We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of High Peaks Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
High Peaks Resort
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Depew, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Came to lake Placid for leaf peeping and Octoberfest. Excellent view from room and friendly staff, reservations worked hard to get me the room I wanted. This is the 4th stay @ The High Peaks and will be back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drthornton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    386
    100
    31
    29
See reviews for
376
551
21
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

Everything was just great
The accomodation, the staff, the feeling. Absolutly a place ti stay next time.
We came to selebrate our honeymoon. Originaly we ordered just one night in order to keep going on the next day.
Because of all the above, we decided to extend our stay.
Of course we enjoyed very much.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Galyossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
226 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We were traveling with a group of people so we got to see some of the different rooms that this place has to offer. High Peaks Resort actually has three different buildings and the room quality varies greatly. The waterfont rooms are spacious and large. We stayed in their Lakeview Motor Inn and the building was dated, the room was small, the bath was even smaller and the sleep quality of the bed was not the greatest. The room was far from a spacious over-sized room with double queen beds as indicated on their website. Plus the room rate was very expensive for what we got for our money. The lobby/reception area of the main building is nice and they have a central fireplace plus a small bar. There are some chairs on either side of the fireplace and a large TV close to the bar. The hotel staff really went out of their way and made a very special effort to make our event most memorable. The hotel location was very good. I have stayed in a lot of hotels that were a lot nicer than the High Peaks Resort's Lakeview Motor Inn but the staff is excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GuitarPlayer2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, New York, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I booked a king room for a romantic evening. We get to the room on the second floor and the view is the back of the other part of the hotel. There are beautiful mountains and a gorgeous lake but our view was the building. We close the curtains and go out to see the sites and have dinner. We get back later that night and I notice that there is blood on one of the pillow cases, I look closer and there is hair. I turn down the sheets and they are not clean. It is late and we don't fool around with housekeeping, who has probably left. My husband goes to the car gets a blanket and we sleep in it. I emailed the hotel the next day, and have yet to get a response from them.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Likestotravel1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finger Lakes, NY
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We like this hotel, it is centrally located on the main corners of town with free access to the boats (ocean kayaks, paddleboats, rowboat - no canoe). The tough thing is choosing a room. I would imagine your experience changes based on the various room locations which I will try to explain as best I can. There are 3 buildings: the main building, the lake shore building and the lake building. We chose the main building. Our room has a lovely hotel with an cool rock lined shower and 2 shower heads. The door to the bath is a bit odd, a slider which blocks the closet door, but no biggie. It is a bit on the small side for our family of four, but not too small. We have a lovely balcony, big enough for a couple and our kids floating around. If you look straight out, you see the pool but this hall is set well where if you look to the right, you have a lovely view (which you can see comfortably from your balcony seats) of the lake and mountains. We are on 3rd floor. The main building has a smallish but adequate indoor pool for kids (not for laps) a hot tub - on 4th floor. There is also a good -sized outdoor pool. I understand that the lakeview building also has an indoor pool but the lakefront building has only and outdoor pool and, of course, the lake access for swimming and boating (which is open to all). Beds were good, mattresses had some odd spots where the edges were starting to fail but still fairly comfortable. It is clean and very nice upscale feel to it. Nice lobby with a great fireplace. I would recommend this hotel, if you are looking to be in the middle of it all and don't have to have a perfect view room because they can't guarantee it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

I was staying at your hotel for 10 days and everything was just great from the view in my room (219) to the helpfulness of the staff and the upkeep of my room..Your staff and the beauty of the area makes this a stay that I will remember all my life.I hope to return next year and will stay in your wonderful hotel ansd will request the same room..hope to see you then ..Mr Bledsoe

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robert b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Very nice hotel with excellent customer service at the front desk. Great proximity to Main Street in Lake Placid. We paid a little extra to have a view of Mirror Lake, 3rd floor. The common area is really nice, there was a fireplace and very comfortable seating. The hotel had a few different ways to access the outdoors which we thought was convenient. The bathroom we thought could have used a little more attention to detail for the price we paid to stay there. We noticed mold growing on the stone in the shower as well as the shower handle, otherwise would have been 5 stars.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SUGARPEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 30 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.3 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 30 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Lake Placid
Courtyard Lake Placid
#10 of 30 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 30 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Peaks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Resort

Property: High Peaks Resort
Address: 2384 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3377
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — High Peaks Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the shores of Mirror Lake and conveniently located on Main Street, High Peaks Resort is a modern Adirondack retreat. Guests enjoy magnificent views & direct access to all the opportunities the High Peaks region has to offer, not to mention a rejuvenating full-service spa and unique dining options including the world-famous Dancing Bears Restaurant, Lake Placid's Celebration Destination and Outdoors at Dancing Bears, which boasts Lake Placid's most stunning outdoor patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your High Peaks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Peaks Hotel Lake Placid
High Peaks Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing