We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suitable for a stop-over”
Review of Canyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canyon Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Keetmanshoop
Windhoek
Level Contributor
125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Suitable for a stop-over”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This hotel has been part of the town of Keetmanshoop for many years. It has seen better days, but the staff is very friendly (typical Namibian hospitality), the rooms are clean and the rates very reasonable. Ensure you get a room with a functional A/C during summer. A tip for travelers or over-landers: you can rent a lockable garage at the hotel to store your off-road trailer or vehicle overnight (N$ 50 a unit!). The breakfast, which is included in the room rate, is decent and perfect to ensure you tackle the next leg of your trip.

Room Tip: Do not bother with a room with a view, they are all the same (no view). But consider renting a lock...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desmond v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    9
    17
    9
    2
See reviews for
6
11
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
152 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The hotel has seen better days with some external re-painting and some basic minor maintenance in the room needed (e.g. re-sealing small gaps between the vanity and wall), but the staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The room I had also had a large sitting room which gave extra space if needed. The food in the restaurant is very good and the staff are attentive to needs. The hotel is good value for money.
This is a good stopping off point if travelling into South Africa as it is located only a couple of hundred kilometres from the Noordoewer/Vioolsdrift border crossing. Means you can leave relaxed in the morning without worrying about travelling extra distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheetahgirlBris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stopped in Keetmans for a break between Luderitz and Windhoek. The location was good as was the food in the restaurant and staff were friendly. The wifi did not work and the rooms were dated. if making the trip again I'd use Mariental as a stop-over point instead. The pool was filthy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The room was a decent size and clean, but it was a little gloomy with poor natural light. The furnishing and carpets in the common areas have seen better days as well but, to be fair, the price was an accurate reflection of the appointments and there was good quality Wi-Fi for no charge. We had both lunch and dinner in the open (but shaded) courtyard at the rear of the hotel which was particularly pleasant on the balmy evening we were there. The food choice was quite extensive but food quality more functional than memorable. The service, however, was very good, delivered by a young enthusiastic team.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FulmerJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here twice on our trip, and both times were good. Easy to find, quick checkin, clean comfortable rooms with great showers, free wifi in the lobby (surprise!), good food at the hotel restaurant and good breakfast the next morning. Typical 3 star place, but for an overnight stay this is perfect. You don't really need anything more. We'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarmaTraveller28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012 via mobile

Absolutely massive double room with a separate lounge and two televisions ! Obviously in need of a 'brightening' but great stopover twixt Luderitz and Springbok or Windhoek. Good table d'hote dinner with five choices of main course. Slept very well. Breakfast also good with plenty of fresh fruit. Would definitely use again.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AviationSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midrand, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

wow, absolutely wonderful, a cosy home away from home, it might not look that good on the outside, but when you walk in the customer service, food and people we simply top rated. we were taken care of like you would in a 5star hotel. thank you Canyon Hotel for making our last leg of our journey back to SA an awesome one;-)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keetmanshoop hotels
0.3 mi away
Seeheim Hotel Namibia
Seeheim Hotel Namibia
#4 of 12 in Keetmanshoop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Schutzenhaus Guesthouse
Schutzenhaus Guesthouse
#8 of 12 in Keetmanshoop
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alte Kalkofen Lodge
Alte Kalkofen Lodge
#1 of 12 in Keetmanshoop
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
AmBesten Guesthouse
AmBesten Guesthouse
#7 of 12 in Keetmanshoop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Torgos Safari Lodge
Torgos Safari Lodge
#3 of 7 in Keetmanshoop
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quiver Inn Guesthouse
Quiver Inn Guesthouse
#4 of 7 in Keetmanshoop
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Hotel

Property: Canyon Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 950 Keetmanshoop, Keetmanshoop, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Central Plateau > Keetmanshoop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Keetmanshoop
Hotel Class:3 star — Canyon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Canyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing