We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place, tropical birds sitting round the...”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool & Terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool & Terrace
Double bedroom Double bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Pool & Terrace
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Terrace
Pool
Pool
Pool & Terrace
Kitchen
Double Bedroom
Flowers
Terrace
Flowers
Parasol
Double Bedroom
Lounge
Kitchen
Terrace
Terrace
Bathroom
Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Serekunda, Banjul Division

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
James C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place, tropical birds sitting round the pool, perfect and peaceful”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Loved staying here, fantastic service from start to finish. Very safe, just far enough out of the way of the main strip, in a calm residential area. The 2 local street side convenience shops 2 minutes from the door are handy. Pascal is a gem, really helpful and made us feel welcome and safe. Frugal with the leccy! which we had no problem with. Beach within 5 minutes, lots of restaurants to try, would recommend Swiss tavern for the food, beach location and great massages. Would definitely stay again!! Thanks James & Suzy

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2016
Thanks James! It would be great to have you guys to stay again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorrainep...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great house, fantastic location home from home.”
Reviewed 27 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Leander house villa is perfect for a relaxing holiday chilling by the pool,yet very close to the senegambia strip for great restaurants and vibrant nightlife. Lovely and private,Pascal the gate man is always around if you need anything he keeps the pool and garden clean and tidy. Saw some negative reviews but honestly can't find any justification for them. Owners were a pleasure to deal with and any queries or questions answered promptly

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew B
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Works really well for family holiday”
Reviewed 21 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great family holiday at Leander House. We are two adults and three children, aged 12, 10 and 7. The house was practical for our needs; not too big to feel soulless but big enough so we felt we had enough space. We loved the outdoor area – the pool was perfect for the children as it was not too deep. It’s also a beautiful terrace-garden and we enjoyed spotting the birds and geckos. The beds were comfortable and we liked that there were fans and mosquito nets in each room. There is a large fridge freezer and a choice of supermarkets in walking distance. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, Pascal the security guard taking the children round the corner to a hole-in-the-wall shop where they loved to buy tapalapa (baguette) for 7 dalasis. It was great to be able to have washing done for us and we also had access to a washing line to dry towels and swimming costumes. The rooms were cleaned and beds were made every day.

There are plenty of different beach areas to visit and we also enjoyed a visit to Baku National Forest to see the monkeys. There are lots of restaurants suitable to visit with children, some in walking distance. The house is a wonderfully quiet residential area – close enough to walk to the beach (it took us just over 15 minutes at gentle pace with a stop to buy bread) and you can even hear the breakers in the dark. Around you are the sounds of African family life – reggae music, chatter, cockerels and the smell of cooking.

Don’t come to The Gambia if you want perfection – taxis rattle, the roads are thick with sand; the power goes out (but there is a generator at the villa) and at Leander all the curtains are different lengths and none of the power sockets are on straight! But this is Africa, where people always have time to stop and talk to you or call out “happy family!” Do come to The Gambia if you want clean, relaxed beaches, wonderful sea and the opportunity to experience the spicy warmth, smells, sounds and colour of Africa, and we found Leander a great place to experience this without being hidden away in a hotel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outdoor area, children loved the swing seat
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelaghdu...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“nightmare”
Reviewed 17 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Had trouble finding the property, had to phone house keeper who came to find us. there were 4 of us & going down dirt road to large gate that couldn't open as tree growing over it started to ring alarm bells!
Inside was really awful, the swimming pool looking a good size on photos was little more than a plunge pool, & very cloudy water, wouldn't have used it, & courtyard very cramped & seedy
inside was so dark & uninviting we were all horrified, the Lounge was so dark & tiny you would have to have light on all time. There was a door from there into another bedroom but it was locked, on photos that appeared to be the best bedroom with the best bathroom, so why didn't we have use of that!!
One bedroom was very dark, awful furniture & it doubled up as an office, not very inviting, Bathroom very very basic & seedy. Other bedroom was really awful as well & our friends refused to sleep in it.
This really was a bad experience & spoilt my holiday, we've been going to Gambia for 30 years, & were introducing our friends to its charm, so you can imagine how devastated I felt.
It was totally misleading on the information a much longer walk to beach & any ameanaties Lucy the housekeeper was supposed to do laundry, shopping & cooking if you required, we thought this was why it was so expensive ( £500 ), Lucy was lovely but very pregnant, so we wouldn't be expecting her to do all these things.
We didn't stop, left almost immediately. Got 2 taxies ( with all our luggage) & were lucky to book into our usual hotel at Cape Point.
If you are looking on Tripadvisor rentals in the Gambia , & you want to contact me please do. I am in top 15% of reviewers on tripadvisor & as I always book after I researched Tripadvisor, I've always been thrilled, this was the 1st expensive disaster.
Luckily everywhere else we stayed was excellent, & our friends will definatly go back there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Lucy the house keeper was lovely, expecting a baby very soon, so couldnt expect her to do very much
Liked least: Everything, did not stop, left immediatly
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2016
This person did not stay at our villa.

A location map identifying the location of the villa was sent to this person before arrival. This clearly identifies the location of the villa and its proximity to the beach, shops and Strip (a short walk).

The pool is an average size for this type of villa and is cleaned every day. Its size and that of the lovely terrace are clear from the photos on this website.

The photos on the website give a good indication of the inside of the villa. Electric lights are available at the touch of a switch for rooms that are deemed too dark!! Some people enjoy the shade on (regular!)hot days!

There is no office in any bedroom. We do have a computer and wifi which is available for use by guests.

We do not discriminate against people who are pregnant. Lucy has worked with us for many years and has plenty of people available to help her with any tasks she cannot currently manage. We also have another housekeeper and security guard.

At no point did this person contact us directly to express any concerns with the property.

Please see all other reviews for an accurate summary of our villa, of which we are very proud.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glamgs
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Deposit from 100£ not get back completely after finish my holiday”
Reviewed 3 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015

I want to warning people to not sent the money with out talking to the owner or bank how you get your money back! The Bank fee from england,has taken for that transfer 37£, my Bank says is highest for one way 13.61! And all transfers . It will be charged to the guest each transaction ! Mr. Farr, has himself pulled out of it!
So iam very angry after wrighting him so many emails!! Never pay direkt the mistake i did, always over tripadviser !
Jariu Musa

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2016
This person did not stay at our villa.

This person's deposit was returned by us in full.

We cannot cover the cost of international bank transfers, particularly if we do not know how much a 3rd party's bank will charge.

We are happy to accept payment by Paypal if preferred.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard f
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Felt just like home”
Reviewed 27 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

My partner and I booked the main house comprising 2 double and 1 single bedrooms, lounge and kitchen. This arrangement gave us flexibility for the family to visit and stay at the weekend.It worked superbly and I thank James for making this possible. The house is an absolute dream with spacious clean accomodation, marvellous swimming pool and great location. The walk to the shops and restaurants although manageable was a bit far especially on a dark evening and a torch would come in handy.
We were met by Lucy and Pascal who both made us very welcome and were around for the 2 weeks to make sure we were comfortable without being intrusive.
This truly is a great place and I wouldn't hesitate to use it again when in Gambia.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Swimming pool
Liked least: Nothing not yo like about this property
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannah347
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A fantastic property! ”
Reviewed 23 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at Leander for a week in September and couldn't fault the property or Lucy (the housekeeper)'s services one bit. My arrival in the middle of the night was no issue, and I was greeted by a very smiley Gambian...this friendliness only continued throughout the week! The property was clean throughout and the outside was immaculately maintained.

The amenities provided were perfect for a solo traveler like myself as I was able to cook, although a large range of restaurants are just a few minutes' walk down the road so the property's in a great location. The outside seating area was an ideal office/base for my week and the pool provided a nice respite break to cool down every now and again. The property is well secured and I was able to come and go as I pleased.

I'm so happy I came across this rental before departing for Gambia, and I'll definitely be returning in years to come. Thanks!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing