We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations!”
Review of High Peaks Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
High Peaks Resort
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We visited in July of 2014. I was expecting a hotel, but this is a large resort! The lobby and rooms were lovely. The pools were beautiful and clean. The complimentary kayaks and paddleboats by the lake were great. The location is right on the main street, but at the end of the hustle-bustle part of town, so it's not too busy. We stayed in the main building in a superior room on the 3rd and loved the view from our balcony. (Even though main building is across the street from the lake, it is built into a hill, so the views of the lake and mountains are not obstructed.) The price was reasonable too! We did have a problem with a discount on our bill, but the staff was professional and corrected the issue. If we are ever back in the Lake Placid region, we will definitely stay at the High Peak Resort!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Travel_Mary1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

697 - 703 of 1,349 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We had a wedding reception here and stayed the first weekend in July.
Everything was perfect.
This an updated upscale resort with employees who care about their guests. Everyone in our family was happy with there stay and the rooms and restaurant at the resort.
Truly a Resort experience for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trucknut9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I think we got the last available hotel room Lake Placid over the Iron Man weekend, but were we glad to stay HPR! The moment we walked through the door we were warmly welcomed by the front desk staff. The room was spacious, modern, beautifully appointed and clean, I recommend this hotel and I plan to go back for a longer stay. Right on Main Street and overlooking Mirror Lake, it is truly beautiful. My gosh, they sent cookies and milk to our room with a little hand written note to welcome us. I though the beds were great, there were individual reading lamps for us all and well, the bathroom was truly a thing of beauty. If you are looking for a comfortable and welcoming hotel this is a good pick.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at High Peaks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Sue,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at High Peaks Resort!

I am always happy to hear about our team going above and beyond for our guests, and will be sure to share your comments with all employees. I'm glad that you enjoyed your room and found the hotel in top condition.

We all look forward to welcoming you back for another visit very soon, and don't hesitate to call on me if I can help organize your next visit.

With kind regards,
Matthew Wheeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The view from our room of Mirror Lake was stunning. The room was very clean and the queen size beds were comfortable. Ate at the Dancing Bear for two meals and service and food very good. Excellent location with lots to do nearby. Would have liked a small refrigerator in the room.

Room Tip: Liked the room on the bottom floor in which the slider opens to a small sitting area and the front l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at High Peaks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Barbara,

Thank you for taking time to write about your experience at Lake House. We are tremendously proud of the renovation, and are always happy when our guests share our excitement. The location can't be beat.

I will share your comments with our team at Dancing Bears and Lake House, and we all look forward to welcoming you again for your next visit.

All the best,

Matthew. Wheeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Our original hotel said they never got our reservation and High Peaks came through. The price was right and location was perfect.Rooms were spacious and clean. Since it was for the Ironman there was even room with my husbands bike sharing space. Although we were told it wasn't lake view we could see Mirror Lake from our room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Debbi46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at High Peaks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Debbie,

I'm happy to hear that we were able to accommodate you during Ironman weekend, and that you enjoyed your stay and your room so much. I will be sharing your comments with our team to underscore the importance of providing great service and value to our guests.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to High Peaks Resort very soon.

With kind regards,

Matthew Wheeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Spent 3 nights at HPR. Location could not be better; right on Main Street and can walk to everything. Parking was great as well. Rooms were spacious, bathroom very modern with gorgeous walk-in shower. I did find the beds uncomfortable, certainly not queen size and not suitable for two adults. The refrigerator was convenient but loud!! It would be nice if the rooms had microwaves. Indoor pool really needs to be updated, glad it was there because it was too chilly to swim outside. I would definitely stay there again. Hotel staff was very professional and courteous including housekeeping.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank gigi615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at High Peaks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Gigi,

Thank you for taking time to write about your experience at High Peaks Resort! Your comments are appreciated, and I will be sure to share them with our entire team. I am happy you found the staff to be professional and courteous, and that you found our location to be ideal.

We continue to improve our property, having just completed an exciting renovation of Lake House - our sister hotel - and will be continuing to make improvements, including to the pool area at High Peaks Resort, to ensure that we continue to offer an excellent value to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Lake Placid!

With kind regards,

Matthew Wheeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We spend 2 nights in High Peaks Resort and liked it very much. Rooms were spacious and clean with a nice view on Mirror Lake. Safes were unfortunately missing in the rooms. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Fitness and swimming pool are nice but not outstanding. The restaurant "Dancing bears" was very good. We had breakfast and one dinner there and were each time very pleased with the good quality food and service. The hotel is central and it's easy to explore Lake Placid and the various lakes.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SAMLadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at High Peaks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Sam L,

Thank you for taking time to write about your experience at High Peaks Resort!

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant, Dancing Bears, and that you found our location and rooms to be excellent, and our staff friendly. I will share your comments with the entire team to underscore the results of the great work they do every day.

We look forward to welcoming you again when you next visit Lake Placid.

I hope you have a wonderful summer.

With kind regards,

Matthew Wheeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,339 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.3 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
248 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
1 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#15 of 31 in Lake Placid
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Peaks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Resort

Address: 2384 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3377
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range: £104 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — High Peaks Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the shores of Mirror Lake and conveniently located on Main Street, High Peaks Resort is a modern Adirondack retreat. Guests enjoy magnificent views & direct access to all the opportunities the High Peaks region has to offer, not to mention a rejuvenating full-service spa and unique dining options including the world-famous Dancing Bears Restaurant, Lake Placid's Celebration Destination and Outdoors at Dancing Bears, which boasts Lake Placid's most stunning outdoor patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your High Peaks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Peaks Hotel Lake Placid
High Peaks Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing