kololi
Sarges Hotel Gambia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing