We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay in a cave!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge le Festival

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Auberge le Festival
Ranked #1 of 34 Tinerhir B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Stay in a cave!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

What a find....sleeping in a cave!
Situated away from the hoards of tourists, this interesting, clean and comfortable Auberge.
It is not sheer luxury, however it is well worth visiting for a couple of night just to experience the beauty of it and it's surroundings, so peaceful.
The food was excellent and the all male staff team could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    56
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
54
143
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
228 reviews
208 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We were given a choice of cave rooms or living in a faux castle family suite. We chose the castle, after the viewing the caves and noting that they had little natural light (well, what do you expect!). Staying in the cave rooms would have been a novel experience, had we not already stayed in caves elsewhere.

This place is very unique, being made almost all in stone, and is well-suited to its site. It sits in a gorge with high walls around and a stream bed which was dry when we were there (we hear that it floods occasionally). There are many terraces and outdoor seating areas overlooking the site. It is too far to walk to Todra Gorge.

The castle suite was spacious, comfortable and well-designed -- incorporating many natural elements including fossils and stonework. The bed was comfortable and was provided extra comforters and blankets, as well as a gas heater.

Dinner was served in a dining area. The food was very good, service was friendly and efficient. Live entertainment followed dinner. This would be my choice of places to stay in the area.

Note: there is no wifi. :) but there is a very friendly dog!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Axe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tineher
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We spent the last couple of days of our climbing trip at Le Festival. The staff were lovely and the food excellent. The place will be magnificent when complete. We unfortunately had a mix up about the price thinking it was for a couple (and amazing value) rather than per person, and came to a happy medium. The tower room was a little cold, but extra blankets were available. The only down side was dogs barking repetitively through the night up the valley, and with the acoustics the sound travelled a long way and woke us both nights we were there. I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

We arrived to a warm reception area of the workers and their families (who I suppose live on site) playing moroccan drums, having a good time and eating dinner together. We were served with wonderful friendliness and were upgraded from a low-price room to one of the best "cave rooms", the sit inside the rock face of the gorge. The most beautiful rooms i've EVER stayed in (and even if you paid the regular price it would have been worth it), beautiful controlled temperature in the cold weather and the front door opens to the rising cliff faces of the gorge. hours spent at night sharing stories and ideas with the young staff - I was actually sad to leave them! Very professional and clean, scrumptious food prepared, and very helpful with ideas on what to do in the gorge (and have their own climbing gear). They even got up at 5am to see us off in our taxi to the bus station. and the eco element of it really topped it all off. Best place ever.

Room Tip: Choose the cave room facing the cliff faces! Serenity and beauty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel_peretz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Stunning location, amazing food and super nice staff. Spent 2 nights and found it incredible. Highly recommend to spend an entire day and do some hiking.Rooms are quite cold although you are provided with a gas heater.
Visit Todra Gorge and stay in festival!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank camayago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston-Salem, NC
Level Contributor
251 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

For us, Auberge le Festival disappointed. The location is stunning. The auberge is very attractive and blends well with the natural environment. Though small, our tower rooms were also attractively done. The rooms were extremely cold. The gas heater in one room would not stay lit and we were advised to turn off the heater in the other room upon retiring. So, it was ridiculously cold and uncomfortable despite sleeping in multiple layers of clothing and heaping on the one extra blanket. Thankfully, there was hot water in the shower. Dinner was very good though served in a perfunctory manner without any beverage at all provided. Breakfast was fine. Most disappointing was the indifference of staff. Unlike anywhere else in Morocco, there was no word (more less tea) of welcome, no offer of assistance with bags, no warmth whatsoever.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NCtravelerWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Nice place directly after the Todhra Gorge on the way to Tamtatouche

Great place/ location, nice rooms, very friendly staff and excellent service
The dinner was excellent, the breakfast (except for Nescafe) was very good as well.
But especially the extremely friendly and open people working there made our stay very special!

It is definitly the best place in that region and I'd definitly recommend it.

Room Tip: We hat a tower room and that one was very nice; I liked it a lot!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kloea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tinerhir
23.3 mi away
Chez Pierre
Chez Pierre
#1 of 6 in Boumalne Dades
5.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
17.1 mi away
Riad Timadrouine
Riad Timadrouine
#1 of 13 in Tinerhir
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Tomboctou
Hotel Tomboctou
#2 of 13 in Tinerhir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Amazir
Hotel Amazir
#3 of 13 in Tinerhir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Lamrani
Hotel Kasbah Lamrani
#5 of 13 in Tinerhir
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
5.1 mi away
Maison d'Hote Panorama Todra Tinehir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge le Festival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge le Festival

Property: Auberge le Festival
Address: Tinerhir, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Tinerhir
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Tinerhir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Auberge le Festival reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Le Festival Hotel Tinerhir
Auberge Le Festival Morocco/Tinerhir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing