We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Okay”
Review of High Peaks Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
High Peaks Resort
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
buffalo, ny
Level Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the lakeside part of the hotel under a parking lot. The room was okay, but the lake view was blocked by the pool. Coffee is available across the street but there should a coffee station in this part of the hotel. Nothing special but okay if you can get a good price.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank golfer328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at High Peaks Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience about your stay and room at High Peaks Resort. Thank you also for the excellent suggestion to have a coffee station across at our Waterfront collection building, where we have room as well as more commodious suites and junior suites directly on, and in some cases over the water.

I am sorry that you found your view to be less than you expected - we make every effort to room guests according to request, and some guests prefer the privacy of the rooms near the pool. Nevertheless, I do hope that you will visit High Peaks Resort again in the future, and please call on me if I can help in any way.

With kind regards,
Matthew Wheeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    710
    396
    102
    32
    29
See reviews for
385
569
21
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I do have one of the advertised views, unlike the last reviewer. I was looking for a place to stay for one month with my dog. You would think the 4th floor would be a disaster for a large dog. But the hotel is built on a vertical, so you walk outside the door to the 4th floor parking lot. And, there is a lovely little area to play with the dog and let him do his business. All without the necessity of going through the lobby. It would have helped if the Front Desk had mentioned this. The service staff is excellent. The food, well, if you are into high cholesterol. But, room "service" is excellent. But the area is gorgeous! There is no lake or "beach" access. It is on the main drag in Lake Placid. Lots of hilly walking. But, you can utilize the hotel diverse architecture to take this elevator then that elevator if you want to dine on Main Street but don't really want to climb back up the hill after a nice dinner. Lots of families with kids... Not a "couple" place at all.

Room Tip: You want a upper level room facing East.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at High Peaks Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Mary Ann,

Thank you very much for sharing your (and your dog's) experience at High Peaks Resort.

We are very happy to be pet-friendly, and appreciate your suggestion on ways that we can improve our communication about locations on and around the property to take your dog.

Thank you also for pointing out our excellent room service and food and our blessed position in the middle of the scenic beauty of the Adirondacks.

Please let me know if there is anything I can do to make your stay more enjoyable.

With kind regards,
Matthew Wheeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york, NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights at the High Peaks resort last week and it was a mixed experience. The room was clean and large with two comfortable queen beds, nicely decorated and looked like it had recently been renovated. Ditto the bathroom. However, the hotel is not in an ideal location being located on the corner of a very busy intersection. The property consists of three buildings, two of which are across the street from the lake and one of which is on the lake. We were very disappointed with our "superior view" room. When we selected the "superior view" room on the website, it showed a picture of a gorgeous, dead on the view of the lake. What we got was not even close. We were given a room in the main building across the street from the lake. We overlooked the pool and the roof of another part of the building. To see the lake you had to walk out onto the terrace where it was to the side of you over the roofs of the buildings across the street and over the traffic running down Main Street. I did bring this to their attention but they were quite dismissive about it. If you book be sure to call them and ask questions so you're sure of exactly what you're getting. They do have some nice amenities- in room coffee and refrigerator, 24 hour fitness center, and free use of their kayaks and paddleboats but at almost $300 (USD)/night, I cannot dub it a good value.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jimbocnewyork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at High Peaks Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to post a review of High Peaks Resort, and your experience. I am sorry that your room view did not meet your expectations, and that a resolution was not immediately offered.
On our website the Waterfront Collection of rooms are indeed depicted showing a full view of the lake. The Superior and Signature view rooms are depicted showing pool in the foreground with the lake in the background.
Thank you for your comments about our complimentary amenities, and the comfort of your room.
Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to discuss your experience further.

With kind regards,
Matthew Wheeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We visited in July of 2014. I was expecting a hotel, but this is a large resort! The lobby and rooms were lovely. The pools were beautiful and clean. The complimentary kayaks and paddleboats by the lake were great. The location is right on the main street, but at the end of the hustle-bustle part of town, so it's not too busy. We stayed in the main building in a superior room on the 3rd and loved the view from our balcony. (Even though main building is across the street from the lake, it is built into a hill, so the views of the lake and mountains are not obstructed.) The price was reasonable too! We did have a problem with a discount on our bill, but the staff was professional and corrected the issue. If we are ever back in the Lake Placid region, we will definitely stay at the High Peak Resort!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_Mary1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern NJ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We had a wedding reception here and stayed the first weekend in July.
Everything was perfect.
This an updated upscale resort with employees who care about their guests. Everyone in our family was happy with there stay and the rooms and restaurant at the resort.
Truly a Resort experience for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trucknut9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I think we got the last available hotel room Lake Placid over the Iron Man weekend, but were we glad to stay HPR! The moment we walked through the door we were warmly welcomed by the front desk staff. The room was spacious, modern, beautifully appointed and clean, I recommend this hotel and I plan to go back for a longer stay. Right on Main Street and overlooking Mirror Lake, it is truly beautiful. My gosh, they sent cookies and milk to our room with a little hand written note to welcome us. I though the beds were great, there were individual reading lamps for us all and well, the bathroom was truly a thing of beauty. If you are looking for a comfortable and welcoming hotel this is a good pick.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at High Peaks Resort, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Sue,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at High Peaks Resort!

I am always happy to hear about our team going above and beyond for our guests, and will be sure to share your comments with all employees. I'm glad that you enjoyed your room and found the hotel in top condition.

We all look forward to welcoming you back for another visit very soon, and don't hesitate to call on me if I can help organize your next visit.

With kind regards,
Matthew Wheeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The view from our room of Mirror Lake was stunning. The room was very clean and the queen size beds were comfortable. Ate at the Dancing Bear for two meals and service and food very good. Excellent location with lots to do nearby. Would have liked a small refrigerator in the room.

Room Tip: Liked the room on the bottom floor in which the slider opens to a small sitting area and the front l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at High Peaks Resort, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Barbara,

Thank you for taking time to write about your experience at Lake House. We are tremendously proud of the renovation, and are always happy when our guests share our excitement. The location can't be beat.

I will share your comments with our team at Dancing Bears and Lake House, and we all look forward to welcoming you again for your next visit.

All the best,

Matthew. Wheeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,248 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.3 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
1.5 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
419 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Peaks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Resort

Property: High Peaks Resort
Address: 2384 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3377
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — High Peaks Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the shores of Mirror Lake and conveniently located on Main Street, High Peaks Resort is a modern Adirondack retreat. Guests enjoy magnificent views & direct access to all the opportunities the High Peaks region has to offer, not to mention a rejuvenating full-service spa and unique dining options including the world-famous Dancing Bears Restaurant, Lake Placid's Celebration Destination and Outdoors at Dancing Bears, which boasts Lake Placid's most stunning outdoor patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your High Peaks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Peaks Hotel Lake Placid
High Peaks Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing