We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I came for the view....”

Artisans at the Lake Placid Lodge
Reserve with OpenTable
Artisans at the Lake Placid Lodge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #41 of 98 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Price range: US$55 - US$95
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Toronto
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“I came for the view....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

The view from the terrace over the lake is so spectacular that I booked just on that basis. I knew it would be expensive, but I considered that to be the price of admission to an iconic Adirondack lodge. The food far exceeded my modest expectations. It was original, artful, very fresh and delicate, with interesting surprises. Great wine choices. A modest dinner for two (2 glasses of wine, 2 entrees, 2 mains, 1 desert) including tax and tip = $170. No regrets.

The only weak spot was service. There are a few seasoned professionals supervising a large number of foreign temp visa workers who were well meaning but not ready for a dinner room of this calibre.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jmk60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    33
    14
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
pitttsburgh
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Magnificent in every way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

This was far and away the best evening we've had in Lake Placid in two summers vacations. It's elegant and pricey but for a special occasion (like your last night on vacation) it is worth every penny. The wine steward was spot on and really took his time with us resulting in the perfect wine. The views are incredible and the food just superb. Just soak it all in...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lake Placid's Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We had a wonderful dining experience at Artisans on the evening of May 19, 2013. On arriving, staff pleasantly escorted us to two places for our consideration: the internal and the patio. What a view the patio offered of Lake Placid. It was truly amazing (breathtaking) and well worth the trip to this isolated restaurant. We selected the patio. Staff then introduced us to the concept of the restaurant/chef, being farm to the table, and explained the menu to us. We appreciated all their information, especially as we were new to the area. Amiee was especially attentive. We specially enjoyed the sommelier, Brian, who was very helpful in explaining the wine list. As we like rosa wine, we had an enjoyable discussion with him about what was on the list and what was not, thanks to Brian. For food, we ordered the tasting (which included lamb) and confit rabbit. The food arrived at a very relaxing pace and we enjoyed the presentation as well as the explanation from knowledgeable staff of what we were about to eat. The food was fantastic! In my opinion, the whole experience was worth the time to visit what I believe to be a gem in the Lake Placid area, because of the incredible view from the patio of the lake with the amazing food and wine to enjoy that view with along with wonderful helpful staff. We will certainly return to this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Explorer58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food, Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

The food at this restaurant is amazing. The sommelier, Brian, is very helpful and the service was efficient and very pleasant. You feel like they will do anything you ask and it won't be a problem. Pricey, but well worth it for amazing food and service.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Loosh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potsdam, New York
Level Contributor
140 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice Afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We went here after a graduation for a family lunch. The view was great, the service fantastic, and the food was interesting and well flavored. It is a nice way to spend the afternoon and worth the visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jorge g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Artisans at the Lake Placid Lodge also viewed

 

Been to Artisans at the Lake Placid Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing