We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing Stay”
Review of High Peaks Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
High Peaks Resort
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The hotel is beautiful, has a great location, and very attentive staff! High Peaks is walking distance to all the shops and restaurants on the main street, which is fantastic. We arrived on a Friday, and left our car parked in the lot until we departed Sunday afternoon! The rooms were great - the beds in the hotel room were SUPER comfortable, and the shower featured a "rain" style shower head, as well as volume control for the TV so you can listen to the news or a TV show while you're getting ready in the morning. The hotel food at a catered event was delicious, and the meeting space was beautiful, with fantastic views of the surrounding mountains. The lobby has a very welcoming feel, with a bar, fireplace, and comfortable seating. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMS1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

817 - 823 of 1,360 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here Dec 6-9 for the Holiday Village Stroll weekend. Loved it. We had a room on the 3rd floor overlooking the outdoor pool area, Main St, Mirror Lake and the High Peaks in the distance. Great views.

The room was very nice. Bed and pillows were awesome. Really nice bathroom and shower with a dual head "rain" shower.

The lobby is beautiful with a lot of wood and stone and a roaring fire going 24/7. There is a nice lobby bar where you can get a drink in the evening and hang by the fire.

Enjoyed the indoor pool and whirlpool.

Spent a lot of time in the Dancing Bears restaurant / bar. We love it there.

We've been coming to LP for almost 20 years. This is definitely one of the nicest places to stay in town.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Lizzard77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The hotel was beautiful and room was very nice. We stayed two nights. First night was wonderful, quiet and peaceful. Second night our floor turned into a playground. Several rooms were taken up by families and it was total chaos. We called the front desk and asked for some one to take care of the problem but that did not happen for the noise and yelling and running and doors slaming continued till 10:30 that night. I did complain again at checkout and was asked what did I want them to do to compensate us for the problem, they did give us our breakfast comped. I was really disappointed by there lack of response that night.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here in late October for 4 nights and were delighted with the stay. The hotel has great rooms - very big, comfortable and well-appointed. The staff were great to deal with and the hotel's lobby and facilities are top notch. This is one of the few full-size hotels right in town. The location is perfect right at the corner of the main town intersection by Main Street. There is covered parking and lots of stuff within walking distance.

Given that we were here in the "off-season" between summer and winter high seasons, I will caveat our experience as the hotel was almost empty. There are two things that we noticed though; 1) we found noise in the hallways was very loud in the rooms, so don't expect silence, and 2) the food in the hotel is average - room service breakfast was a disappointment.

Otherwise, I would totally recommend this hotel to people staying in Lake Placid.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We booked this from Toronto. We booked a 2 day fall package which included a $75 voucher as well as breakfast for 2 both days. Very friendly staff and totally helpful. We got there late in the day after a spectacular drive from New York. The lobby of the hotel is really nice. lots of stone and wood with a beautiful 2 sided fireplace right next to a bar in the lobby. Totally comfortable and relaxing environment.

We had a beautiful room on the 5th floor with a spectacular view of mirror lake and the mountains. It had a balcony and a fridge and 2 queen beds. the bathroom was amazing - best bathroom I have seen in a hotel room. Nice walk in shower with rainforest shower head.

The dancing bears restaurant was good. Service was excellent and food good.

Highly recommend the hotel for the price and location with a view.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YOURFUNNYGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My husband and I needed a few days to rest and relax. We decided to head up to Lake Placid and chose this hotel. So glad we decided to stay here. The High Peaks was extremely clean and cozy. We were not thrilled with the view ( rooftop air conditioners) of our first room so they happily moved us to a room with mountain view and it was great. There was a beautiful gathering area with a fireplace in the lobby that we really enjoyed for morning coffee and drinks before heading out to dinner. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Dancing Bears (restaurant on site) had great food and friendly service. We will return for sure. Excellent location to walk everywhere in town.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tuck7_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 25th anniversary. We opted for one of the packages which included a 75.00 credit. It was useful for the facial I had at their Elements Spa -with Amanda (5 star). When we arrived to our room we were greeted with champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. Nice touch! Our room was fine had all amenities including white terry cloth robe and slippers. The location was in the lodge itself there are 2 other buildings.
We were in room 401 which had a view of Lake Placid rooftop from the building next to us was a bit of a distraction. The room was right next to the elevator and parking lot-very convenient!
We had one dinner and breakfast there (called Dancing Bear) (breakfast was included in the pkge.) We are not big breakfast eaters (coffee and toast mainly) so I think we did not maximize our meal there. We had a salad one night.

We ate out one night at a recommended place Caffe Rustica (Italian) it was delicious! I had fresh grilled salmon, and hubby had a pizza. Reservations recommended. We did not have reservations and had a 20 min wait.

Last plus is the location of High Peaks is centrally located-it is in the downtown area. One just has to walk outside to stroll the shops.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tay52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 32 in Lake Placid
1,345 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.3 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#14 of 32 in Lake Placid
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
1 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#15 of 32 in Lake Placid
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Peaks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Resort

Address: 2384 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3377
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range: £94 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — High Peaks Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the shores of Mirror Lake and conveniently located on Main Street, High Peaks Resort is a modern Adirondack retreat. Guests enjoy magnificent views & direct access to all the opportunities the High Peaks region has to offer, not to mention a rejuvenating full-service spa and unique dining options including the world-famous Dancing Bears Restaurant, Lake Placid's Celebration Destination and Outdoors at Dancing Bears, which boasts Lake Placid's most stunning outdoor patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your High Peaks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Peaks Hotel Lake Placid
High Peaks Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing