We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Captain_Africa
Lome
A wonderful place
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Nov 2016
We visited Djenne and stayed at Djenne Djenno. The place is by far the best in town. The rooms are very nice, with a mixture of traditional decoration and modern comfort.
The food was very good and the staff very welcoming.
Date of stay: November 2016Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
The Sleeping Room in The Loft
Contact accommodation for availability.
Free parking
Restaurant
Le patio depuis la terrasse à l'heure du petit déjeuner
Contact accommodation for availability.
Free parking
Restaurant
Residence Tapama Innenhof
Contact accommodation for availability.
Restaurant
Annex Interior
Contact accommodation for availability.
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
Free parking
Restaurant
Innenhof
Contact accommodation for availability.
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Djenne
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
48
17
0
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
48
17
0
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2016

I spent a wonderfully relaxing 3nights (including Christmas) in December at the oasis which is Djenne Djenno. Sophie and her lovely team made sure my stay couldn't have been better. A staff member with motorbike met my bus at the Djenne carrefour to deliver me to the hotel- very simple and safe for a lone female traveller, though otherwise I never once felt uncomfortable in the region. The food really was a highlight of my time at Djenne Djenno too- beautiful home made spreads and juices for breakfast along with fresh fruit; 3 course dinners fusing local flavours with European classics e.g. the tasty smoked fish soup. Sophie knows the region inside out, and was able to arrange a tour of the town including the mosque and the document library with a very informative guide. The rooms are very clean, comfortable and stylish, made from local construction techniques and furnished with great beds; Rooftop cocktails at sunset looking over the incredible old town, the colourful bougainvillea in the garden, all with the sound of birdsong in the background- very, very hard to beat. Both the town and this unique accommodation shouldn't be missed. Thanks Sophie and crew.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rhihill
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 August 2015

Djenne-Djenno is a top-notch hotel with beautiful decor, great cuisine and drinks, and above all the very authentic (and unique to Djenne) adobe architecture. You are guaranteed to have an enjoyable time as Sophie (the owner) and her dedicated staff work hard to make sure you will have an excellent experience. Despite the occasional unrest in northern Mali, Djenne is located in a safe part of the country where the locals are very happy to welcome foreigners. Therefore, I would say that in Djenne you will feel very safe. Of course it must be said that no trip to Mali would be complete without venturing to Djenne, and once you do make sure to stay at Hotel Djenne-Djenno where you could relax after exploring.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 955imrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2015

first of all, sophie is a great Host. Nice tradtionally built mud construction, very cozy. Enjoyed the sundowner on the roof with view over djenne, and then a delicious dinner in the garden. All this accompanied by interesting talks with sophie and the Other guests made it an unforgettable yet far Too short Stay.

Date of stay: January 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Christoph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SophieKeita, Owner at Hotel Djenne Djenno, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2015

It is so nice to find that we have a new review. Tourism is still not quite back here yet after the recent Malian troubles, so guests are not too frequent, although everyone that comes here now feels safe in the area. Therefore many thanks for making the effort to write! It was a pleasure having you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We loved Djenne Djenno. Despite the fact that Sophie, the owner, wasn't there - the service was brilliant. We loved the architecture and the roof terrace is a lovely touch. It's amazing to drink the homemade cocktails (rum and gingembre - one of the best drinks i've ever had!) as the sun goes down over Djenne. Rooms were well designed and comfy with aircon. The staff were incredibly helpful - even driving in to town 3 times in order to book us tickets for transport. The food was delicious and it was great eating by candlelight under the stars. We felt completely fine and safe in Djenne despite the conflict continuing in the North. HIghly recommended.

Date of stay: April 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank mairi m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed at Hotel Djenne Djenno in January, 2014 for three days. When we arrived, Sophie, the host, was waiting for us at the front door to greet us. She gave us a lovely (upgraded) room which was clean, quiet, spacious and decorated with her amazingly beautiful Bogalon cloth. The hotel surrounds a beautiful courtyard garden. Breakfast and dinner is served in this courtyard and Sophie hosts nightly cocktails up on the roof, to watch the sunset. A charmingly civilized touch. We thoroughly enjoyed the conversation.

The food at Hotel Djenne Djenno is superb. Continental breakfasts are delicious and feature bissap, the Malian hibiscus drink and a range of delicious homemade jams. Lunches and dinners, created by Papa, the cook are absolutely spot on. Papa has a style which produces light and flavoursome food which we really enjoyed.

We had a very relaxing few days at Hotel Djenne Djenno, so relaxing that we slept in until 10 am one morning! Just what we needed.

Our guide, Ibrahim Kassogue of Papillion Reizen (www.papillonreizen.com) had arranged a surprise birthday celebration for one of us and Sophie and her chef, Papa did us proud and created a totally memorable birthday.

Hotel Djenne Djenno is like a dream - a must when visiting Mali.

Don't forget to check out the Bogalon studio at Hotel (MaliMali) and buy some beautiful Bogalon cloth and/or clothing - Sophie can send it most places in the world. We now have a lovely tablecloth to remind us of our happy time at Hotel Djenne Djenno.

Rest assured, despite the scary TV coverage last year, this region of Mali is safe and tourists are very very welcome.

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janev_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews