We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great dinner in the pub” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Interlaken Inn

The Interlaken Inn
Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Interlaken Inn
Ranked #7 of 14 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great dinner in the pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

This review is of the pub/restaurant at the inn, not the inn itself.
We had dinner at the Interlaken the other night and I have to say it exceeded any expectations I had of a pub menu. The pub looks great and has a cozy feel to it and our experience was a pleasant, unforced one. The menu had plenty of interesting options and the portions were on the large side. They were nice enough to split our salad for us and service was generally very good. Not quite top-notch but certainly very good. The food was really delicious and the wine list extensive, with some nice by-the-glass options. We really liked this place and will come back for a "proper" dinner.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iberjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    9
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
27
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
159 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

When we visit here, we feel like we're close to being home: comfortable surroundings, excellent food, a well-stocked bar, and staff who remember you like old friends. We have stayed here in all seasons, and each season it is our home base for hiking or skiing adventures. A few minor upgrades to door handles and some additional room lighting would catapult this property to being the premier location at which I have ever stayed.

Room Tip: Go on line and look at the room images. Each has different decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zubill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

I stayed here for a weekend while in town for a wedding. The staff was excellent, taking very good care of every detail. The room was beautiful and cozy. Each one is different and special in its own way and I look forward to going back again to stay in another room. The restaurant was delicious and again, the staff were outstanding. Thank you for a great weekend!

Room Tip: Ask about the different layouts, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura_S_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Don't even think about eating out, once you check in be sure to book a table in the cozy pub or elegant dining room and enjoy the sumptious menu and attentive service. Warning! book table early or be prepared to wait. Rooms are elegant,comfortable and very clean. Poor Wi-fi reception was the only dissapointment. On my list of stay again for sure.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carguyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brick,NJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

We have stayed here abourt 4 times in the past 5 years. We love it. I feel like I'm staying at my rich Aunt's house when I'm there. The rooms are immaculate and decorated quite tastefully. The pub downstairs offers a warm and cozy feel. The bartenders and staff are very friendly and quite helpful.
The food is excellent, but make sure you make a reservation. The living room area is perfect to read a book, have a conversation or order some fondue and drinks in front of the fire.If it's a special event, I highly reccommend reserving the dining room downstairs in the wine cellar...very special for a group. We did it for Valentines Day and I will never forget it. Mary & John the owners do a wonderful job of keeping this place a true gem.Just a couple minutes walk to the heart of town and the lake. Lot's to do there.Slopes are about 20minutes away.

Room Tip: If you need a room for a child get the Equestrian Room. Couples the Red Touille room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaandJohnBrick_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseland, NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

My husband and I have been staying at the Interlaken for 10 years and it is one of our most favorite places to go!! We spend a week there every year at Christmas and then head up at least one other time during the year. Whether we go alone or with family, we have a fabulous time! No matter the season, there are things to do. You can walk into town for shopping or take a ride to the mountain for skiing. The Innkeepers are delightful and you couldn't ask for better hosts than Mary and John. Even if you don't stay at the Inn, the restaurant and newly renovated bar are a must for at least one dinner while in Lake Placid. The food is exceptional; the service is terrific and the ambiance is wonderful. The work on the bar was completed by a local gentleman and his family; every detail is thought of and completed with pride and precision.

Room Tip: Each room is great and unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

My husband I and stayed at the inn for our anniversary. It is in a great location, easy to walk to and from town restaurants, pubs, shopping, etc. Its also near other locations which were out of the main street and only took a 2-3 minute drive to get there. The inn is rustic, charming, clean, and the workers take pride in their jobs. The chef was friendly and talented-food was great for dinner! Servers and bartender helpful and friendly. The bar is very neat and the pub is a local attraction. One thing I did read before staying there is that the owners are only up on the weekends. This did not bother us, but could understand how it could bother others. There was no one there with us in the inn from the hours of 12 am-7am. We went during the off season so we were the only people there. This also did not bother us but could see how it could be a worry for other guests. Emergency numbers were left out if need be. We definitely plan on staying here again and eating at the restaurant and enjoying the pub! If you decide to go out to dinner, check out Cafe Rustica, Brown Dog Wine Bar, Taste Bistro, Cellar Bistro, The Creperie, and Pan Dolce!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
1.4 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
0.6 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Interlaken Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Interlaken Inn

Property: The Interlaken Inn
Address: 39 Interlaken Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3921
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Interlaken Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Interlaken Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Interlaken Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing