We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great, cosy place”
Review of Stagecoach Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Placid
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stagecoach Inn
Ranked #6 of 14 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
Libertyville, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great, cosy place”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Great place and great service. Cosy and comfortable. The breakfast was exceptionaf and inn keepers have an excellent sense

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have low ceilings. If this bothers you, mention it when making the reservation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank san679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
45
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Mary Pat and Tony will make you feel perfectly at home in this beautiful historic inn, full of character and charm. I have never experienced hospitality like this—from dinner recommendations and reservations, trail and activity information, huge, homemade breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese and great conversation—it was like staying with friends! And, it was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amberlea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Hands down the best place we have ever stayed. The Stagecoach Inn far surpassed our expectations. There was so much character and every detail was covered. Mary Pat took great care of us from the homemade breakfast (huge breakfast selection that she cooks up for you, and you have to try the homeade granola and yogurt!) to guidance on trails to hike and water for our packs. We were able to enjoy coffee on the extended front porch and the company of two great pups.
They all entertained us so much, we grabbed a pizza and beer from the local brewery, and just sat and talked to Mary Pat and her husband most of the night.
If you want the best Lake Placid has to offer, you have to stay here! You will not regret it! We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mcornei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Spey, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Stagecoach Inn during Thanksgiving 2010 and we are so glad we chose to stay there. Mary Pat was the perfect hostess. We really felt like we were in our own home, reading and napping in front of our own fireplace. Mary Pat offered evening snacks and wine/beer on Friday and the breakfast each morning was great. The location was perfect, literally minutes from everything Lake Placid has to offer. The only thing that was missing was Tony who was away on business. We would have loved to have him there for our Italian sing-along! If you are looking for a lodge-type place to stay that is cozy and rustic, this is the place.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanVin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, CO
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Our stay at The Stagecoach Inn was arranged at the last minute and we are both so thankful that we discovered this amazing sanctuary. Mary Pat and Tony (both former Olympic participants) are outstanding hosts. Mary Pat proudly (and rightfully so) gave us the grand tour of their beautiful Inn upon our arrival and shared its extensive and unbelievably lengthy history. She and Tony had to rebuild and renovate the entire place in the last few years after a fire almost completely destoyed this landmark. Mary Pat's professional decorating flair is beyond belief. The vision she and Tony shared and acted upon has resulted in a place that we are determined to visit again and again. Tony has a fairly demanding job at the Olympic Center but still managed to bring an incredibly kind and welcoming presence to the wine and cheese hour. How am I ever going to find Tractor Cheese??? (Delicious -- as was the Gourmandize) And by the way, it was way more than cheese. It was an exquisite experience in the cozy bar area with soft music enhancing the entire "happy hour." We were lucky to be the only guests that night and truly loved spending time with Mary Pat and Tony. They recommended a restaurant for dinner that turned out to contribute greatly to our magical Lake Placid memory. May I just say that the bed in the Jenny room was the most comfortable bed I've ever enjoyed. Needless to say, breakfast was another amazing experience. Mary Pat is truly a domestic goddess. She rolls out the red carpet on a scale unlike any place we've stayed before. We woke to snow (our first this year) and leaving that gorgeous fireplace was not easy. I really CANNOT wait to go back. Thank you Mary Pat and Tony!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SSS76CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoneham, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

We visited Stagecoach Inn during a pretty quiet time-- a little late for leaf peeping and early for snow sports. The inn was a warm, friendly place to stay. The decor feels very "adirondacky" with its woodwork and cabin-like feel but with much more upscale decor and furniture. (Nice to escape the floral wallpaper, floral bedding, floral carpet covering most B&Bs!)
Wine and cheese hour was relaxing and fun. MaryPat is a very welcoming host and if you're able to meet Tony he's really interesting to talk to about the winter sports in Lake Placid especially bobsledding! We finished the evening feeling more like we had been to a dinner party with friends than staying at an inn. Very nice. (After talking to Tony we took a tour of the bobsled and luge center during our visit-- awesome to learn about this sport and see trainers zooming down the course!)
The inn sits on a main road so we were a little nervous about traffic but there was really no traffic overnight.
We had the relaxing and fun weekend getaway we wanted. Thank you to MaryPat and Tony- we really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderingJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, ON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2010

We recently returned from a 2 night stay at the Stagecoach Inn and I would have to say it was probably the best mini vacation we have ever had. The Inn is very charming, cosy and beautifully decorated. Mary Pat and Tony are one of a kind hosts and make you feel very comfortable and a part of their family. They provide a wine and cheese every evening from 5-6 p.m. and this allows guests to get to know one another. Breakfast was extremely good and you certainly don't walk away hungry. The sign posted outside sums it up...."Come as Guests, Leave as Friends". Highly Recommend!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula_Kerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,262 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#17 of 31 in Lake Placid
10 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
1.5 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
327 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Haus
The Haus
#2 of 14 in Lake Placid
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stagecoach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stagecoach Inn

Property: Stagecoach Inn
Address: 370 Old Military Road, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1813
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing