We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel like family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Schulte's Family Lodge
Gloversville, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Feel like family”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had made a last minute decision to join some friends in Lake Placid for the long weekend. We have been to Lake Placid many many times, but had never stayed here. (Usually stay at a premium hotel on Main St.) Our friends chose the Schulte's Family Lodge and we were able to get a room as a result of a cancellation. I was wary of what to expect because the reservation process seemed a bit "weird", but I was pleasantly surprised. The Schulte's family owns the hotel/motel and have for approximately 35 years and from the moment we checked in with Brigit Schulte, you felt like you were staying with friends. Brigit and her husband, Rolf, are originally from Germany and are very welcoming and hospitable. The room itself is very basic and simple, it had a slight musty smell, but nothing that was too bothersome. The beds were comfy and the room had a microwave and small refrigerator which came in handy. The continental breakfast was available and consisted of apples, bananas, danish, donuts, english muffins, jam, coffee, tea and/or cocoa. I'm fussy with my food, so we did bring our own bread and peanut butter, but enjoyed the coffee and fruit. Rolf was at breakfast each morning and chatted with us. He is an excellent photographer and shared some of his photos and travel stories with us, including their memories of the 1980 Olympics that were held in Lake Placid. He owns a gallery up the street which we visited as well- beautiful work! I will definitely stay here again and would like to see it in the summer. If you're looking for a good value, with friendly owners/hosts and don't mind a simple European feel, then give it a try. If you must have luxury and modern accomodations, this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    6
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
9
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
provincetown
Level Contributor
64 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We recently traveled through Lake Placid on our way across the country. I loved the German look of the place and we decided to stay. We asked about hiking locally and the owner who checked us in gave us a great recommendation to hike Mt. JO which was a great hike. We were only going to stay in town 1 day but decided to stay another night. The continental breakfast was Ok, but everything else was great about Schulte's. She also made great dinner recommendations. I would recommend going to Liquids and Solids right down the street. Great Stay, thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrx2ndregime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Whenever I go to Lake Placid ( which is at least 5 times a year) I stay at Schulte's. Do not expect " luxury" but do expect good value. The innkeepers are very friendly and there always seems to be some special on, with the average price for 2 people being around $70. This is certainly reasonable for what you get: a nice big, clean room with a balcony, 2 very comfortable double beds and a continental breakfast which, while not being overly nutritious, provides a good to start to the day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The place is quite good if the weather outside is nice,
you may take care of yourself (don't even think about continental breakfast
or room service), and you pay cash (don't give Mrs. Schutes you credit card
information - she may impose unreasonable non-negotiated charges).

Room Tip: Don't stay at this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Placid hotels

Sparta, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

We were fortunate enough to get one of their one bedroom cabins for the long NYE weekend and it was excellent! The wood burning stove kept us cozy, we put the full kitchen to use and were able to fit our big group of friends at their giant dining room table for a fun home cooked meal. We were up and out at the crack of dawn every morning but the friendly couple was there with hot coffee and delicious food to offer local advice and see us off. They also have a beautiful orange tabby that added to the coziness and helped damper how much we missed our own animals! The price was extremely reasonable for everything we got, and we are literally battling with other members of our ski group to score the cabin for future visits. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Kara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We stayed for a few nights at this family owned lodge at the beginning of June. It was a very reasonable price for the room we stayed in (~$60 per night, with one night free). The room had a small fridge; we also asked for a microwave which was provided at no extra cost. The free continental breakfast consisted of apples, packaged donuts and cake. Unfortunately, the wi-fi kept dropping. It certainly went away during a heavy rain storm!

However, though the place is located just along highway 73, along the marathon route (and Ironman bike/run routes)...I'd prefer to spend a few more dollars down the street for a less of a rustic feeling and to have my own room key (I had to ask the property managers to unlock the door each time I needed into the room as my friend had the only key).

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wand3rlust74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Orion, Michigan
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2011

The booking process seems a little odd, but our reservation was fine. The family that owns this place is very nice and will try to get you anything you need (even a couple tlbs of butter). The cabins are rustic, but have everything you need. We stayed here for Ironman Lake Placid with another family and had a great time. we stayed in cabin "Oak 2" which has 3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, kitchen and dinner area. The kitchen is small and we wish there would have been a living room area, but the front porch served as that for us. The pool was great for the kids and the location to town was great. For Ironman the course passes by 5/6 times.

The biggest parts we found were to be disappointing was that we were told there was s full fridge and it was small and if it's hot you'd better hop you have a fan or two. Other than that can't complain. It was VERY reasonably priced for that weekend especially. We fit 4 adults and 4 children into this cabin. The only times it seems tight were while cooking dinner.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MomDad2toddlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1.2 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#17 of 31 in Lake Placid
5 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
#28 of 31 in Lake Placid
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,248 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
1.6 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#25 of 31 in Lake Placid
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schulte's Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schulte's Family Lodge

Property: Schulte's Family Lodge
Address: Cascade Road, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Schulte's Family Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Schulte's Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schulte`s Family Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing