We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Obudu Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
8
18
12
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
18
12
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater parkcable cargreat placecanopy walkserene environmentlove naturenature reservelovely experienceairranchcloudsweathervillanigeriachristmashillcars
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Obudu Cattle Resort is a must visit site, really breathtaking and the challenge to get to the resort is really worth it. If you cannot get the NEMA chopper to land you on top of the moutain like No1, get a car from AVIS or better still brace up for a road trip and exprience the devils' elbow on you ascent to Obudu Cattle Ranch,

Cable car, canopy walk, golf course, breathtaking beautiful views. A minimum of three days is required to make it worth your while and it would help if you went as a group in the off season, except monastic life appeals to you.

Protea has been replaced and left a difficulty act for the new hotel mangament to measure up to.Before I forget, it is the perfect boot camp location with sporting facilities and nature tracks.

Room Tip: Stay in the mountain villas and come prepared to make some meals there is a local market up hill, I understand the president villa is also available
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samozalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Beautiful place, well run, mountain villas very high specification. Only small criticism is non accepting credit cards but there is a cash machine on site. A must for any Nigeria trip. Would recommend trying to arrive by daylight which would involve staying a night in calabar on the way in to get benefit of road / cable car up to ranch.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
6  Thank Oenophilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We visited with another couple for a long weekend at the end of July. It's not an easy place to get to. We flew from Lagos to Enugu where our driver met us and then drove 5 hours on rough roads to Obudu. It was rainy season and as we got closer to the resort and higher in altitude the fog was extremely thick. In early afternoon by the time we arrived the resort was completely clouded in fog and it was rather chilly (16 degrees). We stayed in a Royal Suite so we could have 2 separate bedrooms with a lounge area to hang out with the other couple. It had a fireplace which turned out to be much needed in the chilly evenings. The accommodations were nothing special and pretty dated, but we were comfortable and happy to have a fireplace. We did visit the Mountain Villas before we left and agreed we would definitely stay in one of those if we came back. They are rather new and very well done, all done in pine, with 3 bedrooms and a great balcony patio that would have a beautiful view outside of the foggy rainy season. Would be perfect to share with 2 other couples.

The resort has a lot of activities, but we didn't see the golf course (reception said it was under repair) and the putt putt course looked to be put away for the season. There are several hikes that can be arranged with a guide, but also a few that you can do on your own. Reception told us that there were a few 'independent' guides on the resort, but they prefer that we use one of theres. We found this out the hard way as we decided to stroll around the resort on our own soon after we arrived. We were hounded by one 'independent' after another wanting to take us on a hike - these guys really just looked like random local boys looking to make a buck. It was rather uncomfortable and we were surprised the resort allowed such a thing. After shooing them all away, we strolled around on our own, wandering through the African Huts (wouldn't stay in those - appeared in poor condition and prone to leaking with all the rain), up around the Mountain Villas and up to the Presidential Villa by which time the fog had cleared and we were able to get glimpses of the incredible views from the top of the plateau. We did the canopy walk (short but nice), took the cable car (a must do!) and ran from the bottom of the mountain back up, following the Obudu Mountain Race course (a must for runners).

The food was average, but there were both continental and Nigerian options. We chose to bring some wine along and were glad we did. No problems bringing our own bottle to dinner with us. The website mentions 5 different restaurants, but there were very few guests in the rainy season (the first night it seemed like we were the only guests) so there was only one restaurant open.

The pool was the highlight. Unfortunately since it was chilly, we didn't get to use it, but it really is beautiful - all stainless steel, with a few small water slides and a bbq area. We decided we'd love to come back in another season, enjoy the water park and stay in one of the mountain chalets. All in all - beautiful scenery, peace & quiet & definitely our favorite weekend trip so far in Nigeria.

Room Tip: In the rainy season - choose a chalet with a fireplace. Outside the rainy season - the mountain villas are beautiful and have a great patio with a view.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bec-n-rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Ok, this is not the easiest place to get to but well worth the trip! Several new facilities and improvements are now in place since I was here about 5 yrs ago. The 9 hole golf course was terribly exciting and challenging! The weather is beautiful and can get quite temperate in the evenings and early mornings. You'll notice there are heaters in the rooms rather than air conditioners. If you're a nature lover then this is the place for you! Go hiking to the Holy mountain or do the canopy walk, see the monkey sanctuary and take a walk to the natural springs and enjoy a modern water parks. Rent a bicycle to see more of the locality. Do the drive up the mountain only one, not sure your heart will take much more than that. I'm sure you'd have heard all about Africa's longest cable car so I won't even mention that! I once met a paraglider out there, the views from every angle are just breadthtaking!

The activities more than the service personnel impressed me.mpersonnelmover the phone were not very alert. I almost got the impression they didn't want visitors. The resort was first run by the State Government, then Protea and now is part of the African Sun group. One way or the other they need to sort out access to the resort. Not many people will tolerate a 6 hour drive from the State capital Calabar.

Again a great place if you love the outdoors, don't expect a crowd, just the way I like it!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, slash out on a mountain lodge.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarix02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

This resort is located in a place of outstanding beauty, high in the mountains on the Cameroonian border. As a conference center, it is extremely well-furbished, the type of place one would use to create national plans -- tranquil, serene and definitely worlds away from the fray of Lagos or Abuja. I would happily return with my family or friends. In general terms, the facilities are well-maintained, but will require vigilance to keep its standards high. The food was OK, but not exceptional by international standards. It is definitely off the beaten track, and requires lengthy road travel to reach (8-10 hours from Abuja by 4WD; road condition generally good)

Room Tip: I stayed in a standard room and it was quite decent. Only thing missing was a desk (which I might not need on a vacation). Generator runs from 6-12 pm and 6-10 am.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brenlang_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews