We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless and Spot-on!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Town and Country Motor Inn
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Having been to Lake Placid numerous times over the last few years, I can easily say that this is my favorite place to stay there. The rooms are super clean and comfy, and we usually stay in the one with the kitchenette so that we might have an option of cooking for ourselves. In the Summer, they have an outdoor pool and a workshop area, if you need to check or adjust your bike. The hotel is right outside the center of town, and across the street from a beautiful lake. Most of the rooms have original pieces of art in them, which adds to the cool vibe of the place. The owners are knowledgeable and helpful with information about activities around the area, regardless of the season, but are really bike and ski enthusiasts, and that's where their advice is most valuable.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avoradoBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Town and Country Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 79 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2010

Just came back from a fantastic, snowboarding weekend in Lake Placid and spent two nights at the Town and Country Motor Inn. What I liked - very clean (I mean - spotless), affordable, comfortable rooms. I guess the fact that this place stays busy says it all (I was glad I booked in advance). Close to town center and grocery stores, generally many activities, restaurants etc. are available in the area. Will definitely come back, hopefully soon!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kamidc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2007

I asked the female owner to see a room on the top floor. She seemed angry but reluctantly got her keys and started to show me a room on the ground floor. I again asked for the top floor. She showed me a top floor room right by the noisy main road, so I asked if she had another quieter room. She said she had and when I asked to see it she said "No you can only see one room" immediately turned her back on me and walked away. I have never felt so unwelcome and was totally at a loss as to why she took this attitude with me. Needless to say I didn't stay at the motel and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
4  Thank rightmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2007

This is our favorite place to stay in Lake Placid. The motel is within walking distance to town, the prices are reasonable, and the owners are wonderful people. Highly recommend this as an economical motel in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelsJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2006

The rooms are quite spacious. There is a small table with 2 chairs in the room, as well as a balcony with just enough room for two chairs and a small chairside table.

The rooms are spotlessly clean and fresh! Newer carpeting & curtains, comfy beds and modern bathroom. These are very comfortable rooms, just on the outskirts of Lake Placid. Excellent rates.

The proprietors, Anna Polski and her husband, are cordial and friendly. (They left the door unlocked for our late arrival, and one light bulb that was "out" in the bathroom was replaced very quickly.)

Beach towels are available for pool use, and hair dryer or iron available if you ask. Coffee, tea, & donuts in the morning (it would be nice to have english muffins). No pets. The entire motel is non-smoking. Family friendly (I couldn't hear the children in the room next door).

The motel is on the main road, yet we heard no road noise at all. The air conditioner could be better on "low cool", but it's often cool enough at night to simply leave the balcony door open to let the breeze in through the screen.

Overall, the spacious room size, the convenience to town (Lake Placid), the reasonable rates, the cleanliness and comfort of the room, make this motel high on my list of "where to stay" in Lake Placid. It is well worth the price! I have given Town & Country Motor Inn an "excellent" review: don't expect the Ritz, but it is an excellent Motor Inn!!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank no_name2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Les chambres sur le côté sont très calmes car elles ne font pas face à la rue comme les autres
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sherblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#26 of 31 in Lake Placid
175 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#28 of 31 in Lake Placid
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#16 of 31 in Lake Placid
19 reviews
1.4 mi away
Prague Motor Inn
Prague Motor Inn
#18 of 31 in Lake Placid
35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maple Leaf Inn
Maple Leaf Inn
#14 of 31 in Lake Placid
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town and Country Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town and Country Motor Inn

Address: 2200 Saranac Ave., Lake Placid, NY 12946-1184
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Price Range: £80 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Town and Country Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Town and Country Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town And Country Motor Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing