We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothin special”
Review of High Peaks Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
High Peaks Resort
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nothin special”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Watery free hot cocoa only at certain times, garbage cans in rooms that don't fit anything, iPod charger didn't charge phone, can't open bathroom door and closet door at same time, pool was cold and gross with cups and used bandaid with rust on ceiling and run down appearance overall at pool. It's these little things that add up. Guy at desk tried to be helpful but seemed clueless. Skate rental non existent in entire town. Good location and we liked the restaurant but room felt very small.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    698
    391
    101
    32
    29
See reviews for
384
563
21
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bracebridge, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Loved this place, stayed in a junior lakefront suite which was a great choice for us because the main building was overrun with kids! They were everywhere, up and down the halls, slamming doors, in the pool and hot tub, so happy we ended up in the lakefront building where it was quite for our week stay! Our room was perfect, it was a good size, with a Jacuzzi tub that could fit two people, so no need to walk across the street to the hot tubs or pool. The staff were all very pleasant to deal with. The only down side I found with this resort is they don't really inform you on when the lobby bar is open, and fondue nights ect ect I felt I had to ask a million questions to find out where everything was, and when things were happening.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This is a resort that really goes the extra mile for you !!! My wife and I had a reservation for three nights during the first week of February. We had a specific room type and when a youth group was coming in for a Ski Trip , Alex the Front Desk Manager took upon himself to move us th a King room on Mirror Lake. It is service like this that makes us come back year after year for five years now.

Thank you High Peaks for knowing superior guest service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JD-GM-ALBHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Luzerne, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I made a reservation to take my wife up to celebrate her birthday. When I mentioned this as we were checking in the receptionist, Nicki, upgraded our room to a suite as a gift to Anne! Totally unexpected, thoughtful, and very much appreciated. The room had a great view of Mirror Lake and even had a jacuzzi tub. We have stayed there before so we expected the friendliness and good food, etc, but this was over the top!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killington, Vermont
Level Contributor
129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We recently stayed here for the 2nd time. Lake Placid has the gamut of hotel types (from the super luxurious White Face & Lake Placid Lodges to Motor Inns) so there is something for everyone. But we think that 'everyone' would also be happy at the High Peaks. They are about to undergo renovations, so it doesn't make much sense to get too detailed about the lake front junior suite we had. But it was spacious, nicely appointed and clean. The views of the lake are beautiful (and at this time of year there are skating trails, dog sled rides, hockey rinks, etc. ON the lake. We walked from our room to the Lake Placid Brewery 100% on the frozen lake. The Dancing Bears restaurant/bar in the hotel is a very good place to have a drink. The breakfast we had there was just ok. Food options in Lake Placid remain the hardest part of planning a trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pickytravellers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, New York
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Just got back from my daughters ice skating competition in lake placid we were supposed to stay in another hotel with her team but checked out of that hotel because it was a dumped frantically called around and the high peaks had an availability they were so accommodating and so willing to go out of there way for my family and my friends family. Eric and Alison at the front desk went beyond my expectations. We are so thankful to them . The hotel was gorgeous the rooms the restaurant the pool we are definitely going to stay there again and would recommend it to all our friends. Thanks agin. Nicole S.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnshine315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

There was a little hick-up on the reservation and requested room. The issue was dealt with courteously and to our complete satisfaction. This was our first stay there and we will be back. We were in the lakeside building (the hotel has several buildings...3 or 4) and we enjoyed a view onto the frozen lake. The room was spacious, comfortable and suitably appointed. Next time might upgrade to the rooms with fireplace. If it is within your budget, ask about the lakeside suites. We looked at one when we were on our way out and thought, "Next time..that's the room."

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.3 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.3 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Peaks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Resort

Property: High Peaks Resort
Address: 2384 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3377
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — High Peaks Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the shores of Mirror Lake and conveniently located on Main Street, High Peaks Resort is a modern Adirondack retreat. Guests enjoy magnificent views & direct access to all the opportunities the High Peaks region has to offer, not to mention a rejuvenating full-service spa and unique dining options including the world-famous Dancing Bears Restaurant, Lake Placid's Celebration Destination and Outdoors at Dancing Bears, which boasts Lake Placid's most stunning outdoor patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your High Peaks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Peaks Hotel Lake Placid
High Peaks Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing