We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rcg feast of trbernacles”
Review of High Peaks Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
High Peaks Resort
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I was staying at your hotel for 10 days and everything was just great from the view in my room (219) to the helpfulness of the staff and the upkeep of my room..Your staff and the beauty of the area makes this a stay that I will remember all my life.I hope to return next year and will stay in your wonderful hotel ansd will request the same room..hope to see you then ..Mr Bledsoe

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,314)
There are newer reviews for High Peaks Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

792 - 798 of 1,314 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

Very nice hotel with excellent customer service at the front desk. Great proximity to Main Street in Lake Placid. We paid a little extra to have a view of Mirror Lake, 3rd floor. The common area is really nice, there was a fireplace and very comfortable seating. The hotel had a few different ways to access the outdoors which we thought was convenient. The bathroom we thought could have used a little more attention to detail for the price we paid to stay there. We noticed mold growing on the stone in the shower as well as the shower handle, otherwise would have been 5 stars.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUGARPEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed three nights, was in a great location a the end of Main Street. It was really nice not to have to drive/park when using Main Street.

The rooms were updated, large, clean, and the staff was great. The higher floor you get, the better the view of Mirror Lake. It appeared that each room had a step out balcony.

They are connected with the Dancing Bear Restaurant, which is a "sports pub". If you want fine dinning go elsewhere, but we enjoyed it. Watched some Saturday football, and had a few beers. We had no problem with the food, noise, or service.

Great place to stay at the main lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoBlue2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Great hotel with fine accomodations right downtown and easy walking distance. We would take a pass on dining/eating in the Dancing Bears restaurant on the main floor. Some what of a pub style, terrible food and service. Noisy. I think they prefer catering to the loud crowd.

Rack of ribs was so large two slabs of pork that must of come from a large old sow drowned in BBQ sauce sitting on top of fries. Had to ask 3 times for the cole slaw. Left 90% of it.

My wife had trout drowned in oil. No need to ruin a great fish.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kersh3334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We're arrived in Lake Placid in a very raining day, but once inside the reception the waiter make me happy with his fine smile.
We're checked in a fantastic suite room with a over king size bed, a microwave oven, a freezing machine, a fantastic and large sofa, a very convenient chaise-longue....wow
I havenr seen a bathroom like this in a house and not even in a hotel, with a large shower, two sinks, a jacuzzi service and a tv hanging on the wall over the wc.
Everythong was perfect even the guy who turned off the fire alarm that i had made from doing some popcorn.
I have a beautiful memory of this little paradise.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mouktafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our weekend getaway. We did book a lakeside room. Outside the room were rose petals on the ground to give you the romantic feeling.

The room was almost perfect, very spacious bed was comfortable, the bathroom was big with a separate stand up shower and a large jacuzzi tub. It was really a beautiful room with breath taking views and perfect for a romantic getaway. The only thing I didn't like about our room was the toilet was really loud when filling up and took forever to fill up.

Check in was easy and although we were really early luckily enough our room was ready for us.

There are some pros and cons to having the lakeside view rooms.

Pros: Better view, quieter, more romantic.

Cons: If you want to go to the indoor pool it's in the main building, which isn't too much of a problem because the day we went it wasn't too cold out but I could see this being an issue if we brought the kids and/or if it was cold out.

No coffee service, or morning paper. I was actually a little surprised about this. I am an early bird and usually wake up super early. I would have loved to grab the paper and read it on the chairs outside looking the lake. There are coffee makers in the room but my husband didn't like the wolf gang puck coffee and I don't drink coffee (there wasn't a tea selection either). Given that you have to have a key to get into the building it would be a great idea to have a small spot down there where the daily paper is delivered and maybe some other tourist magazines are with fresh coffee/tea and maybe some bagels or donuts for those of us that are staying down there.

Another recommendation would also be fire pits. Since we visited in September at night it got a little chilly, I nice outdoor fire pit would have taken some of the chill away and added to the ambiance a lot.

All in all we were very happy with our stay and would recommend staying here, I just think the place needs a few improvements to really make it stand out from a regular hotel. I would also encourage the front desk to be more chatty... the individual who checked us in didn't really tell us about any of the extras that the hotel offers or anything around town. I really like it when I check into a place and they are enthused that you are there and want to tell you all about the hotel and the town. It really helps set the tone for the weekend for me.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kbz2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

While AAA rates this hotel as three stars, my first impression was that this might be the same quality as a four star resort. My room at this hotel was exceptionally well decorated, the bathroom was spacious and had a separate tub and extra large shower. But, during our four night stay, we discovered the room had some maintenance flaws, the faucet in sink made it almost impossible to wash your face, and daily maid service was spotty and inconsistent. Also, the food quality at breakfast was good but could be better. The restaurant felt more like a upscale coffee shop. All these things could be easily fixed and doing so would move the High Peaks closer to a four star AAA rating.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RiversideBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at High Peaks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear RiversideBob:
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We appreciate your feedback on the concerns you had and will review with the appropriate departments. Hope to have you back again in the future.
Sincerely,
Bob Trotter
General Manager
High Peaks Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,307 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.3 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
222 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
1.5 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Peaks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Resort

Address: 2384 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3377
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range: £112 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — High Peaks Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the shores of Mirror Lake and conveniently located on Main Street, High Peaks Resort is a modern Adirondack retreat. Guests enjoy magnificent views & direct access to all the opportunities the High Peaks region has to offer, not to mention a rejuvenating full-service spa and unique dining options including the world-famous Dancing Bears Restaurant, Lake Placid's Celebration Destination and Outdoors at Dancing Bears, which boasts Lake Placid's most stunning outdoor patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your High Peaks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Peaks Hotel Lake Placid
High Peaks Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing