We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Culinary Mastery & Amazing Drinks”

Liquids and Solids at the handlebar
Ranked #20 of 103 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Takeout
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Culinary Mastery & Amazing Drinks”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I would highly recommend this eclectic restaurant to those who wish to have an extraordinary culinary experience.

First of all, let's talk about the liquids. The cocktails are truly innovative concoctions. I ordered the gin & juice, which is made from Junipero, Becherovka, a Czech herbal liquor, cran molasses juice, and cherry bitters. It was a potent, yet balanced, not too bitter nor too sweet. It was just right. My friend ordered the maple & spice, which consists of bourbon, maplle syrup, cayenne pepper and some bitters. It was delicious and vibrant.

Now, it's time to get to the solids. For starters, the fried brussel sprouts are a must. In fact, we ordered a second round of them with our entrees because they were just that tasty. For the main dish, I ordered the blue cheese and rhubarb raviolis with smoked game bird ragout. One word describes this dish - succulent. The size of the portion was just right. Don't worry about the blue cheese being the dominant flavour because it is subtle. My friend ordered the cod cakes, which were perfectly cooked, not too dry nor too watery.

For dessert, we ordered the flourless chocolate cake, with raspberry sorbet and lemon whipped cream. It was the perfect way to end an out of the ordinary culinary experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimmismith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    93
    27
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Culinary Mastery”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I would highly recommend this eclectic restaurant to those who wish to have an extraordinary culinary experience.

First of all, let's talk about the liquids. The cocktails are truly innovative concoctions. I ordered the gin & juice, which is made from Junipero, Becherovka, a Czech herbal liquor, cran molasses juice, and cherry bitters. It was a potent, yet balanced, not too bitter nor too sweet. It was just right. My friend ordered the maple & spice, which consists of bourbon, maplle syrup, cayenne pepper and some bitters. It was delicious and vibrant.

Now, it's time to get to the solids. For starters, the fried brussel sprouts are a must. In fact, we ordered a second round of them with our entrees because they were just that tasty. For the main dish, I ordered the blue cheese and rhubarb raviolis with smoked game bird ragout. One word describes this dish - succulent. The size of the portion was just right. Don't worry about the blue cheese being the dominant flavour because it is subtle. My friend ordered the cod cakes, which were perfectly cooked, not too dry nor too watery.

For dessert, we ordered the flourless chocolate cake, with raspberry sorbet and lemon whipped cream. It was the perfect way to end an out of the ordinary culinary experience.

The service was attentive and friendly. The price quality ratio was excellent.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimmismith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food but NOT a BAR!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I can not stress how great our meal and drinks were BUT if you're planning on meeting people for a couple of drinks here it is NOT a bar (I guess there is a pun intended with the nomenclature of the restaurant's handlebar name). They have a bar area but it is reserved for those who are eating and possibly drinking (and we were treated as if it was foolish to think you visited a bar to just drink). That being said the staff was kind enough to let you sit and order drinks before the restaurant got busy (but you'll get kicked out for those who come in and want to eat). We went one night to grab some drinks with friends but ended up going back another night to eat and drink and were treated much better the second night. There is some attitude with some of the staff here but the food and drinks were great (so I guess they are allowed to have some attitude over their excellent food and beverage craftsmanship).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank kreynolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We check TA for a good restaurant in lake Placid and it did not disappoint. If you're prepared to try new combinations of flavours and/or you like strong cocktails, this is the place for you!

We liked it so much the first night we went back the next night. They should export their menus/recipes so that more people can try their food.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mattarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Enjoy a change from standard fare”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Just enjoyed a meal here - the best food of our 5 night stay in Lake Placid. If you crave something a little different from the norm, then eat here. Main dishes are small, so we found for two of us eating that one starter, one salad, and two mains was a just right amount. So refreshing to not be presented with a huge plate of food. The food combinations were great. We loved the fried Brussels sprouts, lentil and kale salad and beef carpaccio dishes. There were many more dishes that we would love to try but will have to save until our next trip up north.

Helpful?
Thank JenH10D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Liquids and Solids at the handlebar also viewed

 

Been to Liquids and Solids at the handlebar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing