We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Dream”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Haus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Haus
Ranked #2 of 14 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
1 review
“The Dream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

From check-in to check-out, what a soothing experience! The owners were great from check-in to check-out. A great stay ...beautiful in its simplicity, yet elegant in detail - nothing gets missed at the Haus. My family and I come to Placid all the time staying at one of resorts usually. This time we tried the Haus, for value and offering it was an unmatched Lake Placid experience. Even the Guest Guide was a great source of information we thought we already knew about Placid food, hiking and drink. A dream stay! Really convenient to dining and shopping on Main Street too.

Also highly recommend a craft pint and meal on the terrace across the street at Great Adirondack Steak and Seafood!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSHEE22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    21
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
60
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

Stayed at this hotel for the Lake Placid Half Marathon - loved it. It was beautiful, clean and in a perfect location of town. My view overlooking the lake and hills was amazing. I would recommend this hotel to anyone without hesitation and hope to stay there again on return visits to Lake Placid. My friends who were at Lake Placid with me stayed at a different hotel but spent all of their time at The Haus due to the location and atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We were in town for a wedding, and the Haus hotel was recommended by the bride. They had just opened this limited service boutique (we've been VERY delayed in posting this review) and every detail was thoughtfully considered by two proprietors who just get it! Simple finishes with amenities that rival a small luxury hotel, and independence that made it feel as though it was our own suite. We were very pleased with the value. All of the staff and the hoteliers themselves were very hospitable. Our biggest thing is cleanliness, and The Haus did not dissapoint. Sparkling clean. The location is bar none! Thank you Haus Hotel. We hope to return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJtraveler093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We just returned from our first trip to Lake Placid and couldn't have been happier with our choice to stay at The Haus. The location is fantastic and close to everything. Anthony greeted us with a smile and was extremely flexible with our check-in...sharing lots of great information about where to eat, visit, etc. The room was extremely nice and the view was outstanding (we stayed in #4). Thanks for the extreme hospitality - this won't be our last visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sis04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed here on our first ever visit to Lake Placid - and overall it was wonderful. The room was so modern and chic (we stayed in Apt 1). Great location right on Main Street and within walking distance to all the shopping and village restaurants. Room stayed very dark in the morning so we could sleep in. The full kitchen was such a plus - we saved some money by cooking breakfast every morning! The owner's guide to Lake Placid was also such a help - recommended restaurants and activities, etc.

The only downside that's keeping this from an excellent rating was the noise level - the building is quite old so I think the ceilings/walls are very thin. There was a family with very young children staying in the room above us and we could hear the toddlers running around every time we were in the room - fairly late in to the night, as well, around 11 pm. So it's a crap shoot as to whether or not you'll get that. If there were adults staying above us I don't think we would have heard anything.

Room Tip: To avoid extra noise, stay on the top floor - everything is hardwood so it can get quite noisy on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

I booked The Haus for my husband's 40th birthday as a friend had recommended Lake Placid as a lovely place to ski, particularly with kids. We were travelling with our daughter who is almost 3. I had originally looked at the 3 luxury hotels - Mirror Lake Inn etc - but had found them to be extremely expensive. I really like nice hotels but equally tend to prefer smaller boutique hotels to larger resorts. Thankfully The Haus had one room (Suite 4) available and I am so glad they did as I can't imagine the hotels exceeding the experience we had. We set off from just north of NYC around 8am and stopped for lunch at the Noonmark Diner in Keene Valley (highly recommend) so arrived in Lake Placid around 2.30pm. We amused ourselves in the town for 30mins and then checked in with the super-helpful Anthony at 3pm (the check in desk is only available from 3pm).

The Pros of this property are numerous:
- Location: right on the lake with fab views and right on Main Street with easy walking access to shops and restaurants as well as ski hire if you need it. Also walking to Dog Sledding on the lake which is a wonderful, if short, experience.
- Apartment decor/furnishings: clean, modern, spacious. The bed in our room was so big all 3 of us slept in it - we didn't end up using the inflatable bed we brought for our daughter.
- Space and Balcony: makes you feel like you live there in this gorgeous apartment vs staying in a hotel.
- Kitchen: has everything you need (apart from chopping board) and helps to be able to eat in for some meals especially with a toddler.
- Little touches: Aveda toilettries, helpful information folder in the room, magazines in the hallway for communal use, widescreen TV, parking pass.

The Cons:
Honestly none but a couple of things to note:
- Aim to arrive around 3pm or have plans to amuse yourselves in the town. There is no flex on this if you arrive early. Particularly with a little one it helped us to plan time of arrival.
- Know the recommended restaurant policies in advance. We tried to eat at Adirondack Steak House across the street which looked lovely but they don't take reservations and the wait was 1 hour. If we'd known we could have popped over an hour before we wanted to eat. We then tried another place along the street which was fully booked and pretty much only takes reservations. Ended up at the Dancing Bear which was fine but pretty run of the mill.

Other recommendations:
- Eat at Noonmark DIner en route. Famous for the pies...really lovely even though it doesn't look much on arrival.
- Breakfast pastries from the bakery across the street
- If you ski at Whiteface the childcare is very good and you can pay $30 to take little ones on the slopes (includes "magic carpet" lift pass (a tiny moving travelator-type lift on the nursery slopes ) and gear). Their "ski and play" program starts from 4+. Park car at Kids Campus and take food/drink if you like as there is a cafe right at the car park/foot of slopes which offers basic hot dogs etc but if you want something healthier you can bring your own inside. The Hot Chocolate was very tasty though!

All in all I would HIGHLY recommend and think it would be beautiful no matter what the time of year. For the price, this place is a steal.

Room Tip: Suite 4 was spacious studio - very large bed, sofa, kitchenette and WC - with a balcony right on Mir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank magicmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlton, NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Our trip started out horribly, as our SUV's alternator crapped out, without warning, about 15 miles outside of town.... after getting towed to a local garage, and being taxied into town, the wife and I were greeted by Andrea & Anthony (the owners), who immediately got us checked in and helped us with our bags to our room, Suite 1. They offered us advice for things to do in town (pretty much everything, thankfully, is within walking distance), and also were very understanding of our situation, offering to hold our skis/luggage in their shop, when we weren't sure if our car would be ready to drive home, after we checked out. While awaiting word on our vehicle, Anthony gave us discount drink coupons for the bar across the street while we waited. Upon learning VERY late in the day that our SUV would be ready, he offered us our old room (at a discount), if we didn't want to make the trip back to South Jersey that evening. GRADE A++++ customer service that I wish every owner/property manager would follow.

As for the room itself, it was everything we could ask for. Suite 1 overlooks the main drag through town, and offers a good view of the downtown scene. Three windows offer plenty of sun in the morning, and the shades offer privacy in the evening. The interior is divided quite nicely by the birch trees (yes, BIRCH TREES) behind a VERY comfortable bed. The room has a fully functioning kitchen and a full-size stainless steel refrigerator, very nice!! The flat screen TV offers many viewing options, and the Wi-Fi worked perfectly. Everything was immaculately clean, and there is a portfolio in the room, that offers even more advice for things to do, and where to eat, while in town. If you are going up during ski season, try to make sure you book your lift tickets as part of your room package, as you do get a nice discount off of Whiteface's regular rates.

All in all, we will definitely come back to Lake Placid, a beautiful town with wonderful people. And on top of that list are the owners of The Haus, Anthony and Andrea. We look forward to staying at your property again in the future. Thank you for everything!!

- Anthony & Yvette Guida, Marlton, NJ

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.3 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haus

Property: The Haus
Address: 2439 Main St, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3366
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Haus 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Haus in Lake Placid is an eco-chic boutique hotel with a unique style. We mix up rustic and modern design in apartment-style suites, ensuring a luxurious yet cozy stay for each guest. Each unit is unique and has great modern-rustic design elements, creating a comfortable and stylish stay while showcasing the outdoors. Most suites have bounding views of the High-Peaks Sentinel range and beautiful Mirror Lake. (Be sure to inquire about Suite 10 with private lake access for complete Adirondack enjoyment!) With a full size kitchen, luxury linens, free wifi, and stunning views available with each suite, you’re sure to feel at home at The Haus. Located on Main Street, we are just a short walk from all the dining, shopping and activities that Lake Placid has to offer. Family owned and operated, our small staff is ready to serve. So give us a bell, and let us help you plan your next home-away-from-home getaway to Lake Placid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Haus Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing