We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpine Motor Inn

Alpine Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alpine Motor Inn
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Lake Placid
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2010

Yes the hotel is a little worn - but absolutely wonderful people - they do try to take care of place - will do whatever you need if they can! the Restaurant and Bar are leased out but have great food and drink - definately recommend - the rooms are clean and warm - nothing fancy - but great for value - clean and cozy - summer or winter - highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zchamp82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    6
    3
    3
    6
See reviews for
3
11
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rockport, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

This was the second time we stayed at this motel. The first was a pleasant stay, which is why we went back. Must have changed hands in between times. There was only 1 towel in the bath and when my wife asked for more, the manager said the maid had forgotten to put the washed towels in the dryer and he would bring them to the room later. We found dog treats on the floor in the bathroom and mail room. There was dog hair on the bed spread. There was an open wall outlet with exposed wires. Sometime in the middle of the nite the refrigerator,(located in the closet) must have tripped the breaker so we lost several food items. The manager was only available by phone from the desk. The restaurant closed early, probably from lack of customers. This place has change from our first stay in 2007.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlpineInnMotel, Owner at Alpine Motor Inn, responded to this review, 13 December 2010
This is in response to "Motel Hell" review. While we are not one of the upscale Hotels in the area - we are a clean, and affordable Motel. We provide comfort, warmth, and all at a very reasonable rate for the area.

We do not claim to be the lap of luxury and don't have all the amenities of a star hotel, but we are not Motel Hell in any sense. We are clean and try to provide what you might need if we are aware of that need. We are conscious of our guests and customer service is very important to us.

While we can't please everyone, we try. We are undergoing some improvements to try and insure we are as comfortable as we can be, while still providing a very affordable cost. In this economy we feel that affordability is critical for customers and still be able to enjoy the wonderful restaruant on site, and the many activities that Lake Placid has to offer.

We are sorry that your experience was not what you had imagined but we feel that your complaints were not justified and none of them brought to our attention in order to better serve your stay with us.

Thanks
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Placid hotels

NH
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2010

Since they changed hands the quality has declined sharply. We were told our room was slightly larger than the rest and conatined a small kichenette and sitting area which we thought would be nice. We opened the door to our room only to find a very aged room in need of attention. The curtains were barely hanging by the curtain rods, the closet door had to be propped close with a chair and the chair wouldn't even sit level onthe floor. The kitchenette looked like it was a converted bathroom. The sink didn't work and it was not clean.

On the bright side, your microwave and coffee maker are located on the table between the beds so you won't have to go far for breakfast and some old milk was located in the refrigerator, so check the date.

If you're looking for a cheap place, you've found it, but we paid over $100/ night with taxes. I think the nice old couple that once owned it would be very sad to see how it is being run now. Remember, when you read a review, make note of the date it was posted. Things do change. Let hope the hotel takes note and makes some changes.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skier70669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2010

Had a great stay here. They really went over and above to make my stay conformable. To be specific I had some equipment needs and was staying for a week on my own and they met all my needs to make it a great stay while I was taking part in the world cup and north american cup at Whiteface.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank svenwinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2010

Quaint, cozy, modest accommodations. In the heart of beautiful Lake Placid surely an affordable gem for less affluent folks who still like to vacation like the best of them.

Cheers,
lmw

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilrhodtusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
165 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2009

An older small family motel with a friendly staff. Room was large and comfortable but worn. Good heat, hot water, and towel supply. Microwave and refrigerator worked well. Good bed and shower. Fast and free wireless. Not fancy but a good buy.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2008

We stayed here three times in the summer of 2007. Lucky to get a new mattress - so the beds were good. Restaurant was fabulous - unfortunately it has been closed.

Returning this year - for the price and convenience it cannot be beat. However, the hotel itself is very basic.

  • Liked — The price and the (now closed) restaurant
  • Disliked — The hotel is very basic - just a motel room.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jannacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.0 mi away
Town and Country Motor Inn
Town and Country Motor Inn
#20 of 30 in Lake Placid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Prague Motor Inn
Prague Motor Inn
#18 of 30 in Lake Placid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
#27 of 30 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 30 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#24 of 30 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maple Leaf Inn
Maple Leaf Inn
#15 of 30 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Motor Inn

Property: Alpine Motor Inn
Address: Route 86, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Alpine Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Motor Hotel Lake Placid
Alpine Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing