We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best room in town”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Placid
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Art Devlin's Olympic Motor Inn
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“best room in town”
Reviewed 29 July 2008

As Jesse at the desk said, best room in town for the price. He was right. We had an upscale king room which was huge and was the nicest room i have ever stayed at. The price was very reasonable for the room you got. The bubble tub had lots of power and even a mood light . We enjoyed the lazy boy chairs and the plasma tv. We were on the second floor and even tho you looked out over the town, the mountains and ski jump were very visible. What stood out was the feeling you got from the owner to all the employees. You felt very welcome, as if they truly cared about your stay and not only interested in making a fast buck.
Took a look at the renovated rooms with two beds, they also have a plasma tv on wall and a really nice bathroom.
We have our own cleaning business, and i must say, the room we stayed at was perfect compared to a room we had at the courtyard down the road last fall.
The outdoor pool was warm enough to swim in and they had a small pond with waterfall to add to the sitting area.
Thanks to all the reviewers before us as you helped make our decision the right one. Already planning trip back. Just hope all the good reviews doesnt cause them to raise their prices.

  • Liked — grat value for the money, top notch accommodations
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunloving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    130
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
131
220
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Record10
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2008

The hotel and room were indeed nice. However, they felt the need to charge $240 a night with a five night minimum for guests for the IronMan race that was in Lake Placid. The motel is not even a full service motel. I had calls to my room that did not make it as there was no operator.

Also, the hotel is not as "Dog friendly" as they proclaim on their website. We have a VERY freindly adult dog that is well behaved. You can not leave your dog in the room with out being there - first time I ever ran into that rule.

Room was super clean, nice TV, shower head is at the breast level of a 6' tall man.

  • Liked — Clean Room
  • Disliked — Ripping people off cause they knew they could.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Record10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtDevlin, Owner at Art Devlin's Olympic Motor Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2008
We book our rooms for the Iron Man one year in advance. We take an eighty-person waiting list and turn away at least 500 people over the next six months. Some motels do have a seven-night minimum but five nights is standard in close proximity to the transition zone. The room that this trip advisor member rented was a room that an Iron Man sponsor realized that he had double booked and asked us to try to re-rent his room a few days before his check in date. This couple that booked the room was able to get the room for four nights due to the lateness of the rebooking. There were probably 500 Iron Man competitors that would have loved to have that room and would have appreciated the bargain they had.
When the couple made the reservation & when they registered they failed to mention they had a dog. The first morning when the maid went to clean their room she found they had left their dog unattended so she didn’t enter the room. When they returned we informed him of our dog policy, which includes not leaving a dog in the room unattended and there’s an area in the back for them to do their business. The next day I looked down in our gated pool area and there is the dog urinating on the grass where pool bathers lay and walk around barefoot. When I asked the woman not to have her dog use the pool area I was told it wouldn’t hurt the grass and it was no big deal. The next day we watched the couple return to their room without their dog –apparently the dog was left alone in the room again.
My advice to this guest is to not book a room that they think is of poor value and always inform the motel that you have a dog so you can conform to their rules. There are only a few motels in Lake Placid that still allow dogs. Being a considerate pet owner is a good way to keep this privilege for others. Art
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, KS
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2008

In looking for a nice place to stay, I contacted Art Devlin's. I reserved a room in the "upscale" section. It exceeded my expectations in every way imaginable. Honestly, it was one of the nicest, cleanest hotel rooms I've ever stayed in, at any price.

I was in room #221. There is a cedar ceiling, a 42" plasma TV, an upper-crust bed, two big, cushy leather recliners, a great view of the mountains...and the bathroom.

The bathroom was ENORMOUS, with tile floor, a walk-in shower with smoked glass, and a two-person jacuzzi tub. Beautiful and luxurious.

Just a fantastic stay, and the rate was around $116.

  • Liked — Quality of the room, especially for the price
  • Disliked — I liked everything
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jjskck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2008

Found this hotel on the internet and selected it for its great price and the fact it was dog friendly. We took an "upscale room" which was only slightly more expensive than a regular room. We checked in during the middle of a firefighter’s convention (they checked out later that afternoon), but the owner went out of his way to get us in our room early. The room was incredible and included a view of the mountains/ski jump, a large wall-mounted plasma TV, spa tub, fridge, and 2 overstuffed leather recliners. The hotel was close to downtown (about 4-5 blocks) and many restaurants were within walking distance. The collection of Art Devlin's ski trophies/awards and WWII medals in the lobby was also very interesting. We stayed two nights and were most impressed!

  • Liked — Location, view, room, price
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank breezdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2008

We stayed at Art Devlin's May 14-May 18. We really enjoyed the experience. Initially we planned to stay in Saranac Lake in Best Western, but after learning about BW's rather discriminatory policy on dogs (only smoking, ground floor rooms), we read some reviews on Trip Advisor and decided on Art Devlin's. We were not disappointed. We received a first floor non-smoking room with a king-size bed and a really nice view on the mountains (Room #39). It looks like most of the first floor rooms have good views as they face the mountains. We also enjoyed an off-season rate of $80 for 2 adults and a dog.

ROOMS: The room we had was spacious and spotlessly clean. It had a vaulted ceiling finished in wooden planks. There was a fridge, a hair dryer, a loveseat and an armchair in the room. What was missing was a coffee maker. Also, some details of the decor could be a bit more updated (wallpapers and green carpeting weren't too beautiful), but overall the room was cozy and nice to stay in. The king-size bed was comfortable. The bathroom was tiled and nicely updated.

GROUNDS: nice and meticulously maintained. Lots of effort was put to keep the lawns weed free and the shrubs, bushes and flowers are definately well taken care of. Small waterfall and the pool are nice touches to the grounds.

LOCATION: The motel is located 7min walk from the strict downtown core, and right on Main Street. You have to walk a bit uphill to get there, but coming back it's much easier. There are some restaurants and bars in the immediate neighbourhood of the motel.

SERVICES: It is a motel so there weren't too many. The room was kept very clean during our stay and bath essentials were promptly replenished. The continental breakfast offered on site consisted of donuts, muffins and coffee/tea only. This could definately be improved by, e.g., adding bagels, cream cheese, jam, honey etc.

Overall it was a very good experience to stay in Art Devlin's and I would be happy to return here.

  • Liked — It was more than you would expect from the motel
  • Disliked — Continental breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank prudenttrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2008

We recently choose to stay at the Art Devlin Motel based on reviews we saw on trip advisor.
Unfortunately during our stay the weather did not cooperate and we ended up skiing in freezing rain and less than ideal conditions. We were booked to stay 3 nights and have 2 full days of skiings.
Due to the poor conditions, our 2nd day of skiing was cancelled due to a power outage and the resort dealing with the frozen rain.
Art, the owner, provided us with excellent service. He continually checked to see what the status of the resort was. When we decided it was best not to ski, he checked weather conditions for usas well as road conditions. He even let me check the internet for possible shopping areas. He helped us with reimbursement for the day we could not ski. The service he provided was above and beyond. He even called us at home to see if we were successful with trying to get reimbursed.
We had no problem with cancelling our 3rd night.
The hotel itself is fairly simple but nicely renovated and clean.
It is situated in the village and it is easy to walk anywhere.
I would definitely recommend staying there.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — carrying bags up stairs
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Vacationeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2008

This is an excellent remodeled 60s style motor court. As you can see by it's rating - #2 in all of Lake Placid, even among the fancier hotels and chains - it is a terrific value. There are really no views or huge frills to speak of. It's just a great, well run, nice place in the heart of the village.

Our room was spotless, the spa tub was big and absolutely terrific, the family of owners couldn't be nicer, and late check in was arranged. This is one of Lake Placid's great secrets, and a real gem - a well run, clean, affordable place right on Main Street in the heart of the Village. I recommend it over and over.

  • Liked — Great location, great price, spotless
  • Disliked — Nothing to complain about, but no views at all
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Phill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.5 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
209 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
1.2 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Devlin's Olympic Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Devlin's Olympic Motor Inn

Property: Art Devlin's Olympic Motor Inn
Address: 2764 Main St, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3661
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#6 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Art Devlin`s Olympic Motor Hotel Lake Placid
Art Devlins Olympic Hotel
Art Devlins Olympic Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing