We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caring and trustworthy staff.”
Review of Mansea Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mansea Beach Hotel
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Serekunda
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Customer service very good and staff are very caring, open and well coming. The food is excellent. I recommend this hotel for any one going for holiday in the Gambia. I really enjoy the whole of my holiday in this hotel. The management are doing very well to update the hotel to become the best hotel in the gambia.

Room Tip: I am going Back this coming february in the same hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baboucarr C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

you can get a basic single room for upwards of only 10 pounds. the hotel has a good swimming pool and table tennis. but it is a bit off the beaten track, requiring a taxi fare -- 1 pound approx -- to get to senegambia tourist centre which is over a playing field and up the road. the rooms are adequate with a satellite tv in them, which is not common in all gambia hotels. be careful if you leave your balcony open as we got a monkey for a visitor who wasn't keen to leave the room, and bared his formidable teeth to us. all in all and o.k. stay, with a decent breakfast, and a very reasonable price. it can be homely when they get to know you and there are guys who stay there on a semi permanent basis and some go back year after year.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I've stayed at this hotel twice. I was lucky enough to get this discounted on both visits due to knowing a member of staff. The hotel is basic as is the breakfast but overall a happy and friendly place to stay. It has a small but clean pool with a bar area. Try the Julbrew. It's a lovely beer which unfortunately is not available in the UK. The downside to the Mansea is the location. Although it is close to the Kololi Strip, the Times I went it was poorly lit and I wouldn't have felt safe walking back on my own. The hotel does have security on the gates and again they are very friendly and enjoy a good laugh. I would stay here again if I were to go back to Gambia. Such a wonderful country.

Room Tip: Make sure you have air con and a mosquito net.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sticky_toes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Gambia is a little hidden gem in winter! Great weather,hot during the day,cool at night!
I stayed at this hotel for a week in Jan. First time in The Gambia. I'd read some awful reviews....but do not dismiss this hotel...yes at the moment its a bit basic. They put us in a noisy room at the front,next morning we asked for quieter rooms and hey presto,no problem, we were shown others in a block by the pool,overlooking an unoccupied hotel. We couldn't have asked for better rooms for the bird life we saw,and the odd monkey.
Its in a great spot, just minutes walk from the strip & beach & during the day theres a short cut down the side of the bar opposite to the strip...which i might add is run by a British man,and the food is good and reasonably cheap. This also takes you to the monkey park,we found a guide there who organised a boat trip for kingfisher spotting,he knew every bird,and it was very relaxing,watching the sun come up,half the price of the local agents too!!
Apparently the hotel is closed for a refurb this year,some of the rooms have already been done,overlooking the pool & they are nice,but i wouldn't swap,we had the best outlook for birdlife, it was like waking up in a tropical rain forest!!!
The pool area is also great,clean,very quiet & staff always friendly.
So,yes its a bit basic(can't comment on the refurb yet),but i will,because i will definetely stay here again. Don't dismiss it!

Room Tip: Choose a room in the 2 blocks at the back of the pool,very quiet & plenty bird spotting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anniemate88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

late last year i was lucky enough to fulfill a lifelong ambition and visit the Gambia.
my stay at the Mansea beach hotel could not have been more enjoyable.
i travelled with my dad who is in his early seventies and a regular visitor to the mansea.
i had heard and read different reviews and points of views regarding the Mansea but i can honestly say i loved it.
they have budget rooms which i opted for and which are in no way fancy but they had everything i needed and are cleaned EVERY day and i had clean linen and towels DAILY. the upgraded rooms are lovely and if you want you can pay the extra but i would be happy with the budget rooms any day.
staff were FANTASTIC. and nothing was too much trouble. the entire staff from cleaners to bar staff kitchen workers maintenance workers to clerical and management they were all so welcoming and such fun.
security was good too the Mansea employ their own security inside the gate and there are government security outside the gates all very helpful and friendly.
food was good and available at any time. there are lots of places nearby to see and you can eat out if you want.
i thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Mansea Beach hotel and will be returning there again very soon my experience was a great one and i felt safe and well looked after at all times. i certainly will not be looking elsewhere for accomodation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ballosgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

given room A17 upstairs from reception not much noise due to the fact that not busy, room adequite for my needs large wardrobe and drawers enough for 2 also there was a television, plus air con, bed was a nice size clean and changed twice in 1 week, towels nice and new but the room needed a lick of paint, plus larger wattage bulbs as it was so dim in the room. I was told that they will be doing them up but when who knows only the gambians do when they are done up they will look good as tthe others do, by the way you can upgrade at a cost if you want and there are some vacant, go have a look and you will see the difference.Why the travel companies took them off their books i do not know. good bar over the road called Palm tree dont be put off by the looks it does some good food take it from me and cheap drinks.

Room Tip: look at the new and see the difference before paying
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paully1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Friendly staff, cats and egrets!
Stayed here for a night on the way to Farafenni and again one night on the way back.
The room was nothing special, but having spent two weeks 'up country', the luxury of hot water and electricity which worked, it was a welcome relief. There was a reading light by the bed, and a television, but couldn't work out how to use two pin plugs in three pin sockets!
I understand that the management is undertaking an improvement programme - my room had yet to have the make-over ans I am told that the renovated room are much better. The pool area was newly painted and landscaped. I loved watching the cattle egrets basking in the water sprinklers being used on the lawns.
I was not so impressed with the sleek and well fed cats, especially when their diet was mainly rats and cockroaches to be found in the outside area - but guests didn't help by feeding them at breakfast.
I have stayed in much better accommodation in the Gambia, but felt that it was in a good location - not too busy or noisy, staff were friendly and management were trying to improve the overall guest experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in one of the 'improved' blocks - and check how much extra it is to turn the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serekunda
0.5 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#2 of 16 in Serekunda
1,286 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Palm Beach
Hotel Palm Beach
#4 of 6 in Kotu
772 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bungalow Beach Hotel
Bungalow Beach Hotel
#11 of 16 in Serekunda
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 16 in Serekunda
866 reviews
4.6 mi away
Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Kololi Beach Resort
Kololi Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Kololi
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansea Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansea Beach Hotel

Address: Off Bretil Harding Highway, Serekunda 4068, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Serekunda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Serekunda
Price Range: £47 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mansea Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mansea Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mansea Beach
Mansea Beach Kololi
Mansea Beach Hotel Gambia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing