We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and quiet piece of American history”

John Brown Farm State Historic Site
Ranked #6 of 50 things to do in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This National Historic Landmark and New York State Historic Site contains the home and final resting place of the Underground Railroad conductor and insurrectionist, who moved here in an attempt to establish a community of freed slaves and abolitionists.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
2,988 reviews
906 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 964 helpful votes
“Wonderful and quiet piece of American history”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I had been by this historic site hundreds of time without stopping in, so I'm glad that I did this week. John Brown's Farm is small and quiet, but perfectly displayed to provide as much information and backgroung as possible. The burial site (rock) is surrounded with signboards that describe the era in which John Brown conducted his anti-slavery campaign, including his atempts to take over the armory at Harper's Ferry and free the Southern slaves.

I didn't go inside the farmhouse itself, but I did look inside and get some great views of the period furniture and other living arrangements of the day. This was well worth the time spent on visiting. I would HIGHLY recommend bringing your children here for the full visit, to provide them with some insights as to how our country freed its slaves and evolved into a modern society.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    80
    20
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plattsburgh, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“beautiful and quiet”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We have visited this site several times. The farm and the buildings are interesting especially if you know the history and realize it was his wife and children who were left there to take care of them selves and the property high in the Adirondack mountains. This place is really special in the fall.
We continue to return for the views and to walk the trails. One takes you close to the Lake Placid
Ski Jump.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank images99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“John Brown farm”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

On our recent trip to Lake Placid we visited the John Brown farm. The property was very well maintained. The site is very easy to find with better than average directional signs. The tour of the home itself was not overly impressive-consisting of only a couple of rooms. An informational video was available in the barn. The site contains an inspiring statue along with the graves of John Brown and family members. It was unusual that the Olympic ski jumping facilities are immediately adjacent to the site and tend to dominate the view. Nonetheless, for a serious history buff the final resting place of this controversial figure was well worth the time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a quiet stroll.”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The exhibits were closed when we visited but thanks to a beautiful day, we enjoyed strolling around the grounds and reading the plaques in place. The gravesite is well cared for and informative.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank traveler69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, PA
Level Contributor
419 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“VERY Informative!”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

For the small fee of $2/person, we received more information than we could have ever imagined about John Brown & his efforts to end slavery. This fee also includes access to the grounds ( including the small on-site graveyard), a guided tour of the home, and then access to a video, which relays even more information about John Brown.....his life and heroic attempt to end slavery.

DEFINITELY worth the price!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank LivinglifeinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed John Brown Farm State Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to John Brown Farm State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing