We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great hotel in Lake Placid”
Review of High Peaks Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
High Peaks Resort
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2009

This was my first stay at the High Peaks Resort. The room was very well decorated, with a mix of modern and rustic. I especially liked the reading lights over the bed, in case someone else wants to sleep. I had the king sized bed, so the sofa in the room was large, with a lot of room. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was very nicely decorated, and the shower was exquisite.

I had an amazing view of Mirror Lake and Whiteface Mountain.

The staff in the lobby as well as the Restaurant, The Dancing Bears, were very attentive and friendly. The food in the restaurant was great, and reasonably priced.

I used the gym three times while there. The equipment is new, and in good repair. There is plenty to to get a good workout in.

I would certainly recommend the High Peaks Resort to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcj6417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,227 - 1,233 of 1,349 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2009

Location in the center of Lake Placid is wonderful, but from there it goes downhill. Stayed across the street in the Mirror Lake collection rooms. Frequently heard noise from the hallway and the guests next door. Beds were bouncy and not very comfortable--I hate featherbeds! Rooms/bathrooms were very attractive and roomy and generally well maintained. Wireless internet in room was pathetic. Service in hotel leaves something to be desired--it's generally nonexistent. Restaurant (Dancing Bears) is fine for breakfast but just mediocre for dinner.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatskillMountainMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2009

"The place will blow you away."
"You may even soon forget The Whiteface Lodge."

NOT! As a couple who has been at the Whiteface Lodge 3 years running, this is what we were told when we phoned Reservations at High Peaks. The hotel is the former Hilton that has been made over. The renovations were very nice. The lobby and dining areas were well appointed, and who can beat its location right on across from Mirror Lake and in the heart of the village? So what is the problem you may ask?

If you have been to the Whiteface Lodge before, you may find yourself sobbing as you enter the guest room. For us, that is where our stay ended. We did not even put our bags down, and checked out.

I am not saying this is a bad hotel, but as far as being compared with the Whiteface Lodge? Well, that is like bring a slingshot to a gun fight!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigbipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

Stayed for two nights with my husband to enjoy some time away without the kids. Had a great experience from beginning to end of our stay. We had a beautiful view, although you should be aware that the hotel is ACROSS the street from mirror lake so some lower buildings are between you and the lake. Beds were very comfortable, bathrooms lovely etc. The lobby bar was very cozy on the crisp fall weekend that we were there. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We ate at the dancing bear restaurant for "pub type" food and it was very good. We only had 2 minor complaints. The first is that the doors to the rooms are not sound proof and the first morning you could hear every door that opened and closed in the hallway. (Our room was in the middle of the hallway) The second morning it didn't seem as noisy. The second complaint was a minor one, as we were not there on business and only used the computers for a brief time to check emails. The internet speeds on the two business center computers were very slow. All and all we would definately be back.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank das4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2009

This hotel has been lovingly renovated and the rooms are plush and contemporary. Great accommodations and location overall. the indoor pool area leaves much to be desired - needs renovating and is small and dark. The service leaves everything to be desired. The front desk (all of the desk clerks we encountered) were "snotty" and not friendly at all. Noone ever smiled here... it was wierd! The hotel gets EXCELLENT - but because the service was so poor and lousy - we would stay elsewhere in beautiful lake Placid.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank td397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Just returned from a 3 night stay in Lake Placid. I had stayed at the High Peaks years ago when it was a Hilton property. Boy what a difference! The rooms have been completely remodeled and updated. There are actually 3 buildings that are part of the resort. We were in the lakeside building. FYI....this is where they put the dogs who are traveling with their owners. We saw at least 4 dogs staying in our building....but never heard them. It would have been nice to be in the main building, only bc it was so cold out and we didn't feel like walking across the street to swim or hang out in the lobby at night.. In summer, I think the lakeside rooms would be perfect. Ask for a room from 710 and up...as we looked at the poolhouse.

Overall, nice amenities...we ate at the restaurant for breakfast and dinner and it was very satisfactory..and reasonably priced. Bed was very comfortable. Walk in shower had showerhead in ceiling. Only downside was no towel bars in bathroom. Just a hook for the robes.

Booked through a special online...would def stay here again. Good location too.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuffaloCc222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

My wife and I traveled to Lake Placid and High Peaks Resort for our 3rd anniversary. Was very pleased with the experience/ value at the hotel, and its convenient location (adjacent to many of the Lake Placid's restaurants/ shops, and quick drive to local hiking, olympic center, other outdoor activities). Our recently renovated room in the Mirror Lake Collection had a great view, comfortable bed, seperate whirlpool tub and shower, and parking within 50ft of our door. Despite the rainy weather, we were able to make use of a nice hotel gym, onsite bar/ restaurant, and spa/ salon while indoors. Would say the quality of these amenities was certainly above the norm for comparably priced hotels. Nice place for a long weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTintheD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,339 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.3 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#12 of 31 in Lake Placid
248 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
1 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#15 of 31 in Lake Placid
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Peaks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Resort

Address: 2384 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3377
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range: £104 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — High Peaks Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the shores of Mirror Lake and conveniently located on Main Street, High Peaks Resort is a modern Adirondack retreat. Guests enjoy magnificent views & direct access to all the opportunities the High Peaks region has to offer, not to mention a rejuvenating full-service spa and unique dining options including the world-famous Dancing Bears Restaurant, Lake Placid's Celebration Destination and Outdoors at Dancing Bears, which boasts Lake Placid's most stunning outdoor patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your High Peaks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Peaks Hotel Lake Placid
High Peaks Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing