We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cannot beat Lake Placid during the Winter Olympics” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of High Peaks Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
High Peaks Resort
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cannot beat Lake Placid during the Winter Olympics”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

This is a resort that really goes the extra mile for you !!! My wife and I had a reservation for three nights during the first week of February. We had a specific room type and when a youth group was coming in for a Ski Trip , Alex the Front Desk Manager took upon himself to move us th a King room on Mirror Lake. It is service like this that makes us come back year after year for five years now.

Thank you High Peaks for knowing superior guest service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JD-GM-ALBHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    386
    100
    31
    29
See reviews for
376
551
21
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lake Luzerne, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

I made a reservation to take my wife up to celebrate her birthday. When I mentioned this as we were checking in the receptionist, Nicki, upgraded our room to a suite as a gift to Anne! Totally unexpected, thoughtful, and very much appreciated. The room had a great view of Mirror Lake and even had a jacuzzi tub. We have stayed there before so we expected the friendliness and good food, etc, but this was over the top!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tom r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killington, Vermont
Level Contributor
118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We recently stayed here for the 2nd time. Lake Placid has the gamut of hotel types (from the super luxurious White Face & Lake Placid Lodges to Motor Inns) so there is something for everyone. But we think that 'everyone' would also be happy at the High Peaks. They are about to undergo renovations, so it doesn't make much sense to get too detailed about the lake front junior suite we had. But it was spacious, nicely appointed and clean. The views of the lake are beautiful (and at this time of year there are skating trails, dog sled rides, hockey rinks, etc. ON the lake. We walked from our room to the Lake Placid Brewery 100% on the frozen lake. The Dancing Bears restaurant/bar in the hotel is a very good place to have a drink. The breakfast we had there was just ok. Food options in Lake Placid remain the hardest part of planning a trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pickytravellers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Just got back from my daughters ice skating competition in lake placid we were supposed to stay in another hotel with her team but checked out of that hotel because it was a dumped frantically called around and the high peaks had an availability they were so accommodating and so willing to go out of there way for my family and my friends family. Eric and Alison at the front desk went beyond my expectations. We are so thankful to them . The hotel was gorgeous the rooms the restaurant the pool we are definitely going to stay there again and would recommend it to all our friends. Thanks agin. Nicole S.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnshine315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

There was a little hick-up on the reservation and requested room. The issue was dealt with courteously and to our complete satisfaction. This was our first stay there and we will be back. We were in the lakeside building (the hotel has several buildings...3 or 4) and we enjoyed a view onto the frozen lake. The room was spacious, comfortable and suitably appointed. Next time might upgrade to the rooms with fireplace. If it is within your budget, ask about the lakeside suites. We looked at one when we were on our way out and thought, "Next time..that's the room."

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holbrook, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Just returned from another 4 days at the High Peaks Resort.
This place has yet to disappoint, Have stayed here 5 times.
The staff is wonderful, accommodations are very nice and comfortable. There is one strange thing
that I have trouble understanding, the frosted glass on the bathroom door, It is strange and its a sliding door that blocks the closet when open.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
149 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

I have stayed at this hotel several times while attending a professional conference. The hotel is very well maintained. My room was spacious with a sectional leather couch and a patio. The bathroom has a large stall shower with stone walls. The staff was helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.3 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Lake Placid
Courtyard Lake Placid
#10 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Peaks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Resort

Property: High Peaks Resort
Address: 2384 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3377
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — High Peaks Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the shores of Mirror Lake and conveniently located on Main Street, High Peaks Resort is a modern Adirondack retreat. Guests enjoy magnificent views & direct access to all the opportunities the High Peaks region has to offer, not to mention a rejuvenating full-service spa and unique dining options including the world-famous Dancing Bears Restaurant, Lake Placid's Celebration Destination and Outdoors at Dancing Bears, which boasts Lake Placid's most stunning outdoor patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your High Peaks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Peaks Hotel Lake Placid
High Peaks Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing