We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LOCATION, COMFORTABLE, GREAT STAY”
Review of High Peaks Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
High Peaks Resort
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, NY
Level 6 Contributor
405 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION, COMFORTABLE, GREAT STAY”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We used to stay at another top notch place in town, but at the prices you paid, you got nothing for it (not even coffee in your room in the morning) and you felt like you were in a stuffy enclave vs. a friendly resort. Since we have switched to the High Peaks, we have stayed about a dozen times and every time is wonderful. The beds are comfortable, the staff friendly (especially Heidi Stone), the amenities more than the old worn out resort we USED to stay at. The rooms are also bigger than just about anyplace else in Lake Placid so you really do feel at home when there. The restaurant downstairs is great and during the summer - please visit the outdoor bar located above the restaurant on the 2nd floor - great time, a chance to meet many people as this bar is typically tourists & out-of-towners vs. regulars who are mostly downstairs in the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank STEBAY711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    726
    399
    106
    32
    29
See reviews for
392
578
21
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Goshen, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

High Peaks was the perfect hotel for first time visitors.We could walk to town and see the sights with ease; plus we had the perfect seats for July 4th fireworks and parade!The staff did their best & moved us to a room with a better view (even though I booked in March)after one night.Very clean with well appointed rooms (our t.v. did not work the last night) and free parking was a nice bonus.The pool was great but we did not have a chance to see the spa/indoor pool so I cannot comment on their conditions. The fridge did not work well in the first room, but the furniture, couch and beds were all very nice. Bathroom is beautifully done and amply sized. Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lildebbie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This was our first time staying here and found the location to be a great advantage. The room was nice clean and had a great view. Another plus was the ability to bring your dog with you. Minor design flaw with the bathroom door and closet door they collide. Staff was pleasant and the access to parking was helpful also. Did lower the cleanliness because at the conclusion of the stay we noticed one of the pillows was terribly stained and nauseating. Too late to ask for another pillow since we were on our way out.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerpadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

High Peaks was a wonderful place to stay for a couple of days. We were impressed with the waterfront pool and overall facilities. We especially enjoyed the paddle boats. The fitness room had towels, H2O and earphones available. The Dancing Bears' Patio bar was a great place for a nightcap. The restaurant was excellent The room was clean & the shower was a high light. The view from our room was awesome. We would definitely return to this resort

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paiger3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This has everything you would like in a resort: Great location (by the lake), awesome views, proximity to shops/restaurants, great facilities - like 2-3 swimming pools, fitness centre, free kayaks and boats for hotel guests (this was the best part as some boat companies there were charging like $25 an hour per person!)...and all this at reasonable prices (if you book 30 days in advance, you get great deals). I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anupama82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at High Peaks Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your High Peaks Experience!! The free kayaks and paddle boats are a great way to view Lake Placid from the clear waters of Mirror Lake.
We look forward to your next visit, thank you for sharing your experience with us.
Best Regards,
Don Reaser
General Manager
High Peaks Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

High Peaks was a wonderful place to stay for a week long vacation for two. The staff was friendly and offered to move our room for a better view. The rooms were nice, well appointed, and the hotel was in a great location with easy parking. The restaurant was good, with an excellent patio on nice evenings. I would easily recommend this resort as one of the best places to stay in Lake Placid, especially for the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, NY
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Was at this resort for a wedding and everything was perfect. The room, the staff, the ambience. Loved the shower!! It's so centrally located that you can walk everywhere. The Dancing Bears lounge was tops as well. The outside bar made you feel like a celebrity. Great time.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanita36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,287 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.3 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.3 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
212 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#16 of 31 in Lake Placid
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Peaks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Resort

Property: High Peaks Resort
Address: 2384 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3377
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — High Peaks Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the shores of Mirror Lake and conveniently located on Main Street, High Peaks Resort is a modern Adirondack retreat. Guests enjoy magnificent views & direct access to all the opportunities the High Peaks region has to offer, not to mention a rejuvenating full-service spa and unique dining options including the world-famous Dancing Bears Restaurant, Lake Placid's Celebration Destination and Outdoors at Dancing Bears, which boasts Lake Placid's most stunning outdoor patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your High Peaks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Peaks Hotel Lake Placid
High Peaks Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing