We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Town and Country Motor Inn
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Blackwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good room for the price”
Reviewed 15 March 2011

It was clean and roomy, larger than a typical hotel chain room. The lady at the front desk was very nice a accommodating. The rooms are a little dated. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DxmXavier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    28
    11
    3
    10
See reviews for
14
36
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Potsdam, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in February. Usually I have a difficult time sleeping on the road but not at this place. It was one of the best places I have ever stayed at in Lake Placid. The beds are excellent as well as clean. The room was spotless. The owners were very friendly and very accomodating. When we travel to Lake Placid from now on this will be our place to stay. Maybe next time we will try the honeymoon suite.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funtravels1718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rockaway nj
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2010

My family tried to make reservation over the phone for upcoming holiday. Owner was rude and hung up on me. Unprofessional and disgusting.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank alexicek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Placid hotels

New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2010

I regularly make my way up to Lake Placid in summer and winter, Town and Country Motor Inn is one of my favorite places to stay. The first time I walked into the office I was greeted by a really silky black cat sitting in one of the armchairs, she looked fat and happy. The rooms are nice, clean and reasonably priced. There's free wi-fi (just ask at the desk for a password) an outdoor pool, BBQ area, a work-shop for tuning your skis in the winter and bike in the summer. The owners know a lot about the area and are happy to suggest an activity or sight to see. The property is right by Lake Placid itself, you can walk over to the peninsula and go swimming by the dam. Or you can go to the beach on Mirror Lake, just past Main Street, about a ten minute walk. They also have bikes you can borrow.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etch_bath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

My wife and visited Lake Placid recently. I called from my home and booked a room. The person on the other end of the phone was nice enough but upon arrival I discovered that I had booked at the wrong place. I was supposed to book at the Town Lodge just up the street. I indicated this to the lady owner was not happy and got somewhat upset. I can understand her point but she really took a twist when she noticed my wife was using the ladies room which is located next to the front desk. I mean she had to go that's it. Anyway the owner was not happy. I kind of got a bad taste in my mouth is you know what I mean. I had booked two nights and changed to one night. The room was spacious and very clean. The bathroom was spotless. There is a nice pool. The only bad thing was the noise from the heavy trucks. Our room was facing the street. Parking is good and your close to the main street in Lake Placid. The owner was not happy when we arrived before 2p.m. . Personally I would not go back because of the owner. She's just not nice. I would not want to asked for to much with her. I could lose my head.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Happytwosome60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2010

i really recomend this place if you visit lake placid,ny.the facility operated by very nice family,very generous and considered in service,and excellent knowledge about the area.
the amenities in the facility are very nice and well maintain.room cleanliness is verry good,everything works in order in the room. The value of the price is good,location is excellent. just steps away from mc donald and very short drive the center of the town.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NICEGUYS10019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Having been to Lake Placid numerous times over the last few years, I can easily say that this is my favorite place to stay there. The rooms are super clean and comfy, and we usually stay in the one with the kitchenette so that we might have an option of cooking for ourselves. In the Summer, they have an outdoor pool and a workshop area, if you need to check or adjust your bike. The hotel is right outside the center of town, and across the street from a beautiful lake. Most of the rooms have original pieces of art in them, which adds to the cool vibe of the place. The owners are knowledgeable and helpful with information about activities around the area, regardless of the season, but are really bike and ski enthusiasts, and that's where their advice is most valuable.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avoradoBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
#28 of 31 in Lake Placid
173 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#17 of 31 in Lake Placid
5 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#25 of 31 in Lake Placid
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Prague Motor Inn
Prague Motor Inn
#20 of 31 in Lake Placid
34 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maple Leaf Inn
Maple Leaf Inn
#15 of 31 in Lake Placid
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town and Country Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town and Country Motor Inn

Property: Town and Country Motor Inn
Address: 2200 Saranac Ave., Lake Placid, NY 12946-1184
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Town and Country Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Town and Country Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town And Country Motor Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing