We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“love it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Placid Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lake Placid Lodge
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Ithaca, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

Nice hotel with excellent services. Like the parent materials the most!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodgeGeneralManager, General Manager at Lake Placid Lodge, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Ashley M,

Love it! Thank you Ashley M for joining us and for sharing. Return soon.

Kind regards,
John Graham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    47
    25
    14
    8
See reviews for
55
269
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

The moment we arrived, Ryan gave us a fantastic tour of the Lodge with a complete history. My wife and I were in awe the moment we saw the view from the Lodge. Our mountain view cabin was incredible. I especially loved having the fireplace. The food at Soltice was delicious and Maggies Pub is a great spot for a casual meal. If I could give 6 stars, I would!

Room Tip: When we go back, we're getting a mountain view cabin again. It's worth the extra $!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony_O_TFNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodgeGeneralManager, General Manager at Lake Placid Lodge, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Tony_O_TFNC,
Thank you for reviewing the Lake Placid Lodge. Your review and your support of the Lodge are both very much appreciated. We are grateful that Ryan is part of our team. I will personally thank him for his service and let him know you enjoyed his tour. Again, Tony_O_TFNC thank you so much.
Kind regards,
John Graham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowayton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Stayed here in July 2010- my husband was competing in Ironman Lake Placid. Truly a stunning Adirondack resort. The staff here are top notch- they remembered my husband from the year before, and even tracked him during the race online! They were kind enough to shuttle me back and forth to the race whenever I called them. Breakfast is incredible, and the view just makes it even better! The boat tour of Lake Placid was a nice relaxing way to spend the afternoon. We had dinner at the restaurant there one evening and everything was perfect. Even love the discreetly placed blankets on the chairs in case of an evening chill. We will be back!!

Room Tip: Ampersand- beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLEinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodgeGeneralManager, General Manager at Lake Placid Lodge, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear JLEinCT,

Thank you so much for joining us for Ironman. We are always in awe of the tri-athletes-it is truly an amazing feat. We are so happy to hear it was a great experience for you both and appreciate you sharing your review on Trip Advisor. We are looking forward to you joining us again this year, and wish your husband a happy and safe training schedule.

Kind regards,
John Graham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

After a long drive from New Hampshire on our way home to Ontario, we arrived in Lake Placid just after dusk. My nephew had suggested that we check out this placed based on a recent (great) experience he had in the dining room. Unfortunately, we never had the chance. After following GPS directions down dark, poorly signed roads I found the entrance. I was intrigued by the unique and natural knarled wood around the big door under the car port. Intrique lead to disappointment as I entered the equally unique lobby where the front desk clerk was on the phone selling a gift certificate. I waited patiently, he didn't look up or acknowledge me. Then he disappeared into the back office to continue taking credit car information. I looked around, seeing one other staff member (housekeeper), also no smile, no acknowledgement. I finally left, dismayed, not what I expected from a Relais & Chateau.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodgeGeneralManager, General Manager at Lake Placid Lodge, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Dear Grafton, Jim,

Thank you for your post. I am sorry you had such difficulty finding us. While there are signs at each of the turns to the Lodge, we are definitely off the beaten path. The Lodge is set into the side of hill looking over pristine Lake Placid, beautiful Buck Island and Whiteface Mountain. Each guest is truly important to us, whether joining us overnight or for a wonderful meal in Maggie's Pub or Artisans. Please feel free to contact me personally next time you are in Lake Placid, I would love to personally give you a tour of Lodge.
Sincerely,

John Graham
General Manager
Lake Placid Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Our third trip to the Lake Placid Lodge reinforced why we love this place and why it will continue to be our destination of choice when visiting the Adirondacks. Everything was excellent on this trip as on previous trips. One thing we got to take advantage of this trip was the on-property activities. Every morning started with a kayak on the lake - I can't think of a better way to start a free day in the mountians. Mountain biking was great and they have a huge fleet of brand new mountain bikes and the provided trail maps to enjoy. The small motorized boats are so cool - you pilot the boats yourself and taking a personal private champagne cruise on a small boat is a really amazing way to share time with your significant other! We find the lodge to be immensely romantic and if you have an innate sense of wonder, this is a place that will enchant you! We love it and recommend it especially for couples!

Room Tip: One thing that makes this place so great is that the entire staff is willing to work with you in ord...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WindsongBFLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Our visit to the Lodge had its highs and lows. First, I must comment that I was graciously upgraded by the manager after an inquiry concerning a poor review I read on TA in addition to the upgrade for booking via Amex. The room was lovely and had great views. However, the many ups and downs were not expected from a Relais and Chateaux establishment.
First the positives. The room was lovely and well appointed. The food in Maggie's Pub was very good. The bartender was wonderful and all guests were raving about her. The daily boat tour of the Lake by the Lodge's "Captain Cook" was great and not to be missed. The staff kept our room stocked with firewood for a nightly fire. The Lodge is lovely and the gift shop is terrific. The views of the Lake and Whiteface Mountain are beyond compare.
Now the negatives, First, the service and communication was inconsistent. When we checked in we had a complimentary half bottle of wine. No cork screw. When we went for a walk, my husband let the front desk know there was not a cork screw. They said it would be right up. It never appeared. We were told conflicting times about the boat tours. While the room was lovely, it was not clean. There were dust bunnies all over the floor and dust arose from the covers when we sat on the bed. The deep tub had grit around the drain!!!
Finally, while we enjoyed the breakfasts and the Pub, our dinner at Artisan's was a big disappointment. It was my husband's birthday. His short ribs were so bad he did not eat them. And, the cheese plate he had for dessert contained only Carr's water crackers, 2 cheddars and a hard brie. While they took the ribs and cheese plate(he did not eat either) off the bill, he went to bed hungry. One of the C's of Relais and Chateaux is Cuisine - this was a terrible disappointment and made for a memorable birthday!!! With a little bit of tightening up, the Lodge could be wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nevermissBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valentva86, General Manager at Lake Placid Lodge, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Dear nevermissboston,

We thank you so much for joining us at the Lodge.
We have read your reviews “Ups and Downs” and “Disappointment” on the Artisans at Lake Placid Lodge Trip Advisor page. As I did on the night you were so terribly disappointed with the two dishes, again apologize for failing to meet your expectations. We felt, and said this to you that night, that you were absolutely right. We had received feedback on the short rib dish, and as I promised, the dish was removed from the menu. We would gladly have prepared a different dish for you. Unfortunately were not aware until after the fact that you were so unhappy. The short rib dish is inherently fattier, and was not to everyone’s liking. We also felt your comment about the cheese was completely valid, and since discovered the crackers were and ill-fated solution to a housemaid bread that had not been prepared.

We do our utmost to meet and exceed the expectations of our guests, and when we fail to do so we take those situations very seriously. We have followed up on the points you made at the time you joined us.

We wish you continued happy travels, and again apologize for failing to meet your expectations.

Kind regards,

John Graham
General Manager
Lake Placid Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

This lodge, from the minute you wolk in you feel an instant calm and serenity. Lake Placid is directly in front of you at all times, be conning you to take ride with Maggie on the water to discover her trails.
The property is magnificent, we stayed in a private cabin on the lake.
We rented the wine cellar for my boyfriends 65th birthday, we had an amazing private dinner with the chef, a waiter and the somalier.
Service, food, wine was excellent. Most accommodating staff. Will go back next year

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelGirl086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
1.8 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Lake Placid
Courtyard Lake Placid
#10 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Placid Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Placid Lodge

Property: Lake Placid Lodge
Address: 144 Lodge Way, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#10 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lake Placid Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Placid Lodge is a beautifully handcrafted Lodge nestled in the Adirondack mountains, situated on the shores of Lake Placid. The Lodge offers among the finest accommodations and dining in a truly comfortable, rustic, yet refined setting. Pamper yourself in the new Main Lodge, the private cabins or in the newly remodelled Lakeside suites, all offering gorgeous views of Lake Placid and Whiteface Mountain. Artisans restaurant offers wonderful dining on the deck overlooking Lake Placid. Maggie's pub offers a relaxed setting serving both lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Lake Placid Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing