We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of High Peaks Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
High Peaks Resort
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We enjoyed staying at this hotel very much. We stayed three nights over Christmas week and skied up at Whiteface. The rooms are nicely appointed, have comfortable beds and very clean bathrooms. Their eucalyptus products were a nice touch after a long day of skiing. The pool and hot tub were okay. The smell of chlorine was a bit overwhelming but given how many people use it I suppose it is necessary. The indoor pool area was not a highlight for us. We appreciated the roaring fire in the lobby and its accompanying bar. The dancing bear was convenient and good for breakfast. The staff were all friendly. The hotel is also conveniently located on the main road so you can walk to the restaurants and stores. The view of the lake is great but it definitely depends on where your room is situated. We will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank isnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    386
    100
    31
    29
See reviews for
376
551
21
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Very friendly staff. beautiful room spacious and spotless.got a real crib for baby which was great not a pack n play like other hotels. stayed across the street from the main building right on the lake . Awesome view very relaxing! free kayaks and paddle boats. pool was clean but not very big. would definitely stay here again .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6032mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
179 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Two weekends before Christmas and temperatures near zero (during the day) and snow! Received a nice deal from the hotel that included breakfast for 2 each morning and a room right on Mirror Lake. It's across the street from the main building but worth the 100 yard walk. Beautiful view of Mirror Lake and the mountains. Cross country skiers and a dog sled going right by your room window! The room was just perfect and clean. Nice flat screen, refrigerator and beautiful bathroom. This resort is right where you want to be with all the stores, restaurants and pubs within walking distance. The Dacning Bears was great for a drink or breakfast. We even had dinner their night number one. Service is good and the food tasty!. This is definitely a spot that if they had a last minute room deal just to fill the space we would make the trip from Albany. High Peaks is turning into one of our favorites.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 14alnjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

This was our 2nd annual winter stay and we will be making this a yearly pre Christmas family event. Perfect location, excellent value for money (look for a deal) Our 2 x 2 bedded rooms were spacious and well appointed and come with quality amenities. Super comfy beds, very clean, bathrooms fabulous with modern spacious step in rain showers, love the brick walls. We spend so much of our time sitting in the beautifully decorated lobby, around the open fire. The atmosphere is very relaxing, order a glass of wine from the on-site restaurant, get hot chocolate & cookies for the kids (complimentary)and enjoy them by the fireside. We also made good use of the facilities available, pool, hot tub and gym and the on-site restaurant also delivered room service. We are making memories at High Peaks I hope you get the chance to do so too !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bateson49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooperstown, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

We recently travelled to Lake Placid for a business trip and tacked on an extra day for pleasure. We stayed at the High Peaks Resort and everything was fantastic! The location of the resort is perfect, within walking distance to most shops and restaraunts. The staff was always friendly and courteous regardless of what was being thrown their way. My wife took advantage of the spa and said her massage was one of the best she has EVER had. I took advantage of the lobby fireplace to warm up after walking main street and stimulating the local economy. Our room was well appointed, clean and offered a great view of the lake. The shower and toiletries were all excellent too. All in all, it had been too long since our last visit, but after staying at High Peaks, we will be sure to be back sooner rather than later.....maybe in the summertime?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

The hotel is beautiful, has a great location, and very attentive staff! High Peaks is walking distance to all the shops and restaurants on the main street, which is fantastic. We arrived on a Friday, and left our car parked in the lot until we departed Sunday afternoon! The rooms were great - the beds in the hotel room were SUPER comfortable, and the shower featured a "rain" style shower head, as well as volume control for the TV so you can listen to the news or a TV show while you're getting ready in the morning. The hotel food at a catered event was delicious, and the meeting space was beautiful, with fantastic views of the surrounding mountains. The lobby has a very welcoming feel, with a bar, fireplace, and comfortable seating. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMS1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here Dec 6-9 for the Holiday Village Stroll weekend. Loved it. We had a room on the 3rd floor overlooking the outdoor pool area, Main St, Mirror Lake and the High Peaks in the distance. Great views.

The room was very nice. Bed and pillows were awesome. Really nice bathroom and shower with a dual head "rain" shower.

The lobby is beautiful with a lot of wood and stone and a roaring fire going 24/7. There is a nice lobby bar where you can get a drink in the evening and hang by the fire.

Enjoyed the indoor pool and whirlpool.

Spent a lot of time in the Dancing Bears restaurant / bar. We love it there.

We've been coming to LP for almost 20 years. This is definitely one of the nicest places to stay in town.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lizzard77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.3 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Lake Placid
Courtyard Lake Placid
#10 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Peaks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Resort

Property: High Peaks Resort
Address: 2384 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3377
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — High Peaks Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the shores of Mirror Lake and conveniently located on Main Street, High Peaks Resort is a modern Adirondack retreat. Guests enjoy magnificent views & direct access to all the opportunities the High Peaks region has to offer, not to mention a rejuvenating full-service spa and unique dining options including the world-famous Dancing Bears Restaurant, Lake Placid's Celebration Destination and Outdoors at Dancing Bears, which boasts Lake Placid's most stunning outdoor patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your High Peaks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Peaks Hotel Lake Placid
High Peaks Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing