We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat - Drink & Be PLACID”
Review of The Interlaken Inn

The Interlaken Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Interlaken Inn
Ranked #7 of 14 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
Albany, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Eat - Drink & Be PLACID”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Fell asleep to the sound of loons on Lake Placid - Woke up to the aroma of fresh brewed coffee - enough said - we will return to this well appointed, quaint, cozy Inn to eat in the Award Winning restaurant and to sleep in a bed that has all of my favorite things (i.e., high thread count)

Room Tip: The "Equestrian Suite" is ideal if traveling with children - adjoining room with twin bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PateSoleil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    9
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
28
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roseland, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The Interlaken is a great place to stay in Lake Placid. Every room is different and the beds are so comfortable. It has a real European feel to it and the innkeepers, Mary and John are so welcoming. Before staying at the Interlaken Inn, we have stayed at many places in Lake Placid and now that we have found the Inn, it is the only place we stay. It is a cozy and relaxing spot to stay for vacation. A great spot!

The pub is an added bonus! It is one of the top restaurants in the area. The staff is great and at the food is excellent. Make reservations and be sure to eat there at least one time!!

Room Tip: The carriage house is great if you have a family or a dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had a wonderful autumn weekend road trip at this beautiful inn with friendly owners, a spacious room, luxurious claw foot tub, perfect restaurant downstairs, and convenient main street shopping, cozy movie theater, and exhilarating mountain hikes. The Olympics were a long time ago, but they left behind a wonderful little town in the middle of a postcard setting. Have breakfast at the local crepe shop - we did both mornings!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dotkalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I'm all for supporting family-run businesses with class and character. The Interlaken Inn is certainly that, with a friendly staff and good location close to Mirror Lake and Lake Placid village. Room prices, however, are astronomical for a place that is significantly showing it age, and with an advertised view that, in reality, was a non-view. Even taking into account this was a weekend during high leaf-peeping season in the Adirondacks, we felt ripped off at $250 a night without a breakfast plan for overnight guests. ($195 a night with breakfast vouchers I could've stomached.)

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor with its low eaves. Second floor rooms are okay (spacious, comfortable, bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coachlobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairport, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Wow what a weekend! We always dreamed of having our wedding in Lake Placid and it seemed only fitting that we had it at The Interlaken Inn. We had an amazing weekend full of great food, great family, great service and great accommodations! From the bottom of our hearts, we thank you Mary, Mallory and the entire staff for making our special day and weekend so fabulous! Your special attention to detail and your hospitality are the reasons why we love it here so much and can't wait to come back and celebrate our first anniversary! Mick & Julie

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed here for two nights for a late summer get-away with friends. Friendly, competent staff; nicely appointed rooms; great atmosphere. Had dinner "at the bar" and even though the restaurant was fully booked from a wedding and local guests, we had a spectacular meal. Wine list is respectable and beer list interesting. Owners are personable, helpful and accommodating -- AND, last but not least -- the breakfasts are amazing. Would DEFINITELY return to this well kept secret in Lake Placid.

Room Tip: No bad rooms here -- even with a busy bar and restaurant, we had a quiet night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRL217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metro New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We had a marvelous midweek stay at this lovely inn. The most friendly staff, great pub and restaurant and perfect accommodations make this inn a perfect place to stay and enjoy. The proprietor Mary is a delightful hostess and breakfast chef.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony are worth the extra cost if you enjoy relaxing and reading in perfect solitude.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,289 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
1.0 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#16 of 31 in Lake Placid
15 reviews
0.6 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Interlaken Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Interlaken Inn

Property: The Interlaken Inn
Address: 39 Interlaken Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3921
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Interlaken Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Interlaken Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Interlaken Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing