We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mansea Beach Hotel”
Review of Mansea Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mansea Beach Hotel
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Serekunda
Reviewed 2 November 2009

My partner and i have been going to The Gambia for a few years now. Our children were almost teenage when we started going. The country is wonderful and the people are the most friendly i have ever met. There is not the mod-cons of water parks, loads of shops etc that most teenagers like but our children would rather go there than any other place on earth. Loads to do and see if you like wildlife, birds and experiencing what different tribes/ cultures are like. Mansea beach is only 2 star b and b but the staff are fantastic and being a smaller establishment it gives a more personal service.

Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
Thank ClaireLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2009

Accessible to some degree. Handy for taxi's especaily Bob, without him things would of been tricky to get aboutn outside of hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdinburghNuttytart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2009

i spent 2 weeks in the gambia booked through thomas cook, as a single female traveller.had a wonderful time at the mansea beach hotel. rooms are a bit shabby but who cares? all you need is a bed to sleep in! look at how the locals live. then you wont complain! the hotel grounds were clean, tidy and spacious. the staff are wonderful, always had a smile on their faces and happy to help you. evening entertainment is lowkey but if looking for livelier atmosphere senegambia strip is on the doorstep virtually ,with bars restaurants and clubs.
i done a geat amount of sight seeing and spent a lot of time with the locals. they are wonderful people. book excursions locally. the money goes to the locals who need it most instead of tour operators with all their millions of pounds. i recommend taking pens, books and sweets for the children. tipping is also important as these people earn very little.
i had a wonderful time out there and will definitely return soon. many thanks to all the staff at the mansea hotel for their hard work and comitment to keeping everyone happy and making my holiday so special.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mich250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2009

Fabulous location, Wonderful people, Wonderful gardens, 5 minutes from the best beach in the world. Hotel definatley "Africa", cracks on walls, power cuts (everywhere), Good clean quirky fun! Cross the street, 10 meters and walk in to Simple Simon's Bar, and your holiday will light up and take off!Outside the Mansea is where a lot of local"Bumsters" hang out, they look intimidating, all Rastamen & Bob Marley; give them 5 minutes and they will befriend you, look after you, act as your guide Sort out taxi's (we had Yaba & his Jeep),take you to places you never thought exsited. They really made our holiday! Simon is the bar owner, and very much in the know, and when you are Simon's friend, you get less hastle on the Senna Gambia Strip; people would call to us" Hey you are Simon's friends" it was like a passport to peace. The location is superb, 2 mins from the strip, 2 mins from the beach. I advise you go to the Senna Gambia Hotel beach, it's security guards keep away the beach sellers. The cafe is fine & not to expensive.The Hotel looks devine; at a cost.Simon's Bar offers Round Houses for rent Approx. £10 per night (every thing in Gambia is by negotiation),if all you want is a bed, this is the place; as the hotel pool's are both 2 minutes walk, and you will get to meet the real African's who made our stay so wonderful: Yaba, King, Smile, Side Show Bob! All fantastic & Fatiou next door; will make you a shirt overnight for 300 Dalasi (about £8.00). All the boys were so much fun, and harmless. (The're always looking for a smoke), but they will be just as quick to share their lunch with you or offer to guide you . They are much better and much cheaper than the organised tours, and being with a local has hugh advantages.Simple Simon's bar has done more I'm sure for tourism & good relations in the Gambia than Thomas Cook! If you go, check him & the boys out, say the Baldy Rastaman sent you! mail him at:[-] and cut a deal for a round house or get him on [-] or [-]. Gambia is FANTASTIC !!! Take pencils & school "stuff" for the kid's, you'll meet; much better than money or sweets! See stuff you never thought exsited,we will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Inspetor23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2009

Have stayed at other hotels over the last 7 years and now the Mansea , it was the best with good staff , good breakfast , clean and if asked for something to be done the staff did it , we stayed for 3 weeks and have already booked for a month next year , remember the golden rule YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR , if you want 5 star go elsewhere and moan , its your choice so enjoy your holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashfordnoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2009

My first trip to the Gambia was very enjoyable, the weather was great, the people very friendly... maybe some too friendly.... and the Mansea Hotel was fine, Much better than i had expected. The room was clean and tidy.. the bed was made with clean sheets every day, The TV had channels i could watch if i needed to get out of the sun for an hour.The food wasnt brillient but i did not suffer any stomach upset at all.I hope you have as good a time as i did. I recomend getting a ;ocal offical guide to see the real Gambia.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevinPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2009

We were worried having read some of the reviews what standard the hotel would be however we were pleasently suprised. We only paid £300 for the 2 weeks and so I think it was very good value. Room was basic but big, clean, had hot water, tv, towels. Pool was very nice and clean, nice to relax around. For people with partners who don't like to sit around in the sun the entertainers do a good job of keeping them occupied. Short walk to the main strip - however it is dark at night so take a torch. The guys hanging around the gate can be annoying but never threatening. Overall a good destination if you want a bit of cheap winter sun.

Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank claire85Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serekunda
0.5 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 16 in Serekunda
1,263 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bungalow Beach Hotel
Bungalow Beach Hotel
#12 of 16 in Serekunda
44 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Palm Beach
Hotel Palm Beach
#4 of 6 in Kotu
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 16 in Serekunda
851 reviews
4.6 mi away
Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa
0 mi away
Seaview Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansea Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansea Beach Hotel

Address: Off Bretil Harding Highway, Serekunda 4068, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Serekunda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Serekunda
Price Range: £48 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mansea Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Mansea Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mansea Beach
Mansea Beach Kololi
Mansea Beach Hotel Gambia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing