We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas came early”
Review of The Interlaken Inn

The Interlaken Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Interlaken Inn
Ranked #6 of 14 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
New York
1 review
“Christmas came early”
Reviewed 17 December 2008

Christmas came early for us once again this year. Our weekend spent at the Inn was such a special treat. The choas of the holidays is hard to escape but this weeknd was a gift to ourselves. Our room was incredible with the melt away sheets and a tub you could dream in for hours. The Inn as always decorated beautifully for the holidays and the food was fabulous. From fondue in the pub to dinner with 12 of our closest friends in the Moose Room, Richard never disappoints. Not to mention, Mark makes the best martini in Lake Placid. And there is something to be said about waking to the smell of breakfast cooking and arriving downstairs to the fire already burning. With this type of attention it's no wonder we find ourselves returning annually for our own early Christmas gift.

  • Liked — The staff and food are amazing. Each room is special unto itself.
  • Disliked — Nothing, we wouldn't stay anywhere else in Lake Placid and we've stayed in several others.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBCNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    9
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
28
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, CT
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2008

Spent a long weekend with friends and had a most relaxing time. The living room fireplace become our daily meeting point each late afternoon. Mary and here staff are most gracious. We ate two of the three nights at the Interlaken and frankly wish we had made it three for three. The pub menu gave us the option to be more casual for one of our meals. Our room was elegantly furnished, clean, and most importantly, our bed was very comfortable.
My only complaint the whole weekend was I had to park down the street on Saturday night.

  • Liked — The warmth & charm of the place.
  • Disliked — Finding a Parking Space
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WiliamFairfield_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
293 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2008

Somehow this place seems like it is on the downhill slope after hitting its prime. People who run it must be getting a bit tired of it all. Our room was nice, but somehow seemed like it had been loved once, but not so much anymore. Nice linens and toiletries, but the bathroom shower was mouldy. The flowers out front were wilted. No little extras in an inn of this type was very surprising. Expected breakfast was included in rate, but it was not, despite the fact this was written on the in-room rate card (told this was an old card from a year ago, which made me wonder how often the room was serviced on a deep level). In fairness, we did not eat dinner here and arrived late, so no opportunity for much interaction with the staff. Breakfast was nice, but too expensive for the taste and quality. Also, note that housekeeping and restaurant gratuities are all automatically added to your bill, which is very sad to see. If you're going to add housekeeping gratuities to the bill, why not just include them upfront in the price? Perhaps this is what is leading to the lack of extra effort and love for the place.

  • Liked — Convenient location.
  • Disliked — Extra charges, price not in line with what you get compared to other inns.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Perpetual-Motion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2008

The Interlaken served as the site for my wedding rehearsal dinner, but more over as the lodging for my international guests from Scotland, Sweden, Germany, and Canada.

Mary and her staff were so helpful in the planning of the dinner. The food is amazing!

But moreover, the rooms were comfortable, clean, and quiet. The staff really took care of my finicky world travelers and made them feel right at home for 3 days. All my guests raved about the breakfast each morning, the beautiful garden, friendly bartender, and relaxed atmosphere.

I highly recommend the Interlaken for meals and lodging in Lake Placid!

  • Liked — Uniqueness of each room
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EPJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-s-Mare, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2008

We were just staying for one night, and found this Inn on a local tourist-board website. All the staff were really friendly. The room was lovely with a balcony overlooking the front of the hotel. The restaurant is excellent - a good selection and all very well presented, and tasting delicious. Breakfast was also very good. Definitely one to recommend.

  • Liked — The restaurant was excellent
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary-n-Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2007

After having dinner at the restaurant, we fell in love with the pub and the food and booked ourselves into the inn for one night. We had a fantastic experience - the room (Hibiscus) was very nice, the staff exceptionally friendly and the food was amazing - far and away the best food in Lake Placid. The pub is very cozy and has a fantastic pub menu (where we ate the second night). I would highly recommend to anyone coming to the area.

  • Liked — Staff and food
  • Disliked — Hidden costs - gratuities added at checkout
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank esung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northeast, US
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2007

This was our third weekend stay, and I must say that the place is going a little downhill. They seem to be focusing too much on the restaurant and not enough on the rooms.

We have stayed in a different room each time and I must warn you that the rooms vary significantly. Once we had a room that didn't have a TV! For this price you would expect that each room would at least have a TV. Not all of the rooms have phones either, which can be a pain if you want to ask questions of the front desk. Must be especially annoying to those on the third floor who must wander down a couple of flights of stairs to ask a simple question.

They have also instituted a rather annoying mandatory gratuity. This isn't always disclosed, but is on their website. They have a daily housekeeping gratuity, a daily breakfast gratuity and a mandatory gratuity on food and wine. Even when I signed for a beer in the bar and left a cash tip, I found an additional gratuity on my bill for that beer when I checked out! When you add in the very high NY taxes, you really get nickeled and dimed.

Most disturbing of all is the fact that the entire inn smelled faintly of sewage during our entire stay, including our room. I thought it was just us, but I see by the reviews that this isn't the first time. That alone is a deal killer for me as far as any future stays.

The food for breakfast was average. The orange juice was great. The wine selection at the bar is top notch and the pours generous. I'd recommend going in for a glass of wine or two, but that's about it.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Sewage smell
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lawgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.6 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.6 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Interlaken Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Interlaken Inn

Property: The Interlaken Inn
Address: 39 Interlaken Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3921
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Interlaken Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Interlaken Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Interlaken Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing