We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of Case Corail

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rodrigues Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Case Corail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed quite a while at Case Corail. It was a great experience. The staff is extremely kind and warm, giving you "deux bises" when you see them in the morning. Herve is a really cool guy; he was very generous with his time. He even invited me to the birthday party of one of his friends. His girlfriend, Natalie, was also nice.

There are two amazing dogs there - Caramel, who is very athletic and a celebrity in the village, and his loving mother, Minuet. It was amazing to see the affection between the two dogs! They are very loving and protective housemates. The dinners were terrific - tea punch, and incredible meals including grilled lamb.

The location is excellent - right on the beach, with excellent hiking trails to St. Francois, where you can stop off for BBQ at Chez Robert. There is snorkeling in the Anse Bouteille and kite surfing at Anse Marouk. The tyrolean and Jardin de Cinq Sens is not far away, either. This is an authentic experience of Rodrigues, and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SammyD812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

We came to Rodrigues for 5 nights in August and spent 3 of them in Case Corail. This is a really charming guest house run by Herve. From the moment we arrived Herve made us feel very welcome and recommended things to do. He speaks excellent English, which is a bonus on Rodrigues as most people speak only French. Our room had beautiful views over the countryside and beach and we were right in the heart of Graviers, a really charming village. One of our favourite things about staying here was dinner in the evening. All the guests and staff eat together and each night are served up the most delicious meals - crab soup, freshly caught shrimp, fish, home made cake and lots of ti punch and wine included in the price. You can walk along the coast line to some very beautiful beaches, learn to kite surf or Herve can arrange a boat trip for you. Unfortunately we had some rain while we stayed (apparently it never rains in Rodrigues!) so we borrowed one of Herve's 4x4's and drove all round the island which was great fun. You can also easily get the bus up into the mountains and then walk back down.
Ignore the one bad review on here. Case Corail is kept very clean, but of course occassionally bugs get into the house (you're in the middle of nowhere). If you want a sophistcated, swanky hotel this is not the place for you, but nor is Rodrigues really, just stay on Mauritius. If you want to experience island life, get to know the locals, enjoy one of the most beautiful places in the world, step back in time and do everything at island pace - then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RinaLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Case Corail is the real Rodrigues..... offering a completely authentic experience. Perched on a hill with endless views of the lagoon, this charming guest house is a great option for a relaxing few days. The village of Graviers is ideally located for walking along the beautiful coastline, with access to some of the best beaches.
Herve and his team serve up delicious dinners in the evening, so there's no need to go out (good if you have a sleeping baby upstairs!).
We had the room with a balcony and thanks to the really high bed we could admire the lagoon views from bed! The accommodation is simple and comfortable and good value for money.
We will return!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorginaL838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frédéric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casecorail, Propriétaire at Case Corail, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank lolishalim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Crico O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casecorail, Propriétaire at Case Corail, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rodrigues Island hotels
2.3 mi away
Le Tekoma
Le Tekoma
#1 of 6 in Rodrigues Island
256 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mourouk Ebony Hotel
Mourouk Ebony Hotel
#5 of 6 in Rodrigues Island
219 reviews
389.5 mi away
Hotel Les Cocotiers
Hotel Les Cocotiers
#4 of 6 in Rodrigues Island
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bakwa Lodge
Bakwa Lodge
#2 of 41 in Rodrigues Island
136 reviews
3 mi away
Cotton Bay Hotel
Cotton Bay Hotel
#2 of 6 in Rodrigues Island
312 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Belle Rodriguaise
La Belle Rodriguaise
#4 of 41 in Rodrigues Island
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Case Corail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Case Corail

Address: Graviers, Mauritius 0
Region: Mauritius > Rodrigues Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Rodrigues Island
Price Range: £35 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sit in Graviers, small farmers and fishermen village on the South East coast of Rodrigues, Case Corail, cosy and charming guesthouse, offers three rooms with optionnal meals at walking distance of the island's most beautiful beaches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Case Corail Rodrigues Island, Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing