We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lamplight Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Lake Luzerne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and we honestly cannot think of any way this beautiful place could have improved! The breakfasts were delicious and the room was immaculate. We especially loved the friendly atmosphere and the mischievous little bear in our room that seemed to always find something to get in to while we were away :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LinsInnNY, Owner at Lamplight Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Those room bears do get in trouble when you are away from the room. Glad you had a good time at the Inn for your honeymoon, Hope to see you on your 1st anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
176
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cicero, New York
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We looked at many B and B's in the Adirondacks, this came out at the top of our list. It was far enough away from the busy-ness of Lake George and close enough to go there for dinner and shopping ( and some great ice cream right across from the Great Escape!). We stayed 2 days for our 22nd anniversary and away from our 3 beautiful but extremely needy children. It was even a blessing that the cell phone didn't get much reception. The house and the grounds are very well kept, I can tell that Linda and Gene truly have a passion for their life's work. It was very relaxing, we went for a walk in the woods behind the house and it just smelled like the Adirondacks.....and that is one of the best aromas on Gods green earth. The 2 things I will take away are the heavenly time I had with my beautiful bride and the BLUEBERRY SCONES.....mmmmmmmmmmmm!

Room Tip: The house behind the main house was very quiet and very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LinsInnNY, Owner at Lamplight Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write to Trip Advisor. We are really glad to make your
getaway romantic and relaxing. Hope to see you again. Martha's Ice Cream is across the
road from Six Flags/Great Escape and it is gooooood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Lamplight Inn while attending class at the nearby Adirondack Folk School and had a great experience. Hosts Linda and Gene have just the right temperament, and their experience shows in their attention to detail.

Linda stayed in touch with us before our arrival, and check-in answered all our questions. Our room (the Lilac Room at the back of the main house) was enormous and just spotless. Both the common areas and our room were well-maintained, despite the age of the house. It's obvious the owners put a lot of money and effort into keeping the house and property at its best. Furniture and bedding were comfortable, and all the little amenities added to our stay.

And then there's breakfast. We've never stayed at a B&B with A MENU for breakfast! There's something to suit every taste, and food is prepared quickly with a professional presentation. Here's a tip: No matter what you're having for breakfast, be sure to at least try a small bowl of Linda's homemade granola.

Other staff at the Inn were also professional and courteous, particularly Sally and Cindy.

The Inn's location in the Adirondacks is an ideal starting point for many other towns, but quiet Lake Luzerne is a great place to come back to at the end of the day. And the Lamplight Inn is the right place to come back to. We'll definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Light sleepers should choose a room at the back of the house. Treat yourself to a jacuzzi suite i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LinsInnNY, Owner at Lamplight Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for the review. I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Being the only couple not on motorcycle during your stay, you guys were easy and just having a good time. After a weekend of classes at the Adirondack Folk School, I am sure you have a whole new appreciation for blacksmithing. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Methuen, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

From pulling up to this beautiful place to the day we left... Amazing time and location. As clean as you could ask for. Old world charm to remember. The staff was so kind and friendly and accommodating you felt like it was family even if it was your first visit (which it was for us). Gourmet chef prepared daily specials for breakfast or choose from the menu. I opted for the special everyday and it was incredible. They even agreed to make us eggs Benedict which wasn't even on the menu. The homemade bread (different each day) waited patiently at your breakfast table for you every morning. Nightly gatherings on the front porch with fellow visitors and owners made it even more inviting. This was my first time in the Adirondacks and it made me angry that I hadn't been there before. I have already booked again for same time next year. You will not be disappointed. Gene and Linda (owners) are so friendly and will do whatever it takes to make you feel comfortable.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Carriage House. The room was huge and had a Jacuzzi tub in each room (not the slea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lloyd b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LinsInnNY, Owner at Lamplight Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. I really think we had the all time best Americade group in the Inn this year. Everyone was just so friendly and really enjoyed being at the Lamplight and with the other Americaders. Of course the 5 stupendous weather days didn't hurt. We look forward to next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Hello, how is everyone?
I planned a surprise birthday for my husband of 1 year. He drove but didnt find out where we were going until we arrived.
Staying at this Inn reminded me that there is more to NY than Times Square 42nd street or 5th Avenue. It was absolutely beautiful from before we even arrived. Gene and Linda are so professional and helped make the checking in process run so smooth. We stayed in the Canopy room. It is so beautiful with the fireplace and nice canopy style bed. Everything is super super clean, neat and warm in the Inn. Breakfast was exceptional. The various choices of omelets, bread, waffles, homemade granola, fruits, juice and coffee... Sally and Linda are so sweet!!! I informed them that I am gluten-intolerant last minute and Sally; our sweet waitress; made the extra effort to go out and purchase gluten free rolls, bread and pasta (for the Saturday dinner). This is the trait of a genuinely caring, sweet, lovely and nice person. Gene and Linda are so hardworking also, they stayed up all Saturday night cooking and serving us until the last table left. I will say that you can go there with your eyes closed, your stomach empty and your heart open. Trust and believe that you wont want to leave and will want to revisit again and again and again!!! I know I will!!!
Thank you so much to Gene, Linda, Sally and the entire Lamplight Inn staff.
With love from Downstate NY (Harlem, NYC)
Fabrice and Nurriddeenah

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nurriddeenah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LinsInnNY, Owner at Lamplight Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for the kind words. We are so happy that we made your husband's birthday special.
Sally is a gem, our right hand person for the last 19 years. She will do her best to make a guest
happy. This past year, we have received a lot of gluten free requests, so now I always have my gluten free bread made and ready for guest breakfast. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
149 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Everyone loves this inn, and so did we, which is why I found it surprising that we were the only guests there when we stopped on our way to Canada. But they were so fuly booked on the weekend after we stayed that we couldn't stay there if we had wished to do so, and we did!. The hosts are friendly and very helpful, the hallways and parlors decorated lavishly with country antiques and photos, and the rooms with canopies and four posters lovely. The breakfast was lavish and wonderful, too.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LinsInnNY, Owner at Lamplight Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
I am really sorry that it has taken me so long to respond to wonderful reviews. I must have had a foggy head from the long winter this year.
Anyway, thank you for the kind words about your stay. Winter in the Adirondacks was really snowy and becomes weekend getaways for most travelers, so it was really nice to have your company midweek. Hope you had a good trip to Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidney, New York
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary here, Friday through Monday in March. We stayed in Suite 3 in the Carriage House, so we had a king size bed, gas fireplace, comfy chairs, tv, a lovely bathroom, AND a two person jacuzzi. So glad we chose to come here. The weather was cold, so we could go out and do some of the activities in the area, but always looked forward to coming back to the suite just to be together in such a cozy place. Breakfast every morning was absolutely INCREDIBLE, too. Loved it. The B&B is a costly place to stay if you just want somewhere to sleep while you enjoy attractions in the area, but if you like the place you stay to be a big reason for coming, then this is the place!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charity J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LinsInnNY, Owner at Lamplight Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Sorry this response took so long, but I think it is time to respond to wonder ful reviews. The good thing about the Carriage House Suites is that on a cold day, and boy were we cold, you aren't in a rush to leave the room. Enjoy the fireplace and Jacuzzi and just leave to come to our hearty breakfast. You will be good til dinner. "A warm spot on a cold night". Thank you for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Luzerne
0.5 mi away
The Elms Waterfront Cottages
The Elms Waterfront Cottages
#1 of 7 in Lake Luzerne
91 reviews
9.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
18.2 mi away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#6 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#16 of 88 in Lake George
521 reviews
7.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake George
Comfort Suites Lake George
#9 of 88 in Lake George
647 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#1 of 8 in Bolton Landing
1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamplight Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamplight Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Lamplight Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 231 Lake Ave, Lake Luzerne, NY 12846-2803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Luzerne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Luzerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lamplight Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1890 Victorian plus Carriage House sitting on 10 acres in the Village of Lake Luzerne. Romantic getaway with suites with Jacuzzi's and fireplaces, other rooms with fireplace and a wheelchair accessible bedroom with fireplace. Full breakfast included, wifi, TV, wine and beer licensed, non smoking inside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Lamplight Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamplight Inn Bed And Breakfast Lake Luzerne/Lake George, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing