We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, we did not want to leave!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Placid
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wildwood on the Lake
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place, we did not want to leave!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

My family ( kids aged 10 yrs and 8) have just spent five nights at this place. We were only going to spend four nights but extended the stay. We allloved iit. Our cabin was well laid out and the view from our porch was spectacular. There is large grassy area leading down to lake where many chairs are available to waste the time away reading a book or just looking at the mountains. Each night the hosts light a fire right next to the lake. There are kyaks, wheel boats, canoes and row boats all available for use.The kids all went fishing and chased frogs only a few steps from our cabin door. At other times they were in the lake or indoor pool.The hosts and staff were very friendly and did their best to ensure our stay was trouble free I would recommend this place to family,couples or any person wanting
a quiet break.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4aussietravellers_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
felixFelix, General Manager at Wildwood on the Lake, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
We are thrilled you had a great vacation here with us at the Wildwood. We really enjoyed getting to know your family. We pride ourselves on being a family friendly property and hope to see you all again soon!

Best-

Petra Weber
General Manager
Wildwood on the Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    77
    15
    8
    6
See reviews for
66
112
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Renfrew, Canada
Level Contributor
163 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

This motel located towards the west end of Lake Placid is modern, clean and close to some restaurants. Our room had fridge & microwave with excellent sitting area outside our door overlooking the lake. Plenty of free parking with inside corridors. The bed had bit of a dip in the middle which didn't mean a good sleep but only for one night. Hotel is biker freindly providing rags for cleaning your ride. In door pool and spa is complemented by and outside swimming area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank cleoder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
felixFelix, General Manager at Wildwood on the Lake, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our proptery. We are pleased that you found so many of the features of our property to be positive. We apologize that your sleep quality was not excellent. The beds in the lakeside rooms are new pillowtop queen size beds which might make them a little softer than non pillow top beds. We hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are in town.

Best Regards,

Petra Weber
General Manager
Wildwood on the Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neptune City, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

i can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our vacation at Wildwood on the Lake. It was everything we needed and so much more. Our cabin was clean, large and comfortable and just steps to beautiful Lake Placid. The whole complex was clean and neat, but not fancy..so relaxing in that atmosphere was a breeze. The owners/managers are on-site to answer questions and do a great job keeping things running smoothly and looking good. Location just could not be any better too.
What a stay! If you want all your cares to fall away on your vacation then make a reservation at Wildwood on the Lake!

Room Tip: I recommend Cabin 8!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabethk_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
felixFelix, General Manager at Wildwood on the Lake, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are so pleased that your stay was great. We take great pride in our property and love sharing our "piece of the lake" with everyone who comes to stay. We look forward to seeing you and your family next year!


Best-

Petra Weber
General Manager
Wildwood on the Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga County, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

We stayed in a very nice suite overlooking the lake for three nights.
Not many people around as school was not in recess yet.
The owners are always friendly and accommodating.
There is always a campfire on the lake shore each night..

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goalnantuckt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

My husband and I have camped for training weekends in the past but this place offers such a great value there's no need to anymore. We stayed here in may and June , once in a lakeside room and once in the pool room. Both rooms were great with plenty if room for two triathletes ample gear.

The location is great - a few minutes' bike to mirror lake and the oval. Theres a rite aid right across the street and don't miss the new leaf coffe house on saran ave. Yummy!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariaismaslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswego, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

We book a room with Wildwood for the Lake Placid marathon. Our stay was Friday and Saturday nights. The hotel is one of the older places in Lake Placid. However, the room was great. We had a first floor lakeside room. It was extremely clean, the linens, floors and bathroom. All of the furniture was in excellent condition. The bathroom had been recently remodeled. There is an actual key for the door. The hotel is on the edge of the village and everything in town is within easy walking distance. We will stay here again. The room price was a great value and less than the majority of other hotels.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank echunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

We stayed in room 101. Not a very friendly welcome at the reception. I was immediately asked to pay upfront for the 3 days stay. The room was good size but dark. The towels were worn out and the room smelled from the kitchen nearby. I hurt my knee and had to leave a day early. Owners refused to reimburse me for the last night or offered any compromise.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gfb7339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
felixFelix, Manager at Wildwood on the Lake, responded to this review, 4 April 2011
We are saddened that you chose to send a negative review a mere 3 days after departure. Certainly not enough time for us to have taken any action in regards to your early departure. With that in mind you were informed that it was unlikely the kitchenette unit could be rented for one night as it was booked the following day. It is common practice to require pre-payment and is an industry standard for Holidays and Special events as it also protects you. As I recall your 11:00 am arrival was a surprise and your unit was not yet ready for check-in. Maybe that made you feel unwelcome? Lake Placid was #1 in off hill activities and as you were not checked out @ 11 am I assumed you were making use of the beautiful day as your injury was not restricting your walking around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.8 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.6 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildwood on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildwood on the Lake

Property: Wildwood on the Lake
Address: 2135 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1151
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated by the Weber's for 40 years, join us this winter to take in all the Whiteface Lake Placid Region has to offer. Enjoy our convenient location to restaurants & stores. All rooms are non-smoking, come equipped with fridge, coffeemaker, microwave, cable, iron & hairdryer. Efficiencies/Cottages some with kitchens, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs add to the ADK experience. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, whirlpool and sauna. Join us for coffee & muffins in the lobby from 8am. Free Wi-Fi. Flat Screen TVs.Ski&Stay, Group and Winter packages available. We look forward to speaking with you to plan your getaway! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wildwood On The Lake Hotel Lake Placid
Wildwood On The Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing