We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 5-star stay with a deduction of 1/4 star!”
Review of Lake Placid Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lake Placid Lodge
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A 5-star stay with a deduction of 1/4 star!”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I'll get to the 1/4 star deduction later - The Lake Placid Lodge delivers 5 stars on most every level, and this review is one of high praise for this outstanding hotel. I don't think there is a bad room on the whole property, or one without the incredible view of both Lake Placid and Whiteface Mountain. You just have to decide how you want to enjoy that amazing view - from the deck of your 2-room suite (perhaps a bit less private) or from the water's edge in your very own Adirondack chairs perfectly placed outside each of the (more private) cabins, or perhaps from the top floor of the lodge itself, with the advantage of an elevator to take you there. (The lakeside suites involve a bit of stair climbing, and might not be best for someone with mobility issues.)

So, what are the details that earned it my 1/4 star deduction? Just a few small missteps, but when you are paying over $1000 a night, (including an additional resort fee) you really shouldn't find anything lacking. Here is what was: the room came with both an electric kettle -for making tea (nice selection!) and wonderful hot chocolate - and a Keurig coffee machine, but no sugar, cream, or spoons/stirrers/utensils. They also provide a lovely pouch of homemade granola and milk in the fridge to go with it, but no bowl to eat it from (and again, no spoons). I had to phone for these, and they were delivered immediately - the Lodge is incredibly responsive. But curiously enough, this oversight was repeated each day; it obviously isn't part of housekeeping's checklist. I finally just used the handle of the fork which had been delivered with the great afternoon snacks they bring to the room (more on these in a minute). Also, the robes were missing from the room, and had to be phoned for as well. At this level of accommodation, I also am used to the bathroom amenities being replaced after being used, but to my surprise, this wasn't the case, (along with face towels). Hopefully, these few tiny glitches will be addressed so that the Lodge will continue to garner the 5 stars it absolutely deserves.

With the exception of the above oversights, the attention to detail is otherwise phenomenal. The combination of luxury and idiosyncratic Adirondack decoration make these some of the most charismatic and comfortable hotel rooms I've ever experienced. The quality of the linens,towels, and down comforters; the placement of lights and fans and heat lamps; fireplaces already laid with wood and paper for effortless lighting, shawls for extra warmth slung over the backs of chairs - everything is fabulous and well thought out. The design of the bathrooms (in the suites, where we stayed) couldn't be more comfortable or spacious: separate toilet room, double sinks, huge soaking tub, and enormous separate shower (with 2 heads including rain) make the bathroom first class.

You are welcomed with champagne at check-in, welcomed to the room with a bottle of wine, and each mid-day a lovely box of 3 different snacks is brought to the room to tide you over until you go to dinner. And those snacks change each day: Day 1 was trufffled cheese, poached pears, and candied nuts; Day 2 was parmesan, olives, and pecans, and so forth. When you come back to the room after turn-down (which is a full service), you will find the BEST freshly made cookies on the pillow, also different each night. You are truly spoiled!

After a wonderful and quiet night's sleep, you can eat breakfast (included) until 10:30, and it is fabulous! Pick up a copy of either the New York Times or the Wall St. Journal (they have plenty of both) and choose your table, most of which have that incredible view. Eating out on the porch is totally comfortable even on colder mornings, because of the well-placed heat lamps, and if it is still too chilly for you, every other chair has a soft, warm shawl thrown over it that you can wrap around yourself. The breakfast starts with a basket of various pastries, all freshly made and different each morning, and then you can choose from a large menu of made-to-order items; even if you stay a week you won't get tired of this breakfast every day. Then head out to the lawn and settle into a lounge or Adirondack chair, and soak in the view. Or get yourself out on the lake, and take in the vista while kayaking or paddle-boating; they provide every possible means to get you out there! If it's raining, head to the quirky and wonderful bar room and play pool, or choose from one of the many games and puzzles and books to be found on shelves around the room. And don't leave without ordering a drink from the bar - the cocktails, although expensive!, are creative and well-crafted.

This place is very special, but may not be for everyone....although I hear they are finally going to install televisions in the rooms, so maybe that will make the difference and it could be for everyone. That might be a shame, however, as now it feels elegant and exclusive; it might feel less so with TV blaring from every room instead of a quiet appreciation for this remarkable location - no other hotel can even come close.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zorro_and_Gatinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    49
    26
    14
    9
See reviews for
56
281
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Of all our travels, our two nights here were among the best we could remember. But two nights is way too few to do this justice. We stayed in Mt. Marble cabin that had a great view of the lake only 50 yards away. Most of the cabins have Adirondack chairs in front of them facing the lake, but Mt. Marble doesn't. I'm sure we could have borrowed some unused ones, but with all the other chairs around the lake, there was no need to. (There are only about 30 units here, and half are small cabins that are a short walk along a covered walkway to the main building.) It was full of amenities that make this so special, including a daily cheese tray, complimentary wine and soft drinks, and a pod coffee maker. The fireplace was already loaded with wood and paper--and we needed it on one crispy morning. Food at the Artisans was great both for breakfast and dinner. This is truly a Bucket List place--for the views, the service, the food, and the accommodations.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rjmartintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This is a magnificent experience...right on beautiful lake placid with lots of support for water activities and hiking. Don't miss the hacker craft trip...very informative. The rooms are well set up including decks and fireplaces that are easy to use. Dining was excellent and the breakfast was superb.

Room Tip: Take the hacker craft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cptravers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Sad to say, we have never explored the Adirondack region of our own state! I am hard pressed to find a more beautiful location, or a more amazing place to stay than at the Lake Placid Lodge. Beverly, the front desk supervisor is nothing short of a gem. She welcomes you warmly and is sincerely interested that you feel at home and have a wonderful time. She changed our cabin gladly when there was a mixup as to whether we were staying lakeview or lakefront. I had heard amazing things about the room service breakfast, and although it was fresh, it was not nearly amongst the best that we have had. The lodge is expensive, but if you can swing it, PLEASE try and get a cabin that is lakefront. The views are so breathtaking....what a magical refuge from everyday life. In short, if we could go back tomorrow, we would!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RubyP_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We've stayed at the Lake Placid Lodge twice, once with our dog and both times we were very impressed.This is a superlative hotel. We have stayed in 5 star resorts in NYC, Rome, Kyoto, Paris and Hong Kong. None combine the quality of the room, the service, the view and the food. Although this hotel is expensive, guests enjoy the beauty of staying in a wonderful gallery of Adirondack art. So many unique pieces of furniture, wonderful paintings, lamps and sculpture adorn every space. Getting up in the morning and watching the sun rise over Lake Placid from your balcony is truly memorable. The staff are ready to help with anything at a moment's notice and are unfailingly pleasant. We ate at most of the best restaurants in Lake Placid during our several trips, and can say that Artisan's at the Lodge is the best. It is rare to find the combination of food quality, ambiance, view and service. What a luxury experience.
Some other guests have mentioned that the nearby Whiteface Lodge is a better hotel, but having visited it, the rooms, furnishings and restaurant all have the feel of an Andirondack-styled Sheraton. The menu is basically surf and turf. Not extraordinary.
The Adirondacks are unique and beautiful mountains, rising out of northern New York as if by magic. The Lake Placid Lodge celebrates this and lets its guests focus on it's beauty. The Lodge's policy of restricting small children is welcome to patrons seeking quiet elegance.
We really enjoyed our trip, and recommend it very strongly - we'll be coming back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

A visit to the Adirondacks was on our travel wish list...the staff and facilities of Lake Placid Lodge fullfilled our wishes. We stayed in Birch cabin next to the main lodge. The amenities met the expectations for the price paid. Comfy king bed, leather chairs for reading inside (fireplace too, but it was too warm to use) porch swing and adirondack chairs outside for taking in the wonderful view of the lake and Whiteface mountain. Wine, cheese, fruit, juices, fresh baked cookies and sweets in our room. French press for in room coffee...(but service for anything was immediate) Two bathrooms - one with large soaking tub, the other with a large couple's shower. Took advantage of the lodge canoes, electric boats and HackerCraft. Artisan's provided a wonderful dinner. Breakfast was our favorite meal each day of the four we were there. I chose to sit on the lodge deck while my wife preferred to have it delivered to her in bed. The lodge staff could not have been nicer - of course they have a great work environment! Would like to return during the snow season to discover more!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HundredTrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I ended up paying over $600 for a room at the Lake Placid Lodge, which was a total waste of money.

I booked the room when I was pregnant, thinking that we would have one last getaway before the baby. Then my doctor advised against being in Lake Placid (and not near a NICU) around the due date. So, I rebooked our stay for 4 months after the baby was born. The Lodge gave me a suprisingly hard time about rebooking, but ultimately let me change the date after much back-and-forth. Then shortly before our arrival, I noticed for the first time that it said on the website "Children over the age of twelve are welcome at the Lake Placid Lodge." A nice way of saying children are banned? Note - they do not have this important point in the terms and conditions when you make your purchase or otherwise clearly stated when you are making a non-refundable booking. I desperately tried to make other arrangements - perhaps my parents could come and watch the baby overnight, and we could still enjoy the hotel during the day....Well, when we arrived we were informed that the baby was allowed no where on the premises. Not to join us for lunch, not by the lake... The man informing us of this looked at the baby rather horrified, trying to disguise an emotion that was clearly "Oh god - get out." He said - "Don't worry - the baby's allowed in the lobby at this MOMENT, as we are talking about it, but unfortunately, we are rather strict with this policy..." We were at a loss for what to do for the day. We'd paid to enjoy these hotel facilities that could not be enjoyed. Long story short, we ended up booking another hotel that accepted babies for the day & the night. We gave back the keys to the Lake Placid Lodge without using the room (although I looked at it).

The Lake Placid Lodge has refused to give us any refund, any discount, or any other accommodation. I don't know whether they were able to fill our vacant room (which we vacated at about 3pm that day) or not. The vibe I got from this hotel was one of complete intolerance and snobbery. The Lodge has continued to refuse to give us any money back since this happened.

Importantly, after this horrible experience, and paying hundreds of dollars for NOTHING, we went to the Whiteface Lodge, which is another nearby resort. The room we got was less money and MUCH, MUCH nicer - SEE MY OTHER REVIEW OF WHITEFACE.

I recommend that you all go to the Whiteface Lodge instead for a better experience all around!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank alka504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,262 reviews
2.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
2.4 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#17 of 31 in Lake Placid
10 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Placid Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Placid Lodge

Property: Lake Placid Lodge
Address: 144 Lodge Way, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1273
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#10 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lake Placid Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Placid Lodge is a beautifully handcrafted Lodge nestled in the Adirondack mountains, situated on the shores of Lake Placid. The Lodge offers among the finest accommodations and dining in a truly comfortable, rustic, yet refined setting. Pamper yourself in the new Main Lodge, the private cabins or in the newly remodelled Lakeside suites, all offering gorgeous views of Lake Placid and Whiteface Mountain. Artisans restaurant offers wonderful dining on the deck overlooking Lake Placid. Maggie's pub offers a relaxed setting serving both lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Lake Placid Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing