We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Serekunda
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This was the most relaxing trip I have ever been on. The rooms are great, the staff are friendly and hardworking and the resort and everything around it is great. Food was also nice as well. The only bad thing was the pool was cold and it was a lot of walking for a hotel apart from that would come here again it's a great hotel just wouldn't bring kids as there isn't that much entertainment

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Tyler B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGManager, Manager at Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Guest,

another 5 star rating! We are getting used to it. We will keep working hard to keep it like this.
Thank you and hope to see you again soon!

Regards,
Tom van Tuijl
Executive Assistant Manager
Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (837)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 837 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

My husband booked this hotel for 2 weeks for my 50th birthday. We were advised to have all our injections including "Yellow Fever" .We also took malaria tablets. We found many of the other guests we spoke to did not bother,.
We flew with Thomas Cook. NEVER AGAIN. It was like a cattle market.
The weather was fantastic. We stayed in a beach front deluxe balboa room. This was fantastic.
The staff were extremely helpful. The bar manager was exceptional along with" YAYA "
The maid couldn't do enough for us.
All the meals were great.(We were worried as my husband is a fussy eater).The evening meals were outside except one night when the winds were to strong so we ate inside.
We saw a few other hotels on our travels and we definitely picked the best.

Advise to anyone is to change up a small amount of money this end (£50).no more. You get a far better rate in hotel. You don't need any money except tips. The Gambian people like £1 coins as a tip.
We went on boat trip in the mangroves. This was great. The lunch provided was "Shepherds pie" and salad. It was lovely but it made us laugh.
We would return . Beach was great. Even the "Bumsters" were lovely.

Room Tip: deluxe balboa seafront room. Change money up in hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catfish6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGManager, Manager at Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Guest,

our associates work hard every day and we are happy to read that you noticed it!
We are happy that you and your husband had a great time with us - that is exactly what we aim for every day.

Best Regards,

Tom van Tuijl
Executive Assistant Manager
Sheraton Gambia Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed here for a conference and as a conference venue its excellent. Location by the beach is great and bar well stocked! Service, check-in etc was also excellent. Only disappointment were the rooms which were pretty basic, poor Wifi signal etc. However, on balance, not bad!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timborules84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGManager, Manager at Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Guest,

good to read that we met your expectations with regards to the check-in the well stocked bar and the service.

Hope to see you again soon in our hotel!

Best Regards,

Tom van Tuijl
Executive Assistant Manager
Sheraton Gambia Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Have just returned from The Gambia Sheraton hotel & spa after spending two weeks in the glorious sunshine. The weather was fantastic, clear blue skies everyday with minimal cloud if any. It was certainly a lovely break to have a the beginning of the year, especially for the weather. The staff were absolutely lovely, nothing was too much trouble. We were greeted everyday by smiling Gambians, whether it was the gardeners, room maids, waiters & waitresses, bar staff, you name it, everyone of them had a smile on their face. The room as cleaned everyday with fresh towels, bed linens every other day & you always came back to flowers on your bed. The room had a kettle with coffee, tea & sugar, that was replaced every day. The bed was very noisy, every time you moved during the night, it creaked, as it was on a wooden base. This hotel is no means a five star, well not to us Brits, but it is Gambia, a third world country, so to them it would have been total luxury. The breakfast was the best meal of the day, plenty of fruit, yogurts, cereals, cakes to a full English. Lunchtime & evening meals was very repetitive with all the meat covered in pepper whether you liked it or not, there was always rice either plain or some sort of spiced one, always a choice of salad, but look closely as I found bugs in mine, even though I dug deep down into the bowl. To be honest, the food was awful, one day my husband had 2 bread rolls for dinner, as everything was well spiced, nothing plain. This hotel definitely needs more bar staff, you could be waiting over 15 minutes for drink, as there were only two serving but worrying about you signing for your drinks ( even though AI). It was the first time I have ever been to an AI where you have to pay for cocktails, even as they use the local alcohol, you could even have branded drinks but you also have to pay for these and they are on par with home prices, 2 Bacardi & diet cokes approx £8. There is only one bar in the whole complex, but did get very chilly in the evenings and needed a cardigan.You have to sign for everything, breakfast, lunch, dinner all drinks. At 4pm everyday they light the BBQ, for burgers but if you want chips, you have to order behind the bar & also pay for them. You could also have ice cream, but only between 4-6pm. I did go to the spa & had a hot stone massage, which was lovely & cost approx £17 which was a brilliant price compared to what you pay in the UK. I would probably go back for a week, but only if I got a real cheap deal, because what we paid it was definitely not value for money. I always read reviews before I go on holiday & I went with an open mind, as someones taste would not the same as someone else's.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGManager, Manager at Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest,

we have read your feedback about your last stay with us.

Your positive words about the weather, the smiles on our faces, the cleanliness of the room, the breakfast and the amenities are well received.

We have also taken note of your constructive comments with regards to the variety in food and the service at the bar - the reponsible department head will address these issues to ensure they will not reoccur in the future.

Best Regards,

Tom van Tuijl
Executive Assistant Manager
Sheraton Gambia Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We have just returned from a lovely 10 nights at the Sheraton. The weather during the day was wonderful. However, the temperature did drop during the evening due to the winds coming in from the Atlantic. The management were a visible presence and made the right call to move the evening meal indoors after our first 2 evenings, as the temperature had dropped beyond the comfort level to eat outdoors.
The hotel oozes with smiles from all the staff and I mean ALL the staff; from the managers to the gardeners. Everyone appeared to really enjoy what they were doing and this happiness certainly made us smile too.
The food was very enjoyable and well cooked, the chicken kebabs at lunchtime were delicious. The service in the restaurant was very good and the staff were attentive and friendly. Special mention to Elizabeth the trainee waitress who really looked after us with the prompt service of our drinks order. My one criticism was that there was no cheese and biscuits and the desserts were limited.
The rooms were basic and not what I would call 5 star standard but the room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the shower was powerful and there was a good supply of hot water and clean towels.
We thoroughly enjoyed dancing to the bands that played (especially the salsas) thank you bands for great music. There is entertainment twice a day at 5pm and 8pm approx., except Sundays (just in the afternoon)
Special mention also to Bamba the gardener, Tino in the Gym, Omar in the bar (the number one Chesterfield FC fan) and Yaya also behind the bar.
The reception staff were also friendly, efficient and courteous and could not do enough to help us.
Will we be going back to this hotel? ...... Definitely!!!
PS Be brave visit the local village and see the real Gambia. It is a humbling experience (don't forget to take several large bags of sweets for the village children).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJoUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGManager, Manager at Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guests,

we were happy to read that you noticed the "visible presence from management" We truly belive that if we get close to our guests, our guests will notice this and appreciate it.

Also the "oozes with smiles from all the staff and I mean ALL the staff" comment is very much appreciated.

Your mention about our special associates; Elizabeth,Bamba the gardener, Tino in the Gym, Omar in the bar and Yaya also behind the bar has not remained unnoticed. We will forward your message to them.

Best Regards,

Tom van Tuijl
Executive Assistant Manager
Sheraton Gambia Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Had a wonderful relaxing time at the Sheraton Gambia...what more can you want. Beautiful weather and friendly smiling faces. We had a Junior Suite which was right on the beach front. What an amazing view when you wake up in the morning to look out straight onto the beach and sea. The people are fantastic with lots of smiling faces. The bumsters along the beach pester you but they are very friendly and are only trying to make a living. Food was really nice ...breakfast had a choice of cereals, cheese, ham, breads, salads and of course bacon, sausage, beans, eggs (freshly cooked to your liking) etc. The only downside was the lack of tea pots for us Brits who do love a lovely cup of tea in the morning and the wait for the hot water. Lunch and dinner was lush you had at least two different places where the food would be freshly prepared for you. Loads of salad, rice, pasta and cakes etc. Bread was also lovely and fresh. Nothing bad to complain about, only that we had to come home.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karon007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGManager, Manager at Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for your positive comments about the amazing view, the smiling faces of our associates and the excellent food!
Good times never last long enough!

Hope to see you again soon,

Best Regards,

Tom van Tuijl
Executive Assistant Manager
Sheraton Gambia Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This was our second trip to the Sheraton Gambia. My husband booked the trip to celebrate my 50th birthday, although we booked a sea view and paid for an upgrade, we had to change rooms three times before we ended up with a beautiful sea view room. We had a lovely holiday, the staff were really helpful and attentive, the food was delicious, we were even recognised by the bar staff from our previous trip!. We booked a couple of day trips, the highlight for me was a visit to see the Monkeys. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomadswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGManager, Manager at Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for your responses and glad to read that you had a wonderfull time yet again in Sheraton Gambia Resort and Spa.

We have taken note of the issue with regard to the assigned room upon arrival and the subsequent room move. We have discussed this internally and will take the necessary actions to prevent this from reoccuring again.

Hope to see you soon and looking forward to welcome you!

Best Regards,

Tom van Tuijl
Executive Assistant Manager
Sheraton Gambia Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serekunda
4.2 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
1,230 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in Serekunda
843 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Kololi Beach Club
Kololi Beach Club
#2 of 9 in Kololi
155 reviews
8.9 mi away
Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort
6.1 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Brufut Heights A.U Highway, Serekunda, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Serekunda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Serekunda
Price Range: £85 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort & Spa, enjoy the tropical leisure, sand, sea and and the tranquillity of our spa. The unique, spectacular architecture, with its blocks of 186 guest rooms perched on two cliffs overlooking the Atlantic coastline, provides a serene environment. Tropical palm and baobab trees dotted along the immaculate landscape allow gentle Atlantic sea breezes to flow. Cozy guest rooms with private balconies offer unmasked sea views right from the comfort of your bed and the attractive all-inclusive concept surrounds your treat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Gambia Hotel Serekunda
Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort And Spa
Sheraton Serekunda
Serekunda Sheraton
Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing