We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay Right in the Middle of it all in Lake Placid”
Review of High Peaks Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
High Peaks Resort
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Utica, New York
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Stay Right in the Middle of it all in Lake Placid”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Myself and my wife were in town for a conference and made a return trip to the High Peaks. We have always enjoyed the location and atmosphere at the hotel and were not disappointed this time. The room was excellent with modern furnishings and a great view of the lake. Every amenity of Lake Placid was within a very quick walk out the front door and the staff was exceptional. There isn't a bad thing we could say about our time at the High Peaks. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amjs13501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at High Peaks Resort, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at High Peaks Resort.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay - and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another.

With kind regards,

Matthew Wheeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    726
    399
    106
    32
    29
See reviews for
392
578
21
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rensselaer
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in 702 the Waterfront. Yes it does face the pool equipment but it was not a issue as we had privacy we wanted. Room is very clean and beds were very comfortable. Love the location and accessibility to shopping and dining. We go to LA frequently and always stay at High Peaks

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We spent one night in room 701 in the so-called waterfront rooms of the resort. The room was like one long narrow cave, with a sliding door that opened upon to the pool equipment storage shed. The lake was beyond the shed, but we could have had just as great a view if it was a brick wall. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was clean and huge, but the wifi was spotty.

Just a quick walk into town, so the location is great.

One last point, the front desk clerks ignored me for 10 minutes while they both fawned over a couple who had just rode in on their Harley's. The clerks could have at least greeted me, or even better, one of the clerks could have helped me while the first clerk helped the couple.

Room Tip: Ask to view the room before accepting the assignment if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizardHntr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at High Peaks Resort, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review High Peaks Resort.

I apologize that your view did not meet your expectations, and that we were unable to re-accommodate you. I am also sorry that the front desk you had did not meet your (or our) expectations, and will share your comments with the team.

I am glad to hear that you found our location, cleanliness, and comfortable bed to be highlights.

Please contact me directly if you would like to discuss your stay further. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort, and will ensure that your accommodations are in-line with your expectations.

With kind regards,

Matthew Wheeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were on a motorcycle trip and stayed here for a couple of nights. The staff were very helpful, ensuring that we were aware of the secure underground parking for our bikes. A simple question at the front desk, after we'd cleaned up, resulted in multiple options on things to do, places to eat, as well as the best vantage points to watch the Iron Man Triathlon that was going on that weekend. All in all, a very enjoyable stay that I would recommend to anyone.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I think this must have been an ordinary hotel in its past, but when it was re-done, someone used a little creativity, and the place seems one step up from ordinary. My 13 year old daughter was convinced we were in a really fancy hotel.
The rooms we stayed in was a good size, with a balcony (with chairs and table) and an iconic view of Mirror Lake out over the swimming pool. There was a good size fridge, nice storage for possessions, comfy chair, flat screen (of course), a desk and chair, and plenty of outlets for those plug-ins we need so much nowadays! Some extra perks? there are really nice lights over the beds, with dimmers on each side. The lights have goose-necks and are great for reading in bed without disturbing anyone else.
The bathroom was really nice, the shower was excellent with an overhead shower rose as well as a hand held, and a built in seat too.
There is an indoor pool (slightly dated but fine) with a jaccuzi, an outdoor pool (lovely), a gym (fine) a lovely lobby area, there are meeting rooms for various functions, and the Dancing Bear Restaurant (which I reviewed in restaurants) is open for breakfast thru late dinner. There is also an indoor route to the main street, handy for cold wet days.
The best parts of the hotel are simply logistical: there is ample parking (a lot of it is covered - which is great in the winter!) and the hotel is right on the main street, near everything, but set back far enough that you don't get street noise.
Special perks: according to my daughter, the bathrobes:"I've never stayed in a BATHROBE hotel before, mom!"
Only downside: The bathroom door was a flimsy pocket sliding door. If one had any real need for privacy in the bathroom - this would not provide it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SackvilleBaggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at High Peaks Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at High Peaks Resort!

We are thrilled to hear that you and your daughter enjoyed our rooms, location and amenities. I enjoyed your daughters comment about staying at a "Bathrobe hotel" - fantastic.

I hope that you visit again soon, and that you return to High Peaks Resort during the winter season to experience our offerings under the cover of snow.

With best wishes for a nice summer,

Matthew Wheeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buffalo, ny
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the lakeside part of the hotel under a parking lot. The room was okay, but the lake view was blocked by the pool. Coffee is available across the street but there should a coffee station in this part of the hotel. Nothing special but okay if you can get a good price.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank golfer328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at High Peaks Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience about your stay and room at High Peaks Resort. Thank you also for the excellent suggestion to have a coffee station across at our Waterfront collection building, where we have room as well as more commodious suites and junior suites directly on, and in some cases over the water.

I am sorry that you found your view to be less than you expected - we make every effort to room guests according to request, and some guests prefer the privacy of the rooms near the pool. Nevertheless, I do hope that you will visit High Peaks Resort again in the future, and please call on me if I can help in any way.

With kind regards,
Matthew Wheeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I do have one of the advertised views, unlike the last reviewer. I was looking for a place to stay for one month with my dog. You would think the 4th floor would be a disaster for a large dog. But the hotel is built on a vertical, so you walk outside the door to the 4th floor parking lot. And, there is a lovely little area to play with the dog and let him do his business. All without the necessity of going through the lobby. It would have helped if the Front Desk had mentioned this. The service staff is excellent. The food, well, if you are into high cholesterol. But, room "service" is excellent. But the area is gorgeous! There is no lake or "beach" access. It is on the main drag in Lake Placid. Lots of hilly walking. But, you can utilize the hotel diverse architecture to take this elevator then that elevator if you want to dine on Main Street but don't really want to climb back up the hill after a nice dinner. Lots of families with kids... Not a "couple" place at all.

Room Tip: You want a upper level room facing East.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at High Peaks Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Mary Ann,

Thank you very much for sharing your (and your dog's) experience at High Peaks Resort.

We are very happy to be pet-friendly, and appreciate your suggestion on ways that we can improve our communication about locations on and around the property to take your dog.

Thank you also for pointing out our excellent room service and food and our blessed position in the middle of the scenic beauty of the Adirondacks.

Please let me know if there is anything I can do to make your stay more enjoyable.

With kind regards,
Matthew Wheeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,288 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.3 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.3 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
212 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#16 of 31 in Lake Placid
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Peaks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Resort

Property: High Peaks Resort
Address: 2384 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3377
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — High Peaks Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the shores of Mirror Lake and conveniently located on Main Street, High Peaks Resort is a modern Adirondack retreat. Guests enjoy magnificent views & direct access to all the opportunities the High Peaks region has to offer, not to mention a rejuvenating full-service spa and unique dining options including the world-famous Dancing Bears Restaurant, Lake Placid's Celebration Destination and Outdoors at Dancing Bears, which boasts Lake Placid's most stunning outdoor patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your High Peaks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Peaks Hotel Lake Placid
High Peaks Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing