We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, annoying clients”
Review of High Peaks Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
High Peaks Resort
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Good hotel, annoying clients”
Reviewed 8 January 2011

This hotel is in a great location! Free shuttles around town and to Whiteface mountain for great skiing and snowboarding! But I came during hockey season, so beware, I was told are about 60 hockey teams a weekend staying in hotels all around town! All under the age of 10!!!! They weren't as bad as I thought, but try to use the indoor pool/jacuzzi with kids jumping all over the place.
The only thing I have to complain about the hotel was a bunch of drunk guests coming in and out if their rooms slamming doors at 2:30am speaking really loundly... Called the front desk 2 times, and they weren't very firm with the roudy guests! Eventually they stopped....

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nachoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    717
    396
    104
    32
    29
See reviews for
387
572
21
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
fredonia, New York, USA
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Wonderful service. Friendly staff. Many thanks to Jessica (front desk) for the exceptional service. We will be back. This hotel has the most comfortable pillows!!!
Dinner at the restaurant in the hotel was wonderful. Great waitress!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilred39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We stayed at the High Peaks Resort on the New Year's Package. The room was great! Thestaff from the front desk to the cleaning people were welcoming and friendly. The New Year's Eve dinner...the food was great! The service just "awlful" We waited "ONE HOUR" for our bottle of wine...the waitress could only say "I'm sorry" !!!!!
That was the only disappointment of the weekend..New Year's Brunch was better.
The one person who really stood out above the rest was Jim Cue!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJHomeRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pine Bank, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2010

We stayed at the High Peaks hotel the weekend of Dec. 17-19, 2010. The hotel is beautiful. Very close to the shops, restaurants and Mirror Lake. We ate breakfast at the Dancing Bears restaurant one morning. Was a pleasant experience,,good breakfast items,,very reasonably priced. Would have been better during breakfast== if they didn't have three different large screen TVs blaring in the restaurant! Each TV had a different loud show playing. 1 TV maybe,,but 3? set in different areas of the restaurant, Would have better to just have closed captioning for news/weather reports.. no sounds. Parking was limited under the covered building,,must be real crowded during the rest of the winter season. In the room, enjoyed the large 2 double beds, TV, refrigerator and beautiful bathroom/shower. Overall I'd recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avidTraveler98756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killington, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2010

This is our 4th trip to High Peaks Resort and we we're very pleased with our lovely
room looking over Mirror Lake. It's very quiet this time of year which gives us an opportunity to relax before we get busy with our Jobs at the Killington Resort.
We've stayed in the same room each time we visit and just love the gas fireplace and
the lovely decore. The bathroom is amazing and I actually watched TV while soaking
in the huge jetted tub. We had dinner and breakfast at Dancing Bears and recommend that they update the menu.. It's been the same for years. Our dinner was fine but the breakfast bacon and sausage tasted like they were cooked the night before. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. The telephone book in the unit needs to be updated. We were trying to find a place for dinner and had to keep calling the Front Desk for telephone numbers. On a whole it was a delightful stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelabois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2010

The hotel staff was very nice and attended to my every need. Rooms were spacious and clean however my bed sagged in the middle. My one disappointment was the indoor pool. It is in need of some renovations. It's poorly lit, smelled, and just looked old. Not to mention its location is waaayyyy in the far off corner of the hotel. Not. to safe. Overall, I would recommend staying there and would go back myself.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayskatering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plattsburgh, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

It was a very magical experience with snow in the air - great hotel, staff and lounge area- best bed I have ever slept in

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adirondack37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,262 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.3 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.3 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
207 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Peaks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Resort

Property: High Peaks Resort
Address: 2384 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3377
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — High Peaks Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the shores of Mirror Lake and conveniently located on Main Street, High Peaks Resort is a modern Adirondack retreat. Guests enjoy magnificent views & direct access to all the opportunities the High Peaks region has to offer, not to mention a rejuvenating full-service spa and unique dining options including the world-famous Dancing Bears Restaurant, Lake Placid's Celebration Destination and Outdoors at Dancing Bears, which boasts Lake Placid's most stunning outdoor patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your High Peaks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Peaks Hotel Lake Placid
High Peaks Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing