We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stopover in Lake Placid on way home from Maine.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Art Devlin's Olympic Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Placid
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Art Devlin's Olympic Motor Inn
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stopover in Lake Placid on way home from Maine.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stopped in at Art Devlins last Thurs. Aug. 14th. We spent the afternoon and night there. Loved this two story motel. Our room was very large with 2 double beds. Also a sitting area. The bathroom was a good size and lots of counter space. A big flat screen tv. We were on the second floor and we had a huge private balcony. There was a nice outdoor pool and several sitting areas around the motel. From 7am to 11am every morning u could go up to the front office and get free coffee, tea, muffins and donuts. There is a lot of history to this motel. Art Devlin was an Olympic skiier a lot of years ago and this was his motel and I believe is still run by his family. All his Olympic medals are displayed in a case in the front lobby. We had a great stay here. Wish it could have been longer. We liked it so much that my husband and I and the couple we were travelling with have decided to go back next summer to spend a few more nights there. There is a lot to do in the Lake Placid area. If u r in the area U have to go downtown and eat at JIMMYS. Its on the water and the food is fabulous. The price of the motel is great. We were on the road for 2 weeks visiting NB, PEI, Maine and New York and Arts was one of the best places we stayed and the cheapest.

Room Tip: We took a room on the second floor at the back. Great view of the Olympic ski jumps and the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linwright2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    127
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
127
218
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Although not all rooms at this motel are created equal, we've always found that staying in the rooms that face the mountain is a good experience. These rooms are quite large, recently renovated, clean and have a balcony with a mountain view. Additionally, the pool area is lovely and well maintained and the price is right.

Room Tip: There are three levels of rooms. Choose the gold rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Girl99NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
94 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

I can only say “ditto” to the many previous glowing reviews of Art Devlin’s.

I first learned of Art Devlin’s on a website for those traveling with pets; Art Devlin’s is listed as very “dog friendly” and, indeed, it is. That’s a big plus for me. I then went online to check on what TripAdvisor and other sites were saying about Art Devlin’s. Based upon the very upbeat reviews, I booked a “Gold Specialty Room.”

I’m glad I did. It is everything as advertised: spacious, huge bathroom with walk-in shower and Jacuzzi, great bed, lots of closet and drawer space, two reclining leather chairs, excellent lighting, strong and free wifi, a coffee-maker and small refrig and, to top it all off, expansive windows and a porch offering mountain views. The staff is friendly; the lobby lounge is inviting; nothing seems shabby or needing repair. It all sparkles, as does the receptionist with her cheerful greeting.

I know that there are more elegant and luxurious hotels in the Lake Placid area, but I can’t imagine being more satisfied than I've been the past 3 days at Art Devlin’s. I definitely will return and recommend it to others.

I have only one very minor – really minor -- quibble with some of the prior reviewers: I think the coffee, offered in the lounge, is dreadful. Upgrading the coffee is probably the only improvement that I can suggest.

Room Tip: Get a "specialty" room with mountain-views,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChuckNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Amazing value for the room amenities. On the edge of downtown, so you have to walk about 1/4 mile to get into the thick of things, but the value and beautiful pool area are worth a few extra steps. Great coffee, too.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LSP98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goffstown
Level Contributor
142 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

This was our 4th straight year visiting Lake Placid, N.Y. as well as staying at the Art Devlin. We have been able to stay in the same room all four years. Great accommodations and service. Room is always clean, rates are great as well as the views. This is one of the best places to stay that we have ever found.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birdman45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldwinsville, New York, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Art Devils on President's day weekend 2014. Chose this hotel for the price and the face that almost everywhere else was sold out. We were pleasantly surprised, as the room was huge and had a deck with a gorgeous view of the mountains. The inn is about a 15 minute walk to the center of town. The staff was friendly and our rooms were cleaned each day, we will definitely stay again. Loved it!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The hotel service is very friend and the employee is really great and i want to go with this hotel for my business purpose maybe as soon as possible and i am always recommended with my all partner please stay with this hotel one night.

Room Tip: Great room service and great hotel management and also go with the hotel again
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.5 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#25 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
1.2 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Devlin's Olympic Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Devlin's Olympic Motor Inn

Property: Art Devlin's Olympic Motor Inn
Address: 2764 Main St, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3661
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#6 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Art Devlin`s Olympic Motor Hotel Lake Placid
Art Devlins Olympic Hotel
Art Devlins Olympic Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing